Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: PDC Media Release - Jaws Bites To Take Wigan Win

PDC Media Release - Jaws Bites To Take Wigan Win


COLIN LLOYD won his second tournament of 2010 with a 6-3 victory over Colin Osborne in the seventh UK Open Qualifier.

Lloyd followed up February^s Players Championship win in Gibraltar by taking the £6,000 title at Wigan^s Robin Park Tennis Centre.

The win ensures Lloyd will enter June^s televised UK Open Finals in Bolton at the last 64 stage in round three, earning him vital ranking points in the PDC Order of Merit.

Having defeated Andy Fordham and Alan Tabern in his opening two games, Lloyd then saw off Essex rival Wayne Mardle 6-4 and Yorkshire^s Chris Thompson to reach the quarter-finals.

There, he took out 129 to defeat Wayne Jones 6-3 and repeated that result in his semi-final win over Mark Walsh.

Osborne hit a 180 in taking the opening leg of the final, but Lloyd won the next four, including hitting an 11-darter, to take command.

Osborne took the sixth, but was punished for seven missed doubles in a scrappy seventh as Lloyd crucially moved 5-2 up.

Derby^s Osborne won the eighth on double 16, but Lloyd landed two 180s in the next in sealing victory in 12 darts.

"It^s a great win for me," said Lloyd. "It was a tough day with some hard matches but I^m delighted to take the victory.

"The final was typical of how I played for much of the day, because I hit some great scores but was a little inconsistent at times. When I was 4-1 up, though, I knew I should not let it slip and I didn^t do that."

Osborne won through to his first final of the year and took home £3,000 as runner-up following some fine displays.

He defeated two-time World Champion Dennis Priestley 6-4 in the semis, and saw off Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts stars Simon Whitlock and Ronnie Baxter in the latter stages.

Mark Walsh^s consistent form continued with a run to the semis, while Priestley^s last four finish was his best display since last August.

Wes Newton^s bid to follow Saturday^s Players Championship victory with another title was ended with a quarter-final loss to Walsh, while John Part^s return to form continued as he reached the same stage.

The final UK Open Qualifier will be held back at Wigan^s Robin Park Tennis Centre in a fortnight, after which the leading 96 plus from the UK Open Order of Merit will progress to play in Bolton from June 3-6.


Open Qualifier 7
Preliminary Round
Kevin Dowling 6-3 Peter Edmonds
Patrick Pace 6-4 Robbie Newland
Scott Rand 6-3 Kevin Harris
Danny Pinhorne 6-0 Jim McKevitt
Gary Eastwood 6-5 Arron Monk
Tom Martin 6-5 Darren Latham
Dave Askew 6-4 Chris Allen
Gary Blades 6-5 Mareno Michels
Darren Weaver 6-0 Shaun Dring
Nigel Birch 6-3 Stephen Hardy
William O^Connor 6-3 Andy Pearson
Paul Rowley 6-3 Mark Jodrill
Dean Allsopp 6-5 Ian McFarlane
Lee Williams 6-1 Dave Ladley
Matt Draper 6-2 Lee Hayes
Jason Clark 6-3 Matt Padgett
Jimmy Dunlop 6-1 Steve Perkins
Paul Williams 6-4 Steve Farmer
James Barton 6-4 Matt Gallett
Ian Jopling 6-4 Mark Jones
Lee White 6-4 Alex Tinsley
Darren Webster 6-4 Nigel Heydon
Mark Cox 6-3 Steve Musson

First Round
Ron Atwill 6-5 Steve Grubb
Alex Roy 6-1 Norman Fletcher
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Kevin Dowling
Mark Walsh 6-1 Patrick Pace
Mark Dudbridge 6-2 Peter Hudson
Mark Stephenson 6-2 Dave Honey
Scott Rand 6-1 Darren Johnson
Danny Pinhorne 6-1 Colin Monk
Richie Burnett 6-1 Brendan Dolan
Robert Thornton 6-5 Joe Cullen
Gary Anderson 6-2 Chris Loudon
Kevin Painter 6-3 Gary Eastwood
Terry Jenkins 6-1 Tony Comerford
Steve Hine 6-3 Gary Welding
Wes Newton 6-3 Robbie Parker
Dennis Smith 6-2 Tom Martin
Adrian Gray 6-0 Jon Archer
Dave Smith 6-5 Gary Mawson
Wayne Atwood 6-0 Dave Askew
Justin Pipe 6-1 Gary Blades
Kevin McDine 6-3 Stuart Bousfield
Wayne Jones 6-3 Jimmy Mann
Darren Weaver 6-3 Lionel Sams
Dylan Duo 6-2 Nigel Birch
Colin Lloyd 6-2 Andy Fordham
Alan Tabern 6-1 Didier de Vuyst
Wayne Mardle 6-5 Geoff Whitworth
William O^Connor 6-2 Matt Clark
Tony Ayres 6-2 Michael Smith
Ia! n Lever 6-5 Mark Lawrence
Chris Mason 6-4 Brian Startin
Chris Thompson 6-3 Paul Rowley
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Brian Whybrow
Dennis Priestley 6-3 Ian White
Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Dean Allsopp
Lee Williams 6-3 Mervyn King
Michael Barnard 6-3 Andy Relf
Steve Brown 6-4 Par Riihonen
Matt Draper 6-4 Martyn Turner
Mark Frost 6-2 Jason Clark
John Part 6-0 Dave Ahmet
Steve Evans 6-5 Kirk Shepherd
Tony Eccles 6-3 Mark Hylton
Andy Smith 6-2 Jimmy Dunlop
Nick Fullwell 6-4 Martyn Bevan
Denis Ovens 6-3 Terry Temple
Jamie Caven 6-1 Steve Cupitt
Andy Hamilton 6-0 Paul Williams
Co Stompe 6-4 Harry Robinson
Mark Webster 6-1 Andy Hutchings
Louis Blundell 6-4 James Barton
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Ian Jopling
Roland Scholten 6-4 Sam Allen
Barrie Bates 6-4 Andy Callaby
Colin Osborne 6-2 Tony Martin
Mick McGowan 6-0 Lee White
Peter Wright 6-3 Andy Pearce
Steve Beaton 6-2 Jamie Atkins
Steve Maish 6-0 Daz Mawer
Darre! n Webster 6-4 Paul Nicholson
Stuart Dutton 6-2 Mensur Sulj! ovic
James Wade 6-0 Anastasia Dobromyslova
Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Tony Randell
Mark Cox 6-4 Adrian Lewis

Second Round
Alex Roy 6-5 Ron Atwill
Mark Walsh 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Mark Dudbridge 6-4 Mark Stephenson
Scott Rand 6-3 Danny Pinhorne
Robert Thornton 6-4 Richie Burnett
Gary Anderson 6-3 Kevin Painter
Terry Jenkins 6-5 Steve Hine
Wes Newton 6-0 Dennis Smith
Dave Smith 6-2 Adrian Gray
Justin Pipe 6-3 Wayne Atwood
Wayne Jones 6-3 Kevin McDine
Darren Weaver 6-3 Dylan Duo
Colin Lloyd 6-2 Alan Tabern
Wayne Mardle 6-5 William O^Connor
Tony Ayres 6-1 Ian Lever
Chris Thompson 6-0 Chris Mason
Dennis Priestley 6-2 Michael van Gerwen
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Lee Williams
Steve Brown 6-5 Michael Barnard
Mark Frost 6-2 Matt Draper
John Part 6-1 Steve Evans
Tony Eccles 6-4 Andy Smith
Nick Fullwell 6-0 Denis Ovens
Jamie Caven 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Mark Webster 6-2 Co Stompe
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Louis Blundell
Barrie Bates 6-4 Roland Scholten
Colin Osborne 6-4 Mick McGowan
Steve Beaton 6-3 Peter W! right
Darren Webster 6-1 Steve Maish
Stuart Dutton 6-5 James Wade
Ronnie Baxter 6-2 Mark Cox
Losers £200

Third Round
Mark Walsh 6-1 Alex Roy
Mark Dudbridge 6-4 Scott Rand
Gary Anderson 6-3 Robert Thornton
Wes Newton 6-1 Terry Jenkins
Justin Pipe 6-1 Dave Smith
Wayne Jones 6-1 Darren Weaver
Colin Lloyd 6-4 Wayne Mardle
Chris Thompson 6-5 Tony Ayres
Dennis Priestley 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Steve Brown 6-3 Mark Frost
John Part 6-3 Tony Eccles
Jamie Caven 6-2 Nick Fullwell
Simon Whitlock 6-0 Mark Webster
Colin Osborne 6-2 Barrie Bates
Steve Beaton 6-4 Darren Webster
Ronnie Baxter 6-5 Stuart Dutton
Losers £300

Fourth Round
Mark Walsh 6-3 Mark Dudbridge
Wes Newton 6-2 Gary Anderson
Wayne Jones 6-3 Justin Pipe
Colin Lloyd 6-2 Chris Thompson
Dennis Priestley 6-4 Steve Brown
John Part 6-1 Jamie Caven
Colin Osborne 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Ronnie Baxter 6-4 Steve Beaton
Losers £500

Mark Walsh 6-2 Wes Newton
Colin Lloyd 6-3 Wayne Jones
Dennis Priestley 6-4 John Part
Colin Osborne 6-1 Ronnie Baxter
Losers £1,000

Colin Lloyd 6-3 Mark Walsh
Colin Osborne 6-4 Dennis Priestley
Losers £1,500

Colin Lloyd 6-3 Colin Osborne
Winner £6,000
Runner-Up £3,000

Read more

PDC Media Release - Newton Adds Second Title

NEWTON^S DELIGHT AT SECOND PDC PROTOUR TITLE WES NEWTON claimed his second PDC ProTour win by defeating Andy Smith 6-2 in the final of Saturday^s Players Championship in Wigan. The Fleetwood ace f...

Read more

PDC Media Release - Newton Adds Second Title

NEWTON^S DELIGHT AT SECOND PDC PROTOUR TITLE WES NEWTON claimed his second PDC ProTour win by defeating Andy Smith 6-2 in the final of Saturday^s Players Championship in Wigan. The Fleetwood ace f...

Read more