Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts: Cathcart wins Individuals, Antrim win Interleague

Darts: Cathcart wins Individuals, Antrim win Interleague

BRIAN Cathcart won the Antrim League Individuals, holding off some very strong competition in the process.

The competition was held at Antrim Rugby Club on Friday night. Thirty-two players had reached this stage after qualifiers a few weeks previous. Eight boards were used on the evening to leave eight players in the final knock out stages.

In the quarter finals, P Nelson (3) defeated F Walsh (0), B Cathcart (3) defeated A Whiteside (0), G Wylie (3) defeated G Bell (1) and R Montgomery (3) defeated D Geddis (0). Some fantastic darts were being thrown at this stage by G Wylie (123 & 118 checkout) and B Bell (2 180 and 11 darts) but R Montgomery produced a rare moment by taking out a sublime 170 checkout.

In the semi finals, B Cathcart (4) defeated P Nelson (1) and G Wylie (4) defeated R Montgomery (2). Again, some excellent darts were being thrown, B Cathcart (146 checkout) and R Montgomery (180) hitting some notable scores.

In the final, B Cathcart would take an early lead and wouldn^t be caught. Brian started well. 15 darts with a 104 checkout in the 1st leg followed by 21 darts with a 110 checkout to take a 2-0 lead. Geoff would reply with a 19 dart leg but again Brian would extend his lead back to 2 with a 22 dart leg. Geoff again would fight back with a 17 dart leg to make the score 3-2 but Brian would not be denied and won the next leg in 20 darts to secure his title.

The following day at the Sportsman in Ballyclare, Antrim took two teams to the interleague event along with teams from Ballymena and Ballyclare.

Antrim ‘B’ consisted of P Lynn, M Barr, P Warren, M Letters, V McPeake, R Esler, N Rankin, P McGleave, N Mulholland, S Doone and J Doone. They played a preliminary game against Ballyclare ‘A’ and made it through to the semi-final were they would meet Antrim ‘A’ who consisted of T Harbison, BMcNally, F McGeown, T Morrow, K George, S Harris, P McGeown, J Doone, A Proctor, M Meharg and H Galloway.

The ‘B’ team qualified through to the final were they would meet Ballyclare ‘A’. A close final ensued and it came down to the scores even at five-all, when James Doone stepped up, in an intense pressure situation, to ensure Antrim would be victorious.

Story By: Antrim Times

Read more

Darts: Our columnist puts Fergie on the spot

Darts columnist and Denton resident John Gwynne got the chance to get up close and personal with Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson in front of 300 guests at Old Trafford. The 63-year-old fo...

Read more

Darts: Jelle targets Taylor win

Premier League debutant Jelle Klaasen is eyeing a big upset win against Phil Taylor on the second night of action in Edinburgh on Thursday. Dutchman Klaasen played his first Premier League game in...

Read more