Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts News – Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – Shropshire v West of England

Darts News – Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – Shropshire v West of England

Despite their 25-11 defeat away to Northumberland in their opening day fixture in division four of the BDO Inter County Championships, Shropshire got their season underway when they played hosts to West of England and chalked up their first win to lift them away from the foot of the table.

Saturday produced some cracking results, the ladies ‘B’ raced into a 3-0 lead with wins from Jane Vernon, Marie Riggs and Sue Lane, Marie Riggs taking the match award with her 3-0 win over Carolyn Payne, which gave her a 16.34 average.

Jackie Skinner and Helen Jones reduced the arrears for the away team, but a confident 3-0 win by Pam Evans over Sonia Tibbatts gave the home side a 4-2 victory.

The men’s ‘B’ were looking to add to their opening day 7-5 win and actually achieved that goal in the first eight games. The opening five players, Martin Riggs, John Cooper, Daniel Petty, Scott Towers and Derek Coulson each recorded wins against respective opponents Martin Vowles, Martyn Noakes, James Peto, Lee Ellison and Phil O’Connell.

West of England secured their first winner in the seventh game when their Steve Long had a 3-1 win over Nathan Storar. Nevertheless, the status quo was restored in the eighth game when John Breeze accounted for David Kiernan with a 3-1 result.

The winning game could not have been supplied in a better fashion other than the man of the match providing it. Roger Taylor (Shropshire) took on Bill Bird and beat him with a 3-1 scoreline in 15, 19 and 20 darts giving him a 25.67 average to take his team’s score to an unassailable 7-1.

Adding to the score were Scott Pitchford, Antony Stoneman and Glen McGrandle before Robbie Long won the final game of the day to put the result at 10-2 to Shropshire.

Sunday’s ‘A’ games saw the ladies go one down when Tracey Webb beat Mandy Morgan 3-0. The response from the home team was immediate as Katharine McLean won 3-1 against Sarah Cook and following McLean was team mate Michele Pritchard who not only beat Katie Kay 3-0 and put her team 2-1 up but also averaged 14.05 which earned her the match award.

Amanda Tyler restored parity for West of England only to see Caroline La-Ffin put Shropshire’s noses in front again with her 3-1 success against Cath Rosser. Unfortunately a win was not to be as Sam Wright won the last game for the visitors to put the final score at 3-3.

The first four games of the men’s ‘A’ encounter were shared. Luke Allen gave West of England the lead, Mark Jones cancelled it out. Paul Fellows restored the away team’s advantage, only to see Simon Pritchard square the match again with a neat and tidy 4-0 win over Ryan Shipp.

For the first time in the match Shropshire went ahead in the fifth, Eddie Austin beating Adam Whitehead 4-2 for a 3-2 lead. It then went a little pear shaped for the hosts as the next four games all finished with 4-2 margins, all in favour of the away team to give them a 6-3 advantage.

Clive Lucking (Shropshire) was in fine form as he made short work of his opponent Gary Grimmett with a 4-2 result, his winning legs taking 14, 14, 17 and 23 darts, Grimmett having two nineteen darts legs. Lucking’s performance produced a superb 27.86 average to earn him the man of the match award and his second win in as many games.

Lucking’s win unfortunately only delayed the inevitable as Ricky Nathan put West of England 7-4 up when he won 4-3 against a spirited Neville Quinton. The last game went to Shropshire, Danny James beating Martin Lansdown 4-0 to give a final score of 7-5 to West of England, but the overall result was a terrific 22-14 victory for Shropshire, hopefully the first of many more to come.

Full Results:Shropshire names first):Men’s ‘A’:- Andy Powell 2 Luke Allen 4, Mark Jones 4 Terry Hayes 2, Sam Hamilton 3 Paul Fellows 4, Simon Pritchard 4 Ryan Shipp 0, Eddie Austin 4 Adam Whitehead 2, Matt Williams 2 Alan Skinner 4, Andi Chatter 2 Simon Lloyd 4, Danny Humphries 2 Andy White 4, Phil Austin 2 Wayne Allen 4, Clive Lucking 4 Gary Grimmett 2, Neville Quinton 3 Ricky Nathan 4, Danny James 4 Martin Lansdown 0, Men’s ‘B’:- Martin Riggs 3 Martin Vowles 2, John Cooper 3 Martyn Noakes 1, Daniel Petty 3 James Peto 1, Scott Towers 3 Lee Ellison 2, Derek Coulson 3 Phil O’Connell 0, Nathan Storar 1 Steve Long 3, John Breeze 3 David Kiernan 1, Roger Taylor 3 Bill Bird 1,Scott Pitchford 3 Martin Ralph 2, Antony Stoneman 3 Damien Sherwood 2, Glen McGrandle 3 Matt Tremlett 1, Mark Tirrell 0 Robbie Long 3, Women’s ‘A’:- Mandy Morgan 0 Tracey Webb 3, Katharine McLean 3 Sarah Cook 1, Michele Pritchard 3 Katie Kay 0, Debbie Davies 2 Amanda Tyler 3, Caroline La-Ffin 3 Cath Rosser 1, Lorna Wheatley 0 Sam Wright 3, Women’s ‘B’:- Jane Vernon 3 Liz Harrington 1, Marie Riggs 3 Carolyn Payne 0, Sue Lane 3 Janet Ashton 1, Rachel Evans 0 Jackie Skinner 3, Shirley Reading 2 Helen Jones 3, Pam Evans 3 Sonia Tibbatts 0.

Read more

Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts –Warwickshire v Cornwall

After a 20-16 defeat at Yorkshire in the opening game of the season in the premier division of the BDO Inter County Championships, Warwickshire bounced back in the best possible way with a 22-14...

Read more

Darts News – Alan Towe^s The Line On Darts - Midlands Round Up

The majority of teams had begun their new season in the BDO Inter County Championships on the weekend of the 6th and 7th of September, West Midlands had their fixture with Nottinghamshire postpo...

Read more