Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Anderson Powers To Barnsley Win

Anderson Powers To Barnsley Win

GARY ANDERSON won his second PDC ProTour event of 2010 with a 6-1 victory over Mark Walsh on Saturday in Barnsley.

The Scot followed up March^s UK Open Qualifier win with a fine display at the Barnsley Metrodome, backing up a run to the final of the Rileys Darts Zones UK Open last weekend to take the £6,000 title.

Anderson^s form was dominant from the start of the event, when he whitewashed Colin Monk and dropped only three legs in defeats of Jamie Atkins and Alan Tabern.

He then defeated Jamie Caven 6-2 in the last 16, dropped just one leg against Mervyn King in the quarter-finals before coming from behind to beat Justin Pipe 6-4 in the semis.

Anderson kicked off the final with a maximum in taking the opening leg in 13 darts, and finished 100 with two double tops for a 12-darter in taking the second leg.

He added another 180 in winning the third leg, and also won the next two for a 5-0 lead before Walsh finally got off the mark by winning the sixth.

Anderson, though, hit a third 180 of the final in leg seven, and double top for a 13-darter sealed the win.

Walsh had been bidding for his third PDC ProTour win of the year, with his run to the final including a comeback from 3-2 down to win 6-3 against world number three James Wade in the semis.

He also overcame Andy Hamilton - taking out a 137 finish of treble 19 and two double tops to seal victory - Denis Ovens, Tony Eccles and Steve Musson in reaching his fourth final of the year and a £3,000 prize.

Wade edged a high-quality quarter-final with Colin Lloyd to reach the last four, while Hamilton missed double 18 for a third nine-darter of 2010 in a victory over Dennis Priestley on his way to the last eight.

Pipe^s run to the semis was his best-ever run on the PDC ProTour, surpassing a quarter-final appearance he had in March, while Tony Ayres followed up last weekend^s semi-final appearance in the UK Open with a run to the last 16.

Jamie Caven won through to the last 16 with a 170 checkout in defeating Brendan Dolan 6-5, while Northern Ireland^s veteran star John MaGowan reached the last 32 in his first appearance since his wife Maggie passed away last month.

Players Championship 15
First Round
Mark Walsh (1) Bye
Steve Musson 6-4 Co Stompe
Tony Eccles (32) 6-1 Mareno Michels
Andy Callaby 6-4 Mark Hylton
Ronnie Baxter (16) 6-2 Geoff Whitworth
Gary Eastwood 6-3 Chris Mason
Denis Ovens (17) 6-5 Peter Hudson
Roland Scholten 6-2 Jimmy O^Regan
Andy Hamilton (8) 6-2 Steven Pearson
Tom Martin 6-1 Tommy McIntosh
Dennis Priestley (25) 6-3 Kevin Harris
Chris Thompson 6-3 Andy Pearce
Steve Beaton (9) 6-4 Martyn Bevan
Gary Welding 6-4 Mick McGowan
Terry Jenkins (24) 6-1 Steve Evans
Kirk Shepherd 6-1 Jim McKevitt
Colin Lloyd (5) 6-4 Dave Smith
Darren Johnson 6-2 Tony Randell
Mark Webster (28) 6-1 Gary Blades
Darren Weaver 6-2 Mark Tiller
Vincent van der Voort (12) 6-4 Darren Latham
Mark Cox 6-3 Nigel Heydon
Robert Thornton (21) 6-3 Harry Robinson
Andy Relf 6-2 Matt Draper
Adrian Gray 6-5 Adrian Lewis (4)
Jarkko Komula 6-3 Stephen Hardy
Peter W! right (29) 6-3 John Part
Arron Monk 6-3 Andy Hutchings
James Wade (13) 6-2 Steve Maish
Richie Burnett 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Mark Frost 6-2 Barrie Bates (20)
Sam Allen 6-4 Robbie Newland
Wes Newton (2) 6-2 Nigel Birch
Steve Grubb 6-4 Aodhagan O^Neill
Dennis Smith 6-4 Steve Hine (31)
Paul Rowley 6-3 Ian Lever
Andy Smith (15) 6-2 Gary Mawson
Steve Farmer 6-1 Lionel Sams
Mervyn King (18) 6-5 Louis Blundell
Kevin McDine 6-0 Tony Martin
Jamie Caven (7) 6-2 Matt Padgett
Martyn Turner 6-5 Par Riihonen
Brendan Dolan (26) 6-2 Ian Jopling
Ian White 6-0 Daz Mawer
Gary Anderson (10) 6-0 Colin Monk
Jamie Atkins 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Alan Tabern (23) 6-2 Wayne Atwood
Anthony Urmston-Toft 6-5 Ian McFarlane
Colin Osborne (6) 6-0 Paul Hodkin
Nick Fullwell 6-2 Peter Manley
Tony Ayres 6-2 Michael van Gerwen (27)
Dean Allsopp 6-3 Lee Hayes
Wayne Jones (11) 6-4 Matt Clark
William O^Connor 6-1 Stuart Bousfield
Kev! in Painter 6-5 Mark Lawrence
Chris Loudon 6-5 Joe Cullen Justin Pipe 6-3 Trevor Frost
Michael Smith 6-5 Steve Brown (30)
John MaGowan 6-3 Kevin Dowling
Paul Nicholson (14) 6-3 Dave Ladley
Dave Honey 6-5 Stuart Dutton
Mark Dudbridge (19) 6-5 Michael Barnard
Alex Roy 6-2 Anton Liscsey

Second Round
Mark Walsh 6-0 Steve Musson
Tony Eccles 6-1 Andy Callaby
Ronnie Baxter 6-1 Gary Eastwood
Denis Ovens 6-2 Roland Scholten
Andy Hamilton 6-1 Tom Martin
Dennis Priestley 6-1 Chris Thompson
Steve Beaton 6-2 Gary Welding
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Terry Jenkins
Colin Lloyd 6-2 Darren Johnson
Mark Webster 6-2 Darren Weaver
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Mark Cox
Robert Thornton 6-4 Andy Relf
Adrian Gray 6-3 Jarkko Komula
Peter Wright 6-2 Arron Monk
James Wade 6-4 Richie Burnett
Sam Allen 6-3 Mark Frost
Wes Newton 6-2 Steve Grubb
Dennis Smith 6-1 Paul Rowley
Andy Smith 6-1 Steve Farmer
Mervyn King 6-4 Kevin McDine
Jamie Caven 6-0 Martyn Turner
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Ian White
Gary Anderson 6-2 Jamie Atkins
Alan Tabern 6-0 Anthony Urmston-Toft
Colin Osborne 6-1 Nick Fullwell
Tony Ayres 6-4 Dean Allsopp
Wayne Jones 6-5 William O^Connor
Kevin Painter 6-3 Chris Loudon
Justin Pipe 6-5 Simon Whitlock John MaGowan 6-4 Michael Smith
Paul Nicholson 6-3 Dave Honey
Alex Roy 6-2 Mark Dudbridge
Losers £200

Third Round
Mark Walsh 6-4 Tony Eccles
Denis Ovens 6-3 Ronnie Baxter
Andy Hamilton 6-1 Dennis Priestley
Steve Beaton 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Colin Lloyd 6-3 Mark Webster
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Robert Thornton
Peter Wright 6-2 Adrian Gray
James Wade 6-3 Sam Allen
Wes Newton 6-0 Dennis Smith
Mervyn King 6-3 Andy Smith
Jamie Caven 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Gary Anderson 6-1 Alan Tabern
Tony Ayres 6-5 Colin Osborne
Wayne Jones 6-4 Kevin Painter
Justin Pipe 6-2 John MaGowan
Alex Roy 6-2 Paul Nicholson
Losers £300

Fourth Round
Mark Walsh 6-2 Denis Ovens
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Steve Beaton
Colin Lloyd 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
James Wade 6-4 Peter Wright
Mervyn King 6-0 Wes Newton
Gary Anderson 6-2 Jamie Caven
Wayne Jones 6-3 Tony Ayres
Justin Pipe 6-0 Alex Roy
Losers £500

Mark Walsh 6-1 Andy Hamilton
James Wade 6-5 Colin Lloyd
Gary Anderson 6-1 Mervyn King
Justin Pipe 6-4 Wayne Jones
Losers £1,000

Mark Walsh 6-3 James Wade
Gary Anderson 6-4 Justin Pipe
Losers £1,500

Gary Anderson 6-1 Mark Walsh
Winner £6,000
Runner-Up £3,000

Read more

Barnsley Players Championship, Saturday 12th June, 2010.

Barnsley Players Championship, Saturday 12th June, 2010. I travelled on the train to Mexborough with my son (Daniel) and met up with Darren Johnson for a practice at his house before going to the v...

Read more

The Road to Lakeside – Scotty the Dog

Had another good weekend with reaching the quarter final last 8 spot at the British International Open at Brean Sands at the weekend. I lost to Martin Adams 2 sets to 1 in last leg sudden death, b...

Read more