Skip to content


Your cart is empty



MARK WALSH took a 6-2 victory over Mervyn King to win Group Four of Championship League Darts.

The £200,000, internet-streamed tournament resumed following the World Grand Prix with the fourth of eight groups, with Walsh emerging victorious to secure his spot in next Thursday^s big-money Winners Group.

Walsh finished the round-robin league phase as one of four players with three victories, but showed his stamina to defeat Australian Simon Whitlock and English star Mervyn King in the play-offs.

He first defeated Whitlock 6-2 to book his place in the final, before seeing off King by the same scoreline to win through to the Winners Group for the third time in four years.

King shared the first two legs but paid for missed doubles as Walsh established a 3-1 lead.

King took the fifth following a 180, but missed the bull for a 121 finish which would have levelled the game, as Walsh capitalised on double four before winning the next two legs to seal victory.

"I^m very happy with that," said Walsh. "The aim for all of us is to get into the Winners Group and now I^ve done that I^ll prepare for next Thursday .

"It was a really hard group so to win through it is a great moment. I could have found myself eliminated if one or two results had been different, but fortunately I made the top four and did well from there."

Whitlock and Colin Lloyd had finished joint top of the table with five wins from their seven league games, but both were defeated in the semis, with King seeing off the Essex ace 6-2 in their clash.

There was drama in the final round of matches, with Ronnie Baxter^s 6-4 win over Mark Walsh not enough to save him from elimination when Vincent van der Voort and Jamie Caven picked up heavy wins to overhaul him on leg difference.

Baxter and Wayne Jones, who won two of his seven league games, now exit the event for 2011, with Andy Smith, Colin Osborne and Kevin Painter entering the fray for Wednesday^s Group Five.

They will join Whitlock, King, Lloyd, Caven and van der Voort in the eight-player Group Five.

Championship League Darts is screened solely on the internet through LIVEPDC.TV and a series of 30 bookmakers^ websites worldwide, and offers a potential total prize fund of over £200,000, plus places in the Grand Slam of Darts for the eventual finalists.


Played over nine days from September 27-29, October 11-13 and October 18-20, the event offers £50 per leg won prize money in the league phase and £100 per leg won in each group^s Play-Offs, with prize money doubled in the Winners Group.




Board One                                                    Board Two

Simon Whitlock 6-4 Mervyn King                  Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Jamie Caven

Colin Lloyd 3-6 Ronnie Baxter                      Wayne Jones 1-6 Mark Walsh

Jamie Caven 3-6 Simon Whitlock                  Mervyn King 6-3 Vincent van der Voort

Mark Walsh 5-6 Colin Lloyd                           Ronnie Baxter 5-6 Wayne Jones

Jamie Caven 6-3 Wayne Jones                    Simon Whitlock 6-1 Ronnie Baxter

Mark Walsh 4-6 Vincent van der Voort         Mervyn King 6-2 Colin Lloyd

Wayne Jones 5-6 Simon Whitlock                Jamie Caven 6-4 Ronnie Baxter

Mervyn King 0-6 Mark Walsh                       Vincent van der Voort 2-6 Colin Lloyd

Vincent van der Voort 2-6 Wayne Jones     Colin Lloyd 6-5 Simon Whitlock

Ronnie Baxter 2-6 Mervyn King                    Mark Walsh 6-2 Jamie Caven

Colin Lloyd 6-3 Jamie Caven                         Mervyn King 6-1 Wayne Jones

Ronnie Baxter 6-4 Vincent van der Voort     Simon Whitlock 6-2 Mark Walsh

Mark Walsh 4-6 Ronnie Baxter                     Wayne Jones 4-6 Colin Lloyd

Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Simon Whitlock    Jamie Caven 6-1 Mervyn King


Simon Whitlock 2-6 Mark Walsh                    Colin Lloyd 2-6 Mervyn King


Mark Walsh 6-2 Mervyn King 


                                   Pl  W  L  Won  Lost  Leg +/-  £Won   Pts   £Total

Simon Whitlock           7   5  2   37     27    +10        £1850   10    £2050

Colin Lloyd                  7   5  2   35    31     +4         £1750   10     £1950

Mervyn King               7   4  3   29    26     +3         £1450    8      £2250

Mark Walsh                7   3  4   33    27     +6         £1650    6      £2850

Jamie Caven              7   3  4   29    32     -3          £1450    6             

Vincent v d Voort       7   3  4   29    33     -4          £1450    6             

Ronnie Baxter           7   3  4   30    35      -5          £1500    6             

Wayne Jones           7   2  5   26     37     -11         £1300    4             

Read more

Darts Results

England Classic results. Played 30/09/2011. Stephen Bunting defeated Jamie Robinson to win the final. Supplied by Darts Database

Read more

Winmau 2012 Collection

Winmau’s 2012 darts collection was launched on September 19 and it is another market leading offering from the premium darts equipment manufacturer. The response to Winmau’s 2011 collection was in...

Read more