Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts News – Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – West Midlands v Derbyshire

Darts News – Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – West Midlands v Derbyshire

Division two of the Riley’s BDO Inter County Championships throws up an intriguing fixture this coming weekend when West Midlands play host to Derbyshire. The two teams met in the final game last season and Derbyshire, with home advantage ran out the 20-16 winners. Despite the win both teams were ultimately relegated. However, life in division two is proving more rewarding for both teams, Derbyshire with 91 points are current leaders in the promotion table, but have both Somerset and Cleveland breathing down their neck as they too are both on 91 points. West Midlands are also still in contention as they lie in fourth place on 83 points, as do Berkshire.

This season West Midlands opened their account with three consecutive wins, but in their last outing they faltered and went down 21-15 to Berkshire. They will obviously be looking to get back to winning ways this coming weekend. Derbyshire meanwhile have chalked up four consecutive wins and will not be looking to end their 100% win record. It will be no easy task for either side, but for the purist and unbiased darts supporter it should be a very entertaining encounter.

West Midlands team selections are, Men’s ‘A’:- Ian Jones, Mick Baker, Gavin Baker, Mark Rollinson, Andrew Forrester, Glen Cullen, Neil Pointon, Gary Watts, Ian Stanton, Danny Coyle, Richard Platt, Mark Jones, Men’s ‘B’:- Karl Hughes, Avtar Singh, Dean Carroll, Jordan Singh, Paul Price, Mark Craddock, John Platt, Jamie Barrowman, Peter Wyse, Robert Thompson, Martin Angell, Joe Taylor, Reserves:- John Mycock, Mark Watkiss, Simon Meredith, Ladies ‘A’:- Lisa Astbury, Heather Wright, Jackie Crew, Kath Jenkins, Sarah Roberts, Diane Tolley, Ladies ‘B’:- Kim Fellows, Gemma Barrett, Jackie Maiden, Sam Maiden, Shellbie Simmons, Claire Hobbs, Reserves:- Doreen Kaye, Lisa Maiden.

Lining up for Derbyshire will be, Men’s ‘A’:- Paul Baker, John Clifford, Tony Cresswell, Nigel Daniels, Gary Fenn, Paul Mellor, Steve Pashley, Peter Slater, Drew Smith, Dave Smith-Hayes, Reece Spurr, Doug Walker, Men’s ‘B’:- Dave Allcock, Adrian Asprey, Jim Beardmore, Christian Bradshaw, Steve Homer, Rob Needham, Antony Palfreyman, Darran Sinfield, Mick Smith, Alan Statham, Danny Thomas, Rob Wood, Reserves:- Adam Fern, Ian Hannah, Paul Jones, Richard Rawding, Colin Rich, Andy Umney, Ladies ‘A’:- Stephanie Allerton, Kelly Dean, Jane Densley, Kirsty Handford, Joanne Oldershaw, Jackie Sweet, Ladies ‘B’:- Rachel Ayres, Dee Fenn, Lynda Gilbert, Sara Harrison, Michelle Phillips, Sarah Quinn, Reserves:- Dawn Buckley, Kerri Buckley, Nicola Fletcher, Victoria Jackson, Janice Pearce, Donna Phillips, Beverley Worthington.

Read more

Darts News – Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts

The fourth annual Ripley Elite Darts Singles Christmas Open was staged at the Somercotes Snooker Club, Somercotes, Derbyshire and once again the turnout was amazing with 81 players doing battle for...

Read more


THE opening night of the 2014 Premier League Darts will feature a rematch of last year^s final between Michael van Gerwen and Phil Taylor at the Echo Arena in Liverpool on Thursday February 6, with...

Read more