Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts News - Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – Shropshire v Montgomery and Radnor

Darts News - Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – Shropshire v Montgomery and Radnor

Despite home advantage Shropshire were never going to have an easy game in division four of the BDO Inter County Championships when their visitors were going to be Montgomery and Radnor, newly relegated from division three.
In Saturday’s games the ladies ‘B’ suffered an onslaught by their counterparts as Evonne Taylor beat Deana Worrall 3-0 then Chris Hilditch, Sally Urwin and Sandra Jacks each recorded a 3-1 in turn against Kirsty Jenks, Suzanne Lane and Shirley Reading to give Montgomery and Radnor a match winning lead of 4-0.
In the penultimate encounter it was the away team that triumphed again as Susan Lewis beat Michele Pritchard 3-0 but the whitewash was denied as the Lynne Watton won 3-2 against Louise Davies to earn herself the match award with a 16.14 average and put the final score at 5-1.
West Midlands import Martin Angell was on at number one for the men’s ‘B’ and he opened his account in style with a straight 3-0 win over Andy Baugh. Unfortunately the cheers were short lived as Steve Price levelled for the visitors with a 3-1 success against Andre Knox. Another newcomer to the Shropshire scene Kristian Wharton was on at number three and he pushed his opponent John Mansell all the way before finally bowing out the 3-2 loser. Jamie Kynaston (Montgomery and Radnor) took the away team’s lead to 3-1 when he won 3-1 against Darryl Sheldon before the hosts added their second winner who came in the form of Jacob Perrins who had a 3-1 win over Ben Bevan.
Restoring the away team’s two games buffer was another Ben this time Amos who won 3-1 against Adam Thackray and by the same margin a Kacey Jones win against Rob Harris gave Montgomery a 5-2 lead.
Momentarily reducing the arrears was Neil Powell, yet another 3-1 result this time against Stephen Greenwood and although Wayne Speed made his opponent Jonathan Francis fight all the way it was Francis who got the 3-2 verdict to assure his team of at least a share of the points.
Richard Parker (Shropshire) was in top form as he accounted for Lee Davies in three straight legs and his super 28.90 average giving him the teams match award.
Montgomery and Radnor achieved their win in the penultimate game, Toby Morgan having a narrow 3-2 win over Chris Perrins and with a 3-1 win for the home side by Neville Quinton against Mark Bellerby in the last game of the day the final score was taken to 7-5 for Montgomery and Radnor.
Sunday’s ladies game was basically a turnaround of the previous day’s ladies game in so much as on Saturday the ladies lost the first five and won the last and on Sunday they won the first and lost the last five.
Opening up for the ‘A’ team was Stephanie Clarke who squared up to Rachael Williams. The outcome was a 3-1 win for Stephanie and her 17.09 average enough to earn her the match award.
Alas from there on in it was all downhill, Katie Bellerby and Jan Ashton in turn had 3-0 wins against Marie Riggs and Katharine McLean, Eluned Wright won 3-1 against Mandy Morgan and chalking up the all important fourth win for Montgomery and Radnor was Louise George in a close encounter with Leanne Quinton which she won 3-2  
Taking the final score to 5-1 was Clare Bywater with a 3-1 win against Shropshire’s anchor player Julie Griffiths.
The final match of the weekend was the men’s ‘A’ game and they actually got off to a good start despite losing the opener as Jim Williams beat Clive Lucking 4-2. The early setback was soon erased as Neville Quinton repaid the confidence in his promotion from the ‘B’ side by winning 4-3 against Gareth Ashley. Derek Coulson put Shropshire ahead for the first time when he beat Roger Williams 4-2 and the lead was increased to 3-1 when John Cooper won his tie with Tony Rimmer 4-3.
Sean Barnett pulled one back for Montgomery and Radnor another seven legs affair with Ian Pallett but John Cornmell (Shropshire) restored the two games buffer between the two teams when he accounted for Craig Davies with the fourth 4-3 result out of the six games played.
Keeping the away team in the game was Mark Jones (Montgomery and Radnor), his 4-2 win against Danny James taking the score along to 4-3 to the home side.
Kevin Harris was yet another 4-3 winner beating Mitchell Butler and not only winning the match award with his 25.76 average but also taking his team to within an ace of at least sharing the points. Unfortunately that was not going to be as the Montgomery and Radnor side stepped up a gear, Dave Williams beat Roger Taylor 4-1, and the visitors last three players Neil Astley, Scott Dockerty and Steven Ritchie all won in four straight legs beating their respective opponents Andrew Chatter, Eddie Austin and John Breeze to give the travelling side a 7-5 win and overall victory of 24-12.
 Full Results☹Shropshire names first):Men’s ‘A’:- Clive Lucking 2 Jim Williams 4, Neville Quinton 4 Gareth Ashley 3, Derek Coulson 4 Roger Williams 2, John Cooper 4 Tony Rimmer 3, Ian Pallett 3 Sean Barnett 4, John Cornmell 4 Craig Davies 3, Danny James 2 Mark Jones 4, Kevin Harris 4 Mitchell Butler 3, Roger Taylor 1 Dave Williams 4, Andrew Chatter 0 Neil Astley 4, Eddie Austin 0 Scott Dockerty 4, John Breeze 0 Steve Ritchie 4, Men’s ‘B’:- Martin Angell 3 Andy Baugh 0, Andre Knox 1 Steve Price 3, Kristian Wharton 2 John Mansell 3, Darryl Sheldon 1 Jamie Kynaston 3, Jacob Perrins 3 Ben Bevan 1, Adam Thackray 1 Ben Amos 3, Robert Harris 1 Kacey Jones 3, Neil Powell 3 Stephen Greenwood 1, Wayne Speed 2 Jonathan Francis 3, Richard Parker 3 Lee Davies 0, Chris Perrins 2 Toby Morgan 3, Neville Quinton 3 Mark Bellerby 1, Women’s ‘A’ :- Stephanie Clarke 3 Rachael Williams 1, Marie Riggs 0 Katie Bellerby 3, Katharine McLean 0 Jan Ashton 3, Mandy Morgan 1 Eluned Wright 3, Leanne Quinton 2 Louise George 3, Julie Griffiths 1 Clare Bywater 3, Women’s ‘B’:- Deana Worrall 0 Evonne Taylor 3, Kirsty Jenks 1 Chris Hilditch 3, Suzanne Lane 1 Sally Urwin 3, Shirley Reading 1 Sandra Jacks 3, Michele Pritchard 0 Susan Lewis 3, Lynne Watton 3 Louise Davies 2.

Read more

Darts World

West Midlands began their third season in division two of the BDO Inter County Championships with an away fixture against local rivals Staffordshire who are newly relegated from division one so it ...

Read more

Darts News – A West Midlands Round Up By Alan Towe

Prior to the Warwickshire versus Yorkshire BDO Inter County fixture at the Bishopsgate Club, Coventry there was a fund raising head shave by Kaya Holdsworth who was doing it because her mother Warw...

Read more