Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Yorkshireman Wilson Takes SDM Championship

Yorkshireman Wilson Takes SDM Championship

Dave Wilson from Yorkshire became the 4th man to win the SDM title in a complete exhibition of natural talent.He would see off competitor after competitor and threw magical darts throughout. [caption id="attachment_25981" align="aligncenter" width="960"]Tom Sawford, Dave Wilson, SDM Championship, Red Dragon Darts, Project Darts Tom Sawford & Dave Wilson[/caption] In the first and second rounds we had some cracking matches to see us down to the last 16 with none better that Trevor Tye taking on 11th seed Vaughn Fairclough. The match had 3 x 21, 17, 15 and 3 x 180s between the players and Vaughn winning 4-2, brilliant game. Also in the last 32, Sie Simmons and Ben Dulley the 6th seed had a close encounter as Ben won through 4-3. Tom Gurran and Ian Hendry did the same, whilst 7 y.o. Evan Hendry earned his place in the finals and was unlucky going out to 2nd seed Dave Wilson hitting a few 140s and missed a couple of double. It was a similar story for Maison Wilson the Yorkshire Youth Champion who was knocked out by 13th seed Steve Hattersley. Red Dragon, Darts that Deliver The last 16 was when the seeded players would go at each other and with 13 left it would be tough for the qualifiers. Lets start with former Champion Bob Pinder who took out Anne Lofthouse with ease 4-0 and likewise for the other Qualifier Mark Gurran who went down to Brian Lewis but the last qualifier lead 3-2 against Rob Holroyd, seeded 7th only for Rob, to fight back and nick it at the end. Tom Sawford hit a 180 on his way to a 4-0 win over 13th seed Ian Hendry to send the player ranked 5 into the last 8 and a match up with Ryan Goffin, who won a close match with Steve Hattersley 4-3 which went down to the wire. Lester Bowers seeded 3 had a chance to beat last years R/up Trevor Burkhill but lost out 4-3 in which both men had a maximum and a 12 dart leg for Trev. Dave Wilson continued to progress going into the last 8 with a win against Owen Cubitt. Last 8 kicked off with Brian Lewis edging out Bob Pinder as 9th Seed dethroned top Seed and Hellraiser himself Bob Pinder 4-2. Tom Sawford did the same to Ryan Goffin as he and Ryan both shared maximums and Tom hitting a 116 to level the game with a 118 to win. Vaughn Fairclough went down 4-1 to Turbo Trevor Burkhill as both of them hit a 180 and 2 x 14s for Trev. Dave Wilson smashed in an 11 dart leg to break Rob Holroyd in the first and again hit a 14 to break in the third and had not lost his throw all day as he went through 4-0. The Semis started as the last round finished but both Semis were amazingly close with Turbo Trev and Dave Wilson both not letting anything go and no one dropping throw with 6 maximums in the game. That meant Wilson went into his first SDM Grand Final 5-4 and a similar fate ended Brian Lewis' run as he let slip a 4-1 lead only for the Shooter to climb back and win 5-4 in a absolute epic encounter. [caption id="attachment_25983" align="aligncenter" width="960"]Brendan Marren, Steve Rumble, Project Darts, Red Dragon Darts, SDM Championship The very first qualifier back in 2014 with runner-up Brendan Marren & Steve Rumble (Winner)[/caption] The final promised to be a great game but Tom Sawford just didn't have anything left as he battled well the first two legs but then started to falter, but had thrown excellent all day. However, Dave Wilson was exceptional all afternoon and held throw all day in a blistering display of darts as he would win the final 5-0. Credit to both players and everyone who attended for a terrific SDM finals and now Dave Wilson adds his name to Bob Pinder (2014), Darren Johnson(2015) and Brian Dawson (2016) in becoming the Projectdarts/Red Dragon Darts Masters Champion for 2018. The tournament has come along way since the very first qualifier back in January 2014 for that year's Darts Masters. SDM Championships, Finals, Red Dragon Darts, Projects Darts Lester Bowers takes Steel win It was Lester Bowers' time to put his name on the Steel roll of honour as he held off a fightback by Adam Warner in a great final. Lester raced into a 3-0 lead before referee Adam Warner hit back with the next two legs and missed darts to level but it was Lester who held his nerve to take the qualifier. Lester had played well all night seeing off the likes of Mick Hulley and Pat Meeson en route to the final and Adam Warner beat Ben Dulley, surviving six match darts against a brilliant performance by Antonio Cruz. Cruz had won his place in the Semis and lead 3-0 against Adam before a fightback sealed a mammoth effort and a place in the final. Lester now moves up to 3rd on the table with the top 32 going through to finals day. [caption id="attachment_25985" align="aligncenter" width="960"]Lester Bowers, Adam Warner, Red Dragon, Steel City Championship Lester Bowers and Adam Warner[/caption] 32 GREG BEARD 31 STEVE MARFLEET 29 LESTER BOWERS 24 RYAN GOFFIN 22 BOB PINDER 24 BEN DULLEY 24 PAT MEESON 24 ADAM WARNER 22 PAUL BRITTLE 21 MARC ELLIS 20 MICK HULLEY 16 ANTONIO CRUZ 11 MATT PRYOR 11 CHRIS MARKHAM 11 LAURA TAYLOR 10 PETE BELL 8 OWEN CUBITT 8 LEE CUSHWORTH 7 PETE BRAMLEY 7 STEPHEN BRIGGS 7 ANNE LOFT HOUSE 6 PAT FINNEY 6 SIE SIMMONS 6 BRAD CLOWERY 5 BEN CHIVERS 5 ANGIE BRITTLE 5 STEVE THOMPSON 4 STEVE MEEK 4 AUSTIN STEBBINGS 4 JOHN LIEBER 3 RUSS SIMONS 3 TIM CLOSE 3 TOM BRIGGS 3 DAVE CLIFFE 3 SAM FORDHAM 3 TOM BLAGG 2 RICH JOHNSON 2 STEVE EWINGTON 2 SHAUN GREENFIELD 2 PAUL HARRIS 2 STEVE NAISBIT 2 TREVOR TYE 2 LEE WOLFE 1 GREG BATTING 1 HARRY HATTER 1 CHRIS KEANE 1 TOM SAWFORD 1 JOHN EDWARDS 1 JON SMETHURST 1 TRACEY BELL 1 DAZ BLUER

Read more

Darts News – A West Midlands Round Up By Alan Towe

With only one scheduled week of fixtures remaining in the Sheldon and District Summer League not one of the four divisions has yet been decided. In division one a 5-3 win at The Pirates keeps Macka...

Read more

Franchise League 2 Underway With Amazing Opening Night

Red Dragon Sheffield Franchise League (Week 1) Thursday 14th September 2017 Panthers 1-5 Black Eagles Mick Wood 0-3 Bob Pinder R.Smith 0-3 John Walton John Schultz 0-3 Trevor Burkhill Russ Simons...

Read more