Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts News - Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – Pembrokeshire v Shropshire

Darts News - Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – Pembrokeshire v Shropshire

In division four of the BDO Inter County Championships Shropshire’s journey to take on Pembrokeshire in the final fixture of the year did not yield the result they had wished for. Prior to the fixture the away team looked favourites to win the game as they were riding high in second place in the table with 57 points compared to their hosts who were next to bottom with 40 points just three ahead of Isle of Wight who were at the foot of the table.
Saturday’s ladies ‘B’ team were given the ideal start when Michele Pritchard opened up with a 3-1 win over Margaret Elliott, Michele’s 14.72 average Shropshire’s best of the game and earned her the match award.
On at number two for Shropshire was fifteen years old Sophie Fawcett who was making her county debut and although Sophie finished with a better average than her opponent Jane Flear she went down 3-1 but the experience could well lead to much better things for Sophie in the future.
Shropshire went ahead again in the third when Kirsty Jenks beat Jackie Afan-Jones 3-1 but again the advantage was cancelled out this time by Pembrokeshire’s Tracey Hawkins-Green with yet another 3-1 scoreline.
For the first time in the game the home side went ahead in the penultimate encounter Sue Phillips beating Leanne Quinton and for the fifth consecutive game the result was 3-1.
To end the ladies ‘B’ game Helen Jones (Pembrokeshire) won 3-0 against Millie Holt to give the home team a 4-2 result and leave the Shropshire ladies ‘B’ still seeking their first win of the season.
The opening game in the men’s ‘B’ between Ben Cloake (Pembrokeshire) and Philip Austin went the full five legs distance with Cloake just getting the verdict. Nathan Storar was in fine form for the visitors as he accounted for Declan Coles with a straight 3-0 scoreline, his average of 23.86 earning him the match award. Brian Hickman put Shropshire’s noses in front with another five legs battle with his opponent Chris Afan-Jones, however the lead was short lived as Paul Thomas and Roger James in turn both won 3-0 against Andre Knox and Mick O’Neill to give the home team a 3-2 lead.
It was all square at the halfway mark as Martin Angell (Shropshire) won 3-1 against Marc Donnelly.
The second half almost took the same pattern as the first as Pembrokeshire took the first this time through a 3-1 win from Kelvin Hughes over Robert Harris, Shropshire replied by taking the next two, Clive Lucking beating Eirwyn Evans 3-1 and Jacob Perrins, Shropshire’s newly found talent a young sixteen years old player that beat Ian Hopkins to make it four wins in four games for Perrins, Jacob Perrins obviously a name to look out for in the future.     
Taking the score along to 5-5 was Mike Doyle, his 3-2 win against Matt Williams keeping the home team in the game.
With only two to play Shropshire went ahead again, a 3-2 win by Martin Riggs over Stephen Castle leaving the result hinging on the final tie between Daniel Castle and Wayne Speed. The game went the full five legs distance Castle getting the all important fifth leg to seal a 3-2 win and give his team a share of the points in a final 6-6 draw.
Michele Pritchard (Shropshire) promoted to the ‘A’ team following her lady of the match win the previous day was unfortunately unable to make it a double win for the weekend. Despite improving her average Michele lost out 3-1 to Rhian Griffiths. Then another Griffiths this time Julie for Shropshire levelled the score with a 3-1 win over Rhian Evans before the away team took the lead when Stephanie Clarke handed out a 3-0 defeat to Lesley Phillips and at the same time won herself the match award with a super 20.04 average.
From 2-1 up it quickly went downhill for Shropshire, Hayley Francis-Owens won 3-1 against Katharine McLean, Julie Gore beat Marie Riggs by the same 3-1 scoreline and rounding off a second 4-2 win for Pembrokeshire ladies in two days was Tracy Davies who won 3-0 against Caroline Powell.
With two wins in their two previous game the men’s ‘A’ were on for a hat trick of wins but in the opening game Nathan Storar was unable to emulate his feat from the previous day when he won the match award and lost out by the odd leg in a seven legs encounter with Jason Davies.. Andrew Chatter restored parity when he won 4-2 against Luke Jones and with a 4-1 win by Richard Parker against Darren Owens Shropshire had taken a 2-1 lead. Parker’s win saw him chalk up a man of the match award winning average of 25.28.
From 2-1 up the match was turned around and Pembrokeshire forged a 4-2 lead, Grant Howells won a close 4-3 tussle with Danny James, Robert Coverdale won 4-2 against Ian Pallett and Richard Rees made it 4-2 at the midway points with another 4-3 win for the hosts with Roger Taylor on the receiving end.
Peter Eley reduced the arrears slightly to 4-3 with his 4-3 win over Mike Harries before Iwan Morgan restored the hosts two game buffer with their fourth 4-3 win of the game when he accounted for Neil Christopher Powell.
Assuring the home side of a share of the spoils was Paul Kemeys, his 4-2 win against Kevin Harris taking their lead to 6-3, their win however was delayed as Neville Quinton added his 4-3 win over James Bevan to Shropshire’s tally making the score 6-4.
The penultimate game between Steve Alker and Derek Coulson saw Alker put the result beyond Shropshire’s reach as he won 4-2 and with a final 4-1 win from Les Morgan over John Cooper Pembrokeshire won the men’s ‘A’ game 8-4 and had an overall win of 22-14.
The defeat sees Shropshire lose their number two spot and drop to fourth place with 71 points, the same number as third placed Gloucestershire, five short of second in the table Montgomery and Radnor and eleven behind leaders Middlesex but there are still plenty of games to go and time to get back into contention for promotion.
Full Results:(Pembrokeshire names first):Men’s ‘A’:- Jason Davies 4 Nathan Storar 3, Luke Jones 2 Andrew Chatter 4, Darren Owens 1 Richard Parker 4, Grant Howells 4 Danny James 3, Robert Coverdale 4 Ian Pallett 2, Richard Rees 4 Roger Taylor 3, Mike Harries 3 Peter Eley 4, Iwan Morgan 4 Neil Christopher Powell 3, Paul Kemeys 4 Kevin Harris 2, James Bevan 3 Neville Quinton 4, Steve Alker 4 Derek Coulson 2, Les Morgan 4 John Cooper 1, Men’s ‘B’:- Ben Cloake 3 Philip Austin 2, Declan Coles 0 Nathan Storar 3, Chris Afan-Jones 2 Brian Hickman 3, Paul Thomas 3 Andre Knox 0, Roger James 3 Mick O’Neill 0, Marc Donnelly 1 Martin Angell 3, Kelvin Hughes 3 Robert Harris 1, Eirwyn Evans 1 Clive Lucking 3, Ian Hopkins 2 Jacob Perrins 3, Mike Doyle 3 Matt Williams 2, Stephen Castle 2 Martin Riggs 3, Daniel Castle 3 Wayne Speed 2, Women’s ‘A’:- Rhian Griffiths 3 Michele Pritchard 1, Rhian Evans 1 Julie Griffiths 3, Lesley Phillips 0 Stephanie Clarke 3, Hayley Francis-Owens 3 Katharine McLean 1, Julie Gore 3 Marie Riggs 1, Tracy Davies 3 Caroline Powell 0, Women’s ‘B’:- Margaret Elliott 1 Michele Pritchard 3, Jane Flear 3 Sophie Fawcett 1, Jackie Afan-Jones 1 Kirsty Jenks 3, Tracey Hawkins-Greene 3 Deana Worrall 1, Sue Phillips 3 Leanne Quinton 1, Helen Jones 3 Millie Holt 0.

Read more

Winmau Darts Centre at Wolverhampton Sports Arena by Alan Towe

After clinching last season’s Winmau Thursday Night Champions League title and the lucrative deal that went with it namely the top prize of £300 plus if he qualifies for the PDC ‘Q’ School, he^ll b...

Read more

Darts News – Alan Towe^s The Line On Darts - Midlands Round Up

After a brilliant start to the new season in division two of the BDO Inter County Championships which saw West Midlands chalk up three consecutive wins against Staffordshire, Somerset and Sussex th...

Read more