Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Clayton Clinches Pro Tour 12

Clayton Clinches Pro Tour 12

Jonny Clayton claimed his first Players Championship title since 2021 after beating Josh Rock 8-5 in the Final of Pro Tour Event 12. The Ferret put in a good performance in Leicester as he prepares to head to the O2 Arena on Thursday night for Premier League Finals night, taking on compatriot Gerwyn Price in the Semi Finals.

Jonny started his afternoon with a whitewash victory over Karel Sedlacek, averaging nearly 110 in a 6-0 win over the Czech Republic international.

The former Grand Prix winner clinched a 6-5 victory over Winmau Team 360-star Julian van der Velde in the Second Round, with the youngster into his first year as a tour card holder.

Clayton went on to beat Belgium World Cup player Kim Huybrechts 6-1 in the Third Round before producing his second ton plus average of the day, claiming a 6-4 win over German youngster Pascal Rupprecht with a score off 107.40 in the Last 16.

The Welshman saw off Dutch Darts Championship winner Dave Chisnall 6-2 in the Quarter Finals before clinching a last leg decider in the Semi Finals against Damon Heta, winning 7-6 with an average off 103.45 to reach the Final.

Jonny would face a rematch of the recent Austrian Darts Open Final against Josh Rock in Leicester, with the Northern Irishman beating UK Open Champion Andrew Gilding 7-5 in the other Semi Final.

The Ferret found Double 8 with his second dart in hand to clinch an 8-5 win in the Final, getting on the board on the 2023 Pro Tour. Clayton came close last month after reaching the Semi Finals of Players Championship 9, losing to eventual winner Krzysztof Ratajski in Wigan.

Jonny will return to the oche this Thursday live on Sky Sports as the 2023 Premier League reaches its conclusion, facing table topper Gerwyn Price in the Semi Finals. It’s a repeat of the recent World Championship Final in the other match as Defending Champion Michael van Gerwen takes on World Champion Michael Smith at the O2 Arena.

By Harry Masterson

Players Championship 12: Results

Last 16:

Dave Chisnall 6-4 Dimitri van den Bergh

Jonny Clayton 6-4 Pascal Rupprecht

Damon Heta 6-4 Stephen Bunting

Chris Dobey 6-4 Rob Cross

Boris Krcmar 6-5 Scott Williams

Josh Rock 6-3 Michael van Gerwen

Andrew Gilding 6-4 Steve Lennon

Joe Cullen 6-3 Gerwyn Price

Quarter Finals:

Jonny Clayton 6-2 Dave Chisnall

Damon Heta 6-5 Chris Dobey

Josh Rock 6-5 Boris Krcmar

Andrew Gilding 6-3 Joe Cullen

Semi Finals:

Jonny Clayton 7-6 Damon Heta

Josh Rock 7-5 Andrew Gilding


Jonny Clayton 8-5 Josh Rock

By Harry Masterson

Images courtesy of PDC

Read more


Dimitri Van den Bergh signed off from this year’s Cazoo Premier League in style with victory on Night 16, as Jonny Clayton claimed Play-Off qualification on a dramatic night in Aberdeen. Van den Be...

Read more

London's Calling for Premier League Finals Night!

After 16 weeks of intense league phase action, Finals Night is upon us for the 2023 Premier League Darts, with 4 of darts’ biggest names all hunting down the £275,000 winners share. Jonny Clayton, ...

Read more