Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: 2023 Machineseeker European Championship preview

2023 Machineseeker European Championship preview
Red Dragon Darts

2023 Machineseeker European Championship preview

The 2023 Machineseeker European Championship begins on Thursday, as the top 32 players from the 2023 European Tour Order of Merit compete for the £120,000 top prize in Dortmund.

The tournament's 16th staging will see former champions Michael van Gerwen, Rob Cross, Peter Wright and James Wade in action during the four-day event, which takes place at the Westfalenhalle from October 26-29.

The first round will feature 16 matches across two sessions on Thursday and Friday, as Smith begins his defence of the title against Ricardo Pietreczko, who lifted his maiden ranking title at the recent German Darts Championship.

Newly crowned World Grand Prix champion Luke Humphries will also headline a star-studded line-up on Friday night, as the world number four sets his sights on back-to-back televised titles.

Second seed Humphries has been arguably the stand-out performer on the European Tour over the last two years, lifting five titles and featuring in a further five finals to continue his rise at the top level.

“This is a special tournament for me. This would be a lovely title to win,” reflected Humphries, who opens his challenge against the experienced Brendan Dolan.

“The European Tour has been a massive catalyst for my success and winning my first major title. It has given me the experience of winning on the big stage and it has definitely helped my development.

“I want to create a legacy. I want to build on my success at the World Grand Prix. I don’t want to bow out of my career with just one major title, so I need to push on now and work harder than ever.

“I will approach the game against Brendan the same as I would if I was playing Michael van Gerwen. I’ll be looking to dominate and impose myself on the game, and hopefully I will come out the winner.”

Four-time champion Van Gerwen will also kick off his campaign on Friday against Latvia’s Madars Razma, while 2018 winner James Wade meets Dirk van Duijvenbode – a two-time European Tour finalist in 2023.

Jonny Clayton and Jose de Sousa will collide in a repeat of the 2021 Premier League final, with September’s German Darts Open winner Krzysztof Ratajski up against Joe Cullen.

Australian number one Damon Heta will play Dutch debutant Gian van Veen in Friday’s curtain-raiser, while World Youth Champion Josh Rock faces Daryl Gurney in an all-Northern Irish affair.

There will be five PDC World Champions in action on Thursday, as current World Champion Michael Smith meets Raymond van Barneveld, making his first appearance at this event since 2015.

Gerwyn Price – a winner of two European Tour titles in 2023 – faces Irish youngster Keane Barry, while 2020 European Champion Wright plays German number one Gabriel Clemens.

Two-time champion Cross locks horns with Belgium’s Dimitri Van den Bergh in another stellar showdown, as World Matchplay champion Nathan Aspinall takes on Ryan Searle.

Elsewhere, German number two Martin Schindler meets a resurgent Stephen Bunting, with Danny Noppert and Andrew Gilding going head-to-head in a battle of the most recent UK Open champions.

Saturday October 28 will see the second round take place across two sessions, with the quarter-finals taking place on Sunday afternoon, ahead of the decisive semi-finals and final on Sunday evening.

The Machineseeker European Championship will be broadcast live on ITV in the UK, through the PDC's worldwide broadcast partners including DAZN and Viaplay, and on PDCTV (excluding subscribers based in the UK, Germany, Austria & Switzerland).


Schedule of Play

Thursday October 26 (1845-2300 CEST, 1745-2200 BST)

First Round x8

Danny Noppert v Andrew Gilding

Nathan Aspinall v Ryan Searle

Dave Chisnall v Chris Dobey

Rob Cross v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Gerwyn Price v Keane Barry

Peter Wright v Gabriel Clemens

Michael Smith v Raymond van Barneveld

Martin Schindler v Stephen Bunting


Friday October 27 (1845-2300 CEST, 1745-2200 BST)

First Round x8

Damon Heta v Gian van Veen

Krzysztof Ratajski v Joe Cullen

Josh Rock v Daryl Gurney

Jonny Clayton v Jose De Sousa

Dirk van Duijvenbode v James Wade

Luke Humphries v Brendan Dolan

Michael van Gerwen v Madars Razma

Ricardo Pietreczko v Ross Smith


Saturday October 28

Afternoon Session (1300-1700 CEST, 1200-1600 BST)

Second Round x4


Evening Session (1900-2300 CEST, 1800-2200 BST)

Second Round x4


Sunday October 29

Afternoon Session (1300-1700 CET, 1200-1600 GMT)



Evening Session (1900-2300 CET, 1800-2200 GMT)



Read more

Alan Towe's- The Line 24.10.23
Alan Towe

Alan Towe's- The Line 24.10.23

Game number two in the Cosmo Darts Premier Division of the UKDA National League saw Lancashire hold on to their number one spot and increase their lead from five to twelve points as they added thei...

Read more
Alan Towe


Darts News – A West Midlands Round Up Just one fixture remains outstanding in the Kings Norton League and the result of that will decide who will become champions for the season. Currently ten of t...

Read more