Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Roy & Padgett Win Through PDPA Qualifier

Roy & Padgett Win Through PDPA Qualifier

RED DRAGON’S ALEX ROY and Matt Padgett have won the final two places in the World Darts Championship at Monday^s PDPA Qualifier in Derby.

The pair will join 70 other players at Alexandra Palace next month to compete for the biggest prize in darts, with £1 million prize money on offer between December 16 and January 3.

Roy^s success means he will make his 13th successive World Championship appearance, after he defeated Wayne Mardle 5-1 in their decisive game at the Moorways Leisure Centre in Derby.

Having whitewashed Ian White in his opening game, Roy overcame Simon Burt 5-3 and also defeated former World Championship qualifiers Wayne Atwood and Jimmy Mann to reach the last four.

There, he was in clinical mood to end Mardle^s hopes of qualifying, with the former World Championship semi-finalist having dropped out of the world^s top 32 this year.

Roy then overcame Padgett 5-1 in the final, meaning he takes a spot in the first round at Alexandra Palace, while the Derbyshire man enters in the preliminary round.

"It took a while to sink in at first but I^m absolutely delighted," said Roy. "This is the first time I^ve had to come through the qualifiers for the World Championship and it was really tough.

"I^ve known Wayne for a lot of years and it^s a shame one of us had to go out. He gave me a good game but my doubles were great, and I was pleased to beat Matt to ensure I play in the first round at Ally Pally."

Padgett, a 28-year-old bowling alley mechanic from Ilkeston in Derbyshire, defeated Swindon^s Mark Cox 5-3 in their decisive semi-final contest to earn himself a debut in the World Championship.

The left-hander has only been a professional for a year, and previously competed in the Rileys Darts Zones UK Open in June, where he reached the last 64 before losing to Wayne Jones.

"It^s the greatest moment of my life," said Padgett, ranked 127 in the PDC Order of Merit. "I^m thrilled to bits with this, completed overwhelmed.

"I wasn^t really expecting to do so well in the qualifier because I^m still fairly new to the circuit and gaining experience on the PDC ProTour, but I can^t wait to get on stage now.

"The UK Open was a great experience for me but I wasn^t on the main stage in Bolton, so it will be amazing to be in front of the TV cameras at the World Championship."

Padgett, who will take on Japan^s Morihiro Hashimoto in the preliminary round at Alexandra Palace, knocked out UK Open semi-finalist Tony Ayres in his opening game at the PDPA Qualifiers.

He also defeated former World Championship qualifiers Mark Lawrence and Michael Barnard before edging out America^s Scott Burnett to set up his decider with Cox.

Whilst there was joy for Roy and Padgett, three-time World Championship finalist Peter Manley and former semi-finalists Wayne Mardle, Dave Askew and Chris Mason all missed out on a place at Alexandra Palace.

Mardle had produced his best form of the year in Derby, winning through to the semi-finals of Sunday^s Players Championship and winning four games on Monday - including wins over Canada^s Ken MacNeil and emerging St Helens youngster Michael Smith - before losing to Roy.

Askew was a first round loser to Gary Eastwood and Manley was defeated by Ireland^s Keith Rooney in the last 32, while Mason will retire after his 5-3 defeat to Jimmy Mann in the last 16.

An additional qualifying place for the PDPA Qualifier was made available following the news that Russian qualifier Andrej Rashnikov was unable to compete in the tournament and had withdrawn.

Germany^s Jyhan Artut and Hong Kong^s Scott MacKenzie were the final two International Qualifiers for the World Championship, having won through the respective German and Greater China knockouts this weekend.

The preliminary round draw was made following the completion of the PDPA Qualifier, with the first round draw to be made on Tuesday November 30 live on Sky Sports News at around 2.15pm.

The preliminary round draw is:
Magnus Caris (Sweden) v Dietmar Burger (Austria)
Devon Petersen (South Africa) v Norman Madhoo (Guyana)
Gary Mawson (USA) v Juanito Gionzon (Philippines)
Michael Mansell (Northern Ireland) v Preston Ridd (New Zealand)
Roland Scholten (Netherlands) v Viejo Viinikka (Finland)
Jyhan Artut (Germany) v Scott MacKenzie (Hong Kong)
Per Laursen (Denmark) v Boris Krcmar (Croatia)
Matt Padgett (England) v Morihiro Hashimoto (Japan) World Darts Championship PDPA Qualifier Results
Preliminary Round

Nigel Birch 5-4 Martyn Bevan
Mark Stephenson 5-3 Darren Weaver
Michael Smith 5-4 Martyn Turner
Tom Martin 5-4 Phillip Hazel
Ken MacNeil 5-1 Mark Carter
Darren Webster 5-0 Norman Fletcher
Mark Frost 5-2 Bill Davis
Chris Daglish 5-3 Stephen Hardy
Wayne Atwood 5-3 Ian Jopling
Jamie Atkins 5-0 Mark Robinson
Chris Mason 5-0 Mike Roberts
Darren Latham 5-1 Mark Tiller
Andy Pearce 5-4 Andy Pearson
Anton Liscsey 5-4 Ken Dobson
Steve Randall 5-4 Paul Hodkin
Scott Burnett 5-2 Paul Williams
Gary Eastwood 5-2 Dave Askew
Dave Smith 5-4 Dave Ladley
Chris Iedema 5-3 Steve Perkins
Andy Relf 5-4 Brian Startin
Stuart Dutton 5-3 Peter Hudson
Paul Rowley 5-2 Steven Pearson
Mareno Michels 5-4 Gary Blades
Sam Allen 5-0 Tony Blundell
Mark Cox 5-4 Terry Temple
First Round
Wayne Mardle (1) 5-3 Robert Alford
Nigel Birch 5-0 Mark Jodril
Steve Grubb (16) 5-2 Lionel Sams
Michael Smith 5-4 Mark Stephenson
Geoff Whitworth 5-3 Colin Monk (8)
Ken MacNeil 5-2 Tom Martin
John MaGowan (9) 5-1 Dean Allsopp
Mark Frost 5-0 Darren Webster
Alex Roy (5) 5-0 Ian White
Simon Burt 5-3 Chris Daglish
Arron Monk 5-1 Mick McGowan (12)
Wayne Atwood 5-3 Jamie Atkins
Kevin Dowling 5-3 Kirk Shepherd (4)
Chris Mason 5-0 Ian Lever
Jimmy Mann 5-4 Adrian Gray (13)
Andy Pearce 5-4 Darren Latham
Peter Manley (2) 5-2 Jon Archer
Keith Rooney 5-4 Anton Liscsey
Louis Blundell (15) 5-1 Kevin Harris
Scott Burnett 5-0 Steve Randall
Matt Padgett 5-1 Tony Ayres (7)
Mark Lawrence 5-3 Gary Eastwood
Michael Barnard (10) 5-1 Chris White
Dave Smith 5-4 Chris Iedema
Matt Clark (6) 5-4 James Barton
Andy Relf 5-3 Ryan Herrington
Mark Jones 5-1 Nick Fullwell (11)
Stuart Dutton 5-4 Paul Rowley
Andy Jenkins (3) 5-1 Jim Leighton
Chris Allen 5-1 Mareno Michels
Darren Johnson (14) 5-1 Andy Fulton
Mark Cox 5-3 Sam Allen
Second Round
Wayne Mardle 5-1 Nigel Birch
Michael Smith 5-3 Steve Grubb
Ken MacNeil 5-1 Geoff Whitworth
Mark Frost 5-3 John MaGowan
Alex Roy 5-3 Simon Burt
Wayne Atwood 5-4 Arron Monk
Chris Mason 5-2 Kevin Dowling
Jimmy Mann 5-2 Andy Pearce
Keith Rooney 5-3 Peter Manley
Scott Burnett 5-3 Louis Blundell
Matt Padgett 5-4 Mark Lawrence
Michael Barnard 5-3 Dave Smith
Matt Clark 5-3 Andy Relf
Stuart Dutton 5-1 Mark Jones
Chris Allen 5-4 Andy Jenkins
Mark Cox 5-4 Darren Johnson

Third Round
Wayne Mardle 5-4 Michael Smith
Ken MacNeil 5-2 Mark Frost
Alex Roy 5-4 Wayne Atwood
Jimmy Mann 5-3 Chris Mason
Scott Burnett 5-3 Keith Rooney
Matt Padgett 5-3 Michael Barnard
Matt Clark 5-3 Stuart Dutton
Mark Cox 5-2 Chris Allen

Wayne Mardle 5-3 Ken MacNeil
Alex Roy 5-3 Jimmy Mann
Matt Padgett 5-4 Scott Burnett
Mark Cox 5-1 Matt Clark
Losers £250

Alex Roy 5-1 Wayne Mardle
Matt Padgett 5-3 Mark Cox
Winners qualify for World Darts Championship.
Losers £500

Alex Roy 5-=1 Matt Padgett
Winner takes First Round place
Runner-Up takes Preliminary Round place

Read more

Ladders reports

Ladders reports Saturday 27th November – Players Championship, Derby   I have been practicing with my glasses on and was hoping I could use them and not let them affect me like when I tried them p...

Read more

The draw for the World Darts Championship has been made.

THE draw for the World Darts Championship has been made. The world^s top 32 players are drawn against the qualifiers for the first round, which will be played from December 16-23 at ...

Read more