Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: RD News x

RD News x


Jones takes Group 8

WAYNE JONES took victory in Group Eight of Championship League Darts, defeating debutant Mark Webster 6-2 to earn a place in Thursday^s Winners Group.

Jones was competing for a fourth successive day in the internet-streamed event and atoned for two previous semi-final defeats by going all the way in the last of the eight groups.

He ended the league phase with five wins from his seven matches before defeating Dennis Priestley 6-2 in the semis.

He then overcame Webster in the decider to earn his spot in the big-money Winners Group on Thursday at Crondon Park GC in Essex.

Webster took the final^s opening leg against the throw, but Jones replied with finishes of double eight and double 16 to lead before the left-hander from Wales took out 78 for the fourth.

After Jones finished 76 to regain the lead, missed doubles from Webster allowed him in on double eight for a 4-2 lead, with double four moving him clear and double 18 sealing the win.

Webster had won through to the final in his first-ever Championship League Darts appearance, and took home £2,500 for his day^s work.

The former Lakeside Champion hit a 180 with his opening three darts of the event, in a win over Jelle Klaasen, and went on to finish fourth in the league table.

He then overcame Co Stompe 6-3 in a thrilling semi-final, which saw the Dutchman lead 3-0 after hitting a 13-darter and two 12-dart finishes - including a 136 checkout - only for Webster to take the next six with an average over 108 to take victory.

The group ended in disappointment for Stompe, who had competed since Group Two and reached the semi-finals on five occasions before losing to Webster in the last four, although he takes home £14,200.

Dennis Priestley^s five-day run in the event also ended in the semis, as he lost out to Jones, although £9,500 prize money softens the blow for the 60-year-old battler.

Michael van Gerwen and John Part both picked up three wins in their only appearance of the year, claiming £1,600, while Jelle Klaasen won two games and Denis Ovens suffered disappointment - going through Group Eight without a victory after finishing joint top in Group Seven.

Jones will now join the seven previous Group Winners - 2008 champion Phil Taylor, Simon Whitlock, Alan Tabern, James Wade, Wes Newton, Steve Beaton and Andy Smith - in returning for Thursday^s big-money Winners Group, where the £20,000 title will be contested.

Prize money increases to £100 per leg in the round-robin league phase before the top four compete for £200 a leg in the semi-finals and final, with additional prize money of £20,000 for the champion, £10,000 for the runner-up and £5,000 each for the semi-finalists on offer.

The finalists will also be invited to compete in the Grand Slam of Darts in Wolverhampton next month, adding a further incentive for Tabern, Newton and Smith, who have yet to qualify.

Championship League Darts is streamed exclusively live around the world through 16 bookmakers^ websites, as well as to PDCtv subscribers at the PDC^s official website,

Read more


GARY ANDERSON won his fourth title of 2010 with victory a 6-1 victory over Dennis Smith in the final of the John McEvoy Gold Dart Classic Players Championship. The Scot bounced back impressively fr...

Read more

Friday 15 October 2010 Press Release from Paul

Friday 15 October 2010 Press Release from Paul   For many years darts has been seen as a hobby and derided as being merely a pub based pastime rather than a ...

Read more