Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts: PDC Media Release - Caven Wins Blue Square UK Open Welsh Regional Final

Darts: PDC Media Release - Caven Wins Blue Square UK Open Welsh Regional Final

Jamie Caven’s maiden title

Red Dragon Darts JAMIE CAVEN claimed his first PDC title with a 6-5 victory over his team mate Alan Tabern in the Blue Square UK Open Welsh Regional Final.

The 33-year-old, in his third year as a professional, followed up his appearance in a Players Championship final in Newport last September by going one better at the same venue this time around.

He followed up early wins over Alan Caves and Ben Burton with a narrow 6-5 victory against Vincent van der Voort, before seeing off Andy Hamilton, Mark Dudbridge and Co Stompe to reach the final.

He led 2-0 in the decider before Tabern took four successive legs to lead 4-2.

Tabern also moved 5-4 up, but missed a dart at the bullseye in the next two legs as Leicester^s Caven levelled and then hit double top for the victory.

"I^m over the moon with these new

Gold Star darts that Red Dragon made for me," said Caven, a former World Youth Masters winner.

"It^s nice to play well throughout the day and a big confidence boost for me ahead of Bolton next month.

"I^m delighted to have come back in the final, but only Alan and Vincent van der Voort had darts to beat me on the day, which is a good achievement."

Caven added: "I told my wife if I won I would take her to the Las Vegas Desert Classic this summer, so I^ve got to shell out for that now - but I don^t mind!"

Tabern^s run to the final moved him into the top 32 of the UK Open Order of Merit, meaning he enters the UK Open televised finals at the third round stage next month.

A high-quality day of darts saw Red Dragons St Helens man defeat Colin Lloyd, Peter Manley, Colin Osborne, Terry Jenkins and Kevin Painter to claim the £3,000 runner-up prize.

Lloyd and Stompe battled through to the last four, while Manley reached the quarter-finals for only the second time in 2009.

Beaton overcame Saturday^s Players Championship winner Gary Anderson on his way to a fifth quarter-final of the year, although he will be among the second round entrants in the UK Open at Bolton.

The Welsh Regional Final was the last of eight qualifiers for next month^s UK Open, with a run to the last 16 for Lee Williams and last 64 appearances for Ian Critchett and Gibraltar^s Dyson Parody seeing them qualify for Bolton at the final attempt.

A first round defeat to Mark Dudbridge for Winmau’s former Lakeside Champion Andy Fordham means he will have to wait for his debut in a major PDC championship, although Anastasia Dobromsylova has qualified for Bolton.

Tickets for the Blue Square UK Open, which is held from June 4-7, are still available from the Reebok Stadium Box Office on 0844 871 2932.

Blue Square UK Open Welsh Regional Final

Preliminary Round

Stephen Hardy 6-5 Ian Jopling

Nigel Birch 6-4 Tom Martin

Peter Wright 6-4 Kevin Harris

Dave Ladley 6-0 Geoff Whitworth

Mark Jodrill 6-0 Chris Jackson

Ben Burton 6-4 Steve Musson

Alan Caves 6-0 Jimmy Dunlop

Stuart Dutton 6-1 Mark Tiller

Paul Gudgeon 6-4 Richard Foster

Ian Lilley 6-4 Geoff Wylie

Owen Caffrey 6-4 Ian Lever

Bryande Hoog 6-4 Chris Allen

Richie Burnett 6-1 Ian McFarlane

Shaun Dring 6-3 Frazer Hill

Alex Tinsley 6-4 Robert Watson-Lang

Louis Blundell 6-3 Ian Perkins


Blades 6-1 Bryan Whybrow

Steve Perkins 6-1 Jon Archer

Dyson Parody 6-4 Michael Smith

Ken Dobson 6-3 Kieran Leal

Paul Knighton 6-2 Steve Lane

Steve Cupitt 6-0 Norman Fletcher

First Round

Steve Beaton 6-1 Pete Allen

Andy Smith 6-4 Stuart Bousfield

Gary Anderson 6-0 Darren Latham

Kevin McDine 6-5 Stephen Hardy

Andy Jenkins 6-0 Robbie Parker

Steve Evans 6-0 Mike Roberts

Mark Lawrence Bye (Sean White timed out)

Mick McGowan 6-5 Nigel Birch

Dennis Smith 6-3 Jim Withers

John Part 6-1 Danny King

Toon Greebe 6-3 John Quantock

Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Peter Wright

Ian Critchett 6-2 Gary Welding

Co Stompe 6-4 Chris Loudon

Dennis Priestley 6-2 Simon Cunningham

Mervyn King 6-1 Dave Ladley

Tony Ayres 6-5 Dennis Zijderhand

Jason Clark 6-3 Russell Mason

Dave Honey 6-1 Gary Scratchley

Andy Hamilton 6-3 Mark Jodrill

Vincent van der Voort 6-0 Arron Monk

Read more

Zsophia goes close in Greece Open 2009

Winmau would like to offer their congratulations to Zsofia Lazar, who was runner-up in the Greek Open. Zsofia played exceptionally well, but was just beaten by local Greek player Evi Nakka. Zsofia...

Read more

Darts: PDC Media Release - Anderson Claims Maiden PDC Title

GARY ANDERSON claimed his first title since joining the PDC with a 6-2 victory over Mervyn King in the Welsh Players Championship. The Scotsman followed up two finals a month ago to go one better ...

Read more