Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Grand Slam of Darts Media Release Grand Slam of Darts Media Release

Reigning champion Phil Taylor will take on former World Champions Mark Webster and Anastasia Dobromyslova in the group stage of the 2009 Grand Slam of Darts.

This year^s Grand Slam of Darts, featuring champions from both the Professional Darts Corporation and BDO/WDF systems, will be held from November 14-22 at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall.

The 32 competitors are drawn into eight groups for the first round, playing each other once in a round-robin format.

Taylor, the two-time Grand Slam of Darts winner and number one seed, drew both the mens and womens 2008 BDO World Champions, Webster and Dobromyslova, as well as Holland^s Vincent van der Voort in Group A.

Current BDO World Champion Ted Hankey, who is seeded second for the tournament, will take on Australia^s Simon Whitlock, Wayne Mardle and Scott Waites in the group phase.

A total of eight World Championship titles will be on show in Group D, where Raymond van Barneveld, John Part and the incumbent Womens World Champion Francis Hoenselaar are drawn with Kevin Painter.

Number three seed James Wade will take on Robert Thornton, 2007 Grand Slam runner-up Andy Hamilton and Gary Mawson in Group H, while Terry Jenkins, Adrian Lewis, Darin Young and Denis Ovens complete Group G.

Tony O^Shea, the runner-up to Hankey in January^s Lakeside event, drew Colin Osborne, Colin Lloyd and Brian Woods in Group B, while Mervyn King,

Darryl Fitton and Kirk Shepherd will be joined by the ITV Wildcard Qualifier in Group C.

Gary Anderson, the number seven seed, will meet Steve Beaton - the European Championship runner-up last weekend who earned a Grand Slam debut with that display - as well as Co Stompe and Kevin McDine in Group F.

The group phase will be played from Saturday November 14-Wednesday November 18, with the top two players then progressing to the knockout phase.

The last 16 will play off on Thursday and Friday, with the quarter-finals on Saturday November 21 and the semi-finals and final played on Sunday November 22 in Wolverhampton.

Tickets for the Grand Slam of Darts are still available from the Wolves Civic Box Office on 0870 320 7000 or via


Phil Taylor (1)

Mark Webster

Vincent van der Voort

Anastasia Dobromyslova


Tony O^Shea (8)

Colin Osborne

Colin Lloyd

Brian Woods


Mervyn King (5)

Darryl Fitton

ITV Wildcard Qualifier

Kirk Shepherd


Raymond van Barneveld (4)

John Part

Kevin Painter

Francis Hoenselaar


Ted Hankey (2)

Simon Whitlock

Wayne Mardle

Scott Waites


Gary Anderson (7)

Steve Beaton

Co Stompe

Kevin McDine


Terry Jenkins (6)

Adrian Lewis

Darin Young

Denis Ovens


James Wade (3)

Robert Thornton

Andy Hamilton

Gary Mawson

Read more

 Play Poker with the darts stars at www.180bets,com   Weds 4th November,Weds 4th November, 8:30pm. Australia^s no 1 player Paul ^The Asset^ Nicholson   €5 entry €500 guaranteed + €100 bounty...

Read more

Red Dragon Darts World Ranking player of the Week

This week’s player of the week would have been Red Dragon Darts sponsored Martin Atkins, as he won the Northern Ireland Open and jumped up 7 places to number 23. The top of the world rankings are ...

Read more