Skip to content


Your cart is empty



Adrian Lewis came from 4-1 down to defeat Andy Hamilton in the final of Saturday^s Irish Players Championship at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin.

Lewis followed up last month^s Austrian Open victory by taking the £6,000 winner^s cheque in Ireland, in the first of two PDC Pro Tour events being held over the weekend ahead of the Skybet World Grand Prix.

The 24-year-old produced some superb darts on the day, whitewashing Matt Clark in his opening match and also defeating Tony Ayres, Colin Lloyd, Peter Manley and Wayne Jones to reach the final.

Hamilton led 4-1 after making a strong start to the game, taking a break of throw in leg four, but Lewis took the sixth, hitting a 180 and then double ten, before punishing two misses from Hamilton in the next to cut the gap to 4-3.

Hamilton landed a maximum of his own in the eighth, but missed two darts to go 5-3 up before Lewis earned a reprieve from four earlier misses to take out double seven.

A 104 finish saw Lewis hit the front at 5-4, and he then kicked off the next leg with a 180 before taking out 135 on the bull for a 12-dart finish in sealing the win.

"It^s a massive boost for me," said Lewis. "I was delighted to win in Austria last month and I^ve managed to keep that form going.

"Playing for six days in a row in Championship League Darts has helped my form, even though it^s disappointing that I^ve not qualified for the Winners Group yet, but I know I^m playing well at the moment.

"Hopefully now I can take that into Sunday^s tournament and the Skybet World Grand Prix this week."

Hamilton^s run to the final included his first-ever competitive victory against Phil Taylor, with a 6-3 triumph in the semi-finals.

He also defeated veteran pair John MaGowan and Dennis Priestley, as well as Wayne Mardle and Martyn Turner.

Taylor^s semi-final loss was the first time in a ranking event this year he has not reached the final, having overcome Dutch pair Vincent van der Voort and Toon Greebe as well as in-form Wes Newton to progress to the last four.

Wolverhampton^s Wayne Jones joined the Stoke trio in the semis after defeating Yorkshireman Darren Johnson 6-5 in the quarter-finals.

Both James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld, ranked second and third in the world respectively, were eliminated in the last 32, losing out to Kevin McDine and Mark Walsh.

Irish Players Championship (Saturday)

First Round

Board One

Phil Taylor (1) Bye

Gary Welding 6-1 Andy Fordham

Toon Greebe 6-4 Steve Maish (32)

Mark Lawrence 6-5 Roland Scholten

Board Two

Vincent van der Voort (16) Bye

Felix McBrearty 6-0 Dave Ahmet

Denis Ovens (17) Bye

Justin Pipe 6-0 Geoff Whitworth

Board Three

Terry Jenkins (8) Bye

Mark Frost 6-0 Dylan Duo

Wes Newton (25) Bye

Chris Jackson 6-5 Jonathan Overton

Board Four

Ronnie Baxter (9) Bye

Dave Honey 6-5 Brendan Dolan

Andy Jenkins (24) Bye

Mark Stephenson 6-3 Ken Dobson

Board Five

Dennis Priestley (5) Bye

Andy Callaby 6-3 Davey Mansell

Jelle Klaasen (28) 6-4 Mark Webster

Shane O^Connor 6-0 Matt Gallett

Board Six

Mervyn King (12) Bye

Martyn Turner 6-3 Par Riihonen

Andy Hamilton (21) Bye

Wayne Mardle 6-3 Owen Caffrey

Board Seven

James Wade (4) Bye

John Part 6-5 Barrie Bates

Tony Eccles (29) 6-5 Louis Blundell

Kevin McDine 6-5 Richie Burnett

Board Eight

Jamie Caven (13) Bye

John MaGowan 6-3 Kirk Shepherd

Andy Smith (20) Bye

Mick McGowan 6-5 Chris Loudon

Board Nine

Mark Walsh (2) Bye

Dave Ladley 6-3 Andy Relf

Raymond van Barneveld (31) 6-2 Peter Wright

Dennis Smith 6-5 Jacko Barry

Board Ten

Steve Beaton (15) Bye

James Barton 6-1 Gary Barnett

Wayne Jones (18) Bye

Chris Thompson 6-1 Ian Eames

Board 11

Robert Thornton (7) Bye

Ian McFarlane 6-0 Tony Blundell

Alex Roy (26) Bye

Darren Johnson 6-4 Steve Grubb

Board 12

Gary Anderson (10) Bye

Stuart Bousfield 6-0 Nigel Birch

Kevin Painter (23) Bye

Ray Farrell 6-5 Nick Fullwell

Board 13

Colin Lloyd (6) Bye

Joe Cullen 6-0 Kevin Hill

Paul Nicholson (27) Bye

John Quantock 6-3 Dyson Parody

Board 14

Adrian Lewis (11) Bye

Matt Clark 6-3 Steve Hine

Michael van Gerwen (22) Bye

Tony Ayres 6-2 Dave Ansell

Board 15

Colin Osborne (3) Bye

Michael Barnard 6-4 Colin Monk

Peter Manley (30) 6-2 Matt Jackson

Steve Brown 6-2 Didier de Vuyst

Board 16

Alan Tabern (14) Bye

Wayne Atwood 6-2 Jon Archer

Mark Dudbridge (19) Bye

Adrian Gray 6-1 Stephen Hardy

Second Round

Phil Taylor 6-2 Gary Welding

Toon Greebe 6-5 Mark Lawrence

Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Felix McBrearty

Justin Pipe 6-3 Denis Ovens

Mark Frost 6-3 Terry Jenkins

Wes Newton 6-3 Chris Jackson

Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Dave Honey

Andy Jenkins 6-1 Mark Stephenson

Dennis Priestley 6-1 Andy Callaby

Shane O^Connor 6-4 Jelle Klaasen

Martyn Turner 6-5 Mervyn King

Andy Hamilton 6-4 Wayne Mardle

James Wade 6-3 John Part

Kevin McDine 6-4 Tony Eccles

John MaGowan 6-2 Jamie Caven

Andy Smith 6-0 Mick McGowan

Mark Walsh 6-1 Dave Ladley

Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Dennis Smith

Steve Beaton 6-2 James Barton

Wayne Jones 6-3 Chris Thompson

Ian McFarlane 6-5 Robert Thornton

Darren Johnson 6-3 Alex Roy

Stuart Bousfield 6-5 Gary Anderson

Kevin Painter 6-2 Ray Farrell

Colin Lloyd 6-3 Joe Cullen

Paul Nicholson 6-2 John Quantock

Adrian Lewis 6-0 Matt Clark

Tony Ayres 6-5 Michael van Gerwen

Colin Osborne 6-3 Michael Barnard

Peter Manley 6-3 Steve Brown

Alan Tabern 6-4 Wayne Atwood

Mark Dudbridge 6-5 Adrian Gray

Losers £200

Third Round

Phil Taylor 6-1 Toon Greebe

Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Justin Pipe

Wes Newton 6-2 Mark Frost

Ronnie Baxter 6-2 Andy Jenkins

Dennis Priestley 6-3 Shane O^Connor

Andy Hamilton 6-4 Martyn Turner

Kevin McDine 6-4 James Wade

John MaGowan 6-2 Andy Smith

Mark Walsh 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld

Wayne Jones 6-5 Steve Beaton

Darren Johnson 6-3 Ian McFarlane

Kevin Painter 6-1 Stuart Bousfield

Colin Lloyd 6-2 Paul Nicholson

Adrian Lewis 6-3 Tony Ayres

Peter Manley 6-5 Colin Osborne

Mark Dudbridge 6-5 Alan Tabern

Losers £300

Fourth Round

Phil Taylor 6-2 Vincent van der Voort

Wes Newton 6-4 Ronnie Baxter

Andy Hamilton 6-3 Dennis Priestley

John MaGowan 6-5 Kevin McDine

Wayne Jones 6-4 Mark Walsh

Darren Johnson 6-5 Kevin Painter

Adrian Lewis 6-4 Colin Lloyd

Peter Manley 6-2 Mark Dudbridge

Losers £400


Phil Taylor 6-3 Wes Newton

Andy Hamilton 6-3 John MaGowan

Wayne Jones 6-5 Darren Johnson

Adrian Lewis 6-3 Peter Manley

Losers £800


Andy Hamilton 6-3 Phil Taylor

Adrian Lewis 6-2 Wayne Jones

Losers £1,500


Adrian Lewis 6-4 Andy Hamilton

Winner £6,000

Runner-Up £3,000


Read more

Darts Results

  PDPA Players Championship Ireland 1 results. Played 03/10/2009.Adrian Lewis defeated Andy Hamilton to win the final.Supplied by Darts Database

Read more

Andy ^The Viking^ Fordham wins 180 poker comp.

Wednesday^s 1000 Euro poker tournament at was won by darts legend Andy ^The Viking^ Fordham. Andy - the former Lakeside World Champion, is a regular competitor in 180 poker compet...

Read more