Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: PDC Media Release - Anderson Wins UK Open Qualifier 4

PDC Media Release - Anderson Wins UK Open Qualifier 4


GARY ANDERSON won his second PDC ProTour title with victory over Wes Newton in the fourth UK Open Qualifier of 2010, taking out a 135 finish to win the final.

The Scot claimed a Players Championship win in Newport last May, and matched that with the £6,000 title at Crawley^s K2 Centre with a high-quality display.

Anderson whitewashed Kevin Dowling in his opening game on the day, before seeing off Kevin Painter, Matt Clark and Colin Lloyd to reach the quarter-finals.

There, he overcame Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 before edging past Andy Hamilton 6-5 in the semi-finals with an 11-darter in the deciding leg.

The final also went the full distance, as Newton hit back from going 2-0 down early on - after Anderson took out 110 for the first leg and double ten in the second - to lead 4-3.

Anderson hit double top in the next two legs to move 5-4 up, but Newton saved the game with a sensational 156 checkout.

The Fleetwood ace also opened the final leg with back-to-back 180s, and missed treble 19 in his bid for a potential nine-darter, before also wasting two match darts at double 16 to allow Anderson back to the oche, with the Scot finishing 135 on the bull for the victory.

Newton^s run pocketed him £3,000 but saw him denied a second PDC ProTour win in cruel fashion.

He had been a 6-5 semi-final winner against world number three James Wade, having also defeated Justin Pipe, Steve Maish, Aodhagan O^Neill, Alex Roy and Tom Martin in bouncing back strongly from a first round loss in Saturday^s Players Championship.

Wade^s run to the semis was his second of the weekend and fourth of the year, as he lost in a deciding leg for the second successive day.

Hamilton reached the last four for the fifth time so far in 2010, while Justin Pipe reached the quarter-finals for the second time on the PDC ProTour before losing to Newton.


Open Qualifier 4

Preliminary Round

Tom Martin 6-4 Matthew Wenham

Par Riihonen 6-3 Andy Fordham

Mark Cox 6-1 Dave Askew

Joe Cullen 6-1 Nigel Birch

Steve Farmer 6-0 Jimmy O^Regan

Chris Allen 6-2 Steve Watts

Matt Padgett 6-0 Glenn Cameron

Shaun Dring 6-5 Steve Perkins

Andy Relf 6-0 Jim McKevitt

Stuart Dutton 6-2 Robbie Newland

Simon Cunningham 6-2 Mark Jones

Sam Allen 6-3 Anton Liscsey

Stuart Bousfield 6-5 Ian Jopling

Gary Blades 6-3 Simon Burt

Peter Hudson 6-4 Danny Pinhorne

Anastasia Dobromsylova 6-1 Ian Lever

James Barton 6-2 Martyn Bevan

Andy Hutchings 6-2 Rick Lowther

Mark Hylton 6-4 Taro Yachi

Alex Tinsley 6-3 Andy Pearce

Kevin Harris 6-2 Ian Eames

First Round

Aodhagan O^Neill 6-4 Jamie Atkins

Louis Blundell 6-5 Jason Clark

Wes Newton 6-2 Tom Martin

Alex Roy 6-5 Par Riihonen

Darren Johnson 6-2 Darren Weaver

Alan Tabern 6-1 Jon Archer

Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Mark Cox

Steve Maish 6-4 Joe Cullen

Justin Pipe 6-1 Dave Ladley

Nick Fullwell 6-3 John Quantock

Gary Eastwood 6-1 Dylan Duo

Adrian Lewis 6-5 Steve Farmer

Colin Osborne 6-1 Mareno Michels

Steve Grubb 6-5 Tony Martin

Toon Greebe 6-1 Darren Latham

Denis Ovens 6-1 Chris Allen

Mervyn King 6-1 Jimi Parr

Jelle Klaasen 6-1 Jimmy Mann

Jamie Caven 6-3 Matt Padgett

Simon Whitlock 6-1 Shaun Dring

Ian McFarlane 6-0 Dave Honey

Nigel Heydon 6-3 Barrie Bates

Wayne Jones 6-1 Daz Mawer

Mark Walsh 6-3 Andy Relf

Martyn Turner 6-2 Tony Randell

Tony Ayres 6-4 Robert Alford

Didier de Vuyst 6-4 Chris Mason

James Wade 6-1 Stuart Dutton

Peter Wright 6-1 Andy Mason

Adrian Gray 6-3 Mark Stephenson

Andy Smith 6-0 Dave Ansell

Simon Cunningham 6-5 Mick McGowan

Gary Anderson 6-0 Kevin Dowling

Kevin Painter 6-1 Geoff Whitworth

Matt Clark 6-1 Sam Allen

Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Stuart Bousfield

Colin Monk 6-5 Richie Burnett

Chris Loudon 6-3 Steve Beaton

Colin Lloyd 6-0 Dean Allsopp

Michael Barnard 6-2 Gary Blades

Mark Dudbridge 6-0 Lee Williams

Kevin McDine 6-5 Anthony Urmston-Toft

Gary Mawson 6-4 Arron Monk

Co Stompe 6-0 Peter Hudson

John Part 6-1 Matt Draper

Peter Manley 6-3 Rocco Maes

Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Darren Webster

Robert Thornton 6-4 Anastasia Dobromyslova

Tony Eccles 6-0 Ian Critchett

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Steve Musson

Andy Hamilton 6-5 James Barton

Dennis Smith 6-2 Andy Hutchings

Stephen Hardy 6-2 Steve Hine

Chris Thompson 6-2 Ron Atwill

Mark Lawrence 6-4 Paul Williams

Ronnie Baxter 6-5 Mark Hylton

Wayne Atwood 6-0 Steven Perry

Steve Evans 6-4 Paul Rowley

Paul Nicholson 6-1 Tony Clark

Steve Brown 6-1 Alex Tinsley

Mark Webster 6-2 Steven Pearson

Mark Frost 6-1 Lee White

Brendan Dolan 6-0 Sean White

Wayne Mardle 6-3 Kevin Harris

Second Round

Aodhagan O^Neill 6-3 Louis Blundell

Wes Newton 6-3 Alex Roy

Darren Johnson 6-3 Alan Tabern

Steve Maish 6-2 Vincent van der Voort

Justin Pipe 6-5 Nick Fullwell

Gary Eastwood 6-3 Adrian Lewis

Colin Osborne 6-4 Steve Grubb

Denis Ovens 6-1 Toon Greebe

Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Mervyn King

Jamie Caven 6-1 Simon Whitlock

Nigel Heydon 6-3 Ian McFarlane

Wayne Jones 6-5 Mark Walsh

Tony Ayres 6-4 Martyn Turner

James Wade 6-4 Didier de Vuyst

Adrian Gray 6-5 Peter Wright

Andy Smith 6-4 Simon Cunningham

Gary Anderson 6-2 Kevin Painter

Matt Clark 6-1 Kirk Shepherd

Colin Monk 6-5 Chris Loudon

Colin Lloyd 6-1 Michael Barnard

Kevin McDine 6-4 Mark Dudbridge

Co Stompe 6-4 Gary Mawson

Peter Manley 6-1 John Part

Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Robert Thornton

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Tony Eccles

Andy Hamilton 6-4 Dennis Smith

Stephen Hardy 6-4 Chris Thompson

Mark Lawrence 6-4 Ronnie Baxter

Wayne Atwood 6-3 Steve Evans

Paul Nicholson 6-3 Steve Brown

Mark Webster 6-5 Mark Frost

Brendan Dolan 6-5 Wayne Mardle

Losers £200

Third Round

Wes Newton 6-4 Aodhagan O^Neill

Steve Maish 6-3 Darren Johnson

Justin Pipe 6-2 Gary Eastwood

Denis Ovens 6-5 Colin Osborne

Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Jamie Caven

Nigel Heydon 6-5 Wayne Jones

James Wade 6-2 Tony Ayres

Andy Smith 6-5 Adrian Gray

Gary Anderson 6-1 Matt Clark

Colin Lloyd 6-4 Colin Monk

Kevin McDine 6-5 Co Stompe

Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Peter Manley

Andy Hamilton 6-5 Michael van Gerwen

Mark Lawrence 6-2 Stephen Hardy

Paul Nicholson 6-1 Wayne Atwood

Brendan Dolan 6-2 Mark Webster

Losers £300

Fourth Round

Wes Newton 6-3 Steve Maish

Justin Pipe 6-1 Denis Ovens

Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Nigel Heydon

James Wade 6-3 Andy Smith

Gary Anderson 6-1 Colin Lloyd

Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Kevin McDine

Andy Hamilton 6-4 Mark Lawrence

Brendan Dolan 6-2 Paul Nicholson

Losers £500


Wes Newton 6-2 Justin Pipe

James Wade 6-1 Jelle Klaasen

Gary Anderson 6-2 Raymond van Barneveld

Andy Hamilton 6-2 Brendan Dolan

Losers £1,000


Wes Newton 6-5 James Wade

Gary Anderson 6-5 Andy Hamilton

Losers £1,500


Gary Anderson 6-5 Wes Newton

Winner £6,000

Runner-Up £3,000

Read more

PDC Media Release - Bates^ Joy In Crawley

BATES’ JOY IN CRAWLEY BARRIE BATES won his first tournament since 2006 with a narrow 6-5 defeat of Denis Ovens in Saturday^s Players Championship final. The Welshman picked up three titles and rea...

Read more

PDC Media Release - Bates^ Joy In Crawley

BATES’ JOY IN CRAWLEY BARRIE BATES won his first tournament since 2006 with a narrow 6-5 defeat of Denis Ovens in Saturday^s Players Championship final. The Welshman picked up three titles and rea...

Read more