Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Wales Open World Cup of Darts Defence Against Finland

Wales Open World Cup of Darts Defence Against Finland

Reigning World Cup of Darts Champions Wales are set to begin their title defence against Finland, as the two-player team competition returns over 9-12 September.

Welsh pairing World Champion Gerwyn Price and Premier League winner Jonny Clayton, meet Finland's Marko Kantele and Veijo Viinikka in Thursday's opening first round games.

Scotland will see a new partnership of World Matchplay Champion Peter Wright and John Henderson team up this year, and the 2019 champions will play Chinese debutants Jianfeng Lu and Wenqing Liu.

England enter the tournament as top seeds, represented by James Wade and Dave Chisnall, and have been drawn to face Brazil’s Diogo Portela and Artur Valle in the first round.

Third seeds Netherlands, represented this year by Michael van Gerwen and debutant Dirk van Duijvenbode, begin their bid to win a fifth World Cup title against Denmark's Andreas Toft Jørgensen and Niels Heinsøe.

Former finalists Australia drew Italy, while Thursday's opening night will also see Singapore - including veteran star Paul Lim - meet Gibraltar, the Czech Republic play Poland, Hungary's tie with Lithuania and Sweden's clash with America, for whom Chuck Puleo partners Danny Lauby in the absence of Danny Baggish.

The first round will conclude on Friday, with top seeds England being represented by the new pairing of James Wade and Dave Chisnall as they take on Brazil's Diogo Portela and Artur Valle.

UK Open champion Wade will be making his first appearance since the inaugural World Cup in 2010, while Chisnall previously competed in 2017 and 2018.

Fourth seeds Belgium, for whom Dimitri Van den Bergh partners Kim Huybrechts, drew Croatia's Boris Brcmar and Pero Ljubic.

2019 runners-up Ireland will take on Portugal as Grand Slam of Darts champion Jose de Sousa makes his second World Cup appearance, while Northern Ireland take on Hong Kong.

Host nation Germany, for whom Gabriel Clemens and Max Hopp reached the 2020 semi-finals, drew Canada in a tasty tie as Jeff Smith and Matt Campbell renew a partnership which reached the quarter-finals last year.

Austria will play the Philippines, South Africa will face the new Spanish pairing of Jesus Noguera and Jose Justicia and Russia's Boris Koltsov and Evgenii Izotov take on Japan's Matsuda Jun and Yoshihisa Baba.

2019 quarter-finalists New Zealand will not be represented at the World Cup for the first time due to the ongoing difficulties with international travel which means Ben Robb and Warren Parry will be unable to compete in Jena.

Following the first round on Thursday and Friday, the second round will be split across two sessions on Saturday September 11.

Sunday's afternoon session will feature the quarter-finals, ahead of the semi-finals and final in the decisive evening session.

Tickets for the Cazoo World Cup of Darts can be purchased via PDC Europe.

The Cazoo World Cup of Darts will be broadcast through Sky Sports, RTL7, DAZN and worldwide broadcast partners, as well as through PDCTV for Rest of the World Subscribers (outside UK & Ireland) and

2021 Cazoo World Cup of Darts

September 9-12, Sparkassen Arena, Jena

Draw Bracket

(1) England v Brazil

Spain v South Africa

(8) Germany v Canada

Russia v Japan

(4) Belgium v Croatia

Austria v Philippines

(5) Northern Ireland v Hong Kong

Republic of Ireland v Portugal

(2) Wales v Finland

Hungary v Lithuania

(7) Australia v Italy

USA v Sweden

(3) Netherlands v Denmark

Gibraltar v Singapore

(6) Scotland v China

Czech Republic v Poland

Schedule of Play

Thursday September 9

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

8x First Round

Hungary v Lithuania

Czech Republic v Poland

Gibraltar v Singapore

USA v Sweden

Scotland v China

Netherlands v Denmark

Wales v Finland

Australia v Italy

Friday September 10

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

8x First Round

Russia v Japan

Spain v South Africa

Republic of Ireland v Portugal

Austria v Philippines

Northern Ireland v Hong Kong

Germany v Canada

England v Brazil

Belgium v Croatia

Saturday September 11

Afternoon Session (1400 local time, 1300 BST)

4x Second Round

Evening Session (2000 local time, 1900 BST)

4x Second Round

Sunday September 12

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)


Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Semi-Finals & Final

Competing Countries

The top eight countries are seeded for the draw, based on the lowest combined PDC Order of Merit ranking of the two competing players.

(1) England - James Wade & Dave Chisnall

(2) Wales - Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton

(3) Netherlands - Michael van Gerwen & Dirk van Duijvenbode

(4) Belgium - Dimitri Van den Bergh & Kim Huybrechts

(5) Northern Ireland - Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan

(6) Scotland - Peter Wright & John Henderson

(7) Australia - Simon Whitlock & Damon Heta

(8) Germany - Gabriel Clemens & Max Hopp

Austria - Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez

Brazil - Diogo Portela & Artur Valle

Canada - Jeff Smith & Matt Campbell

China - Jianfeng Lu & Wenqing Liu

Croatia - Boris Krcmar & Pero Ljubic

Czech Republic - Karel Sedlacek & Adam Gawlas

Denmark - Andreas Toft Jørgensen & Niels Heinsøe

Finland - Marko Kantele & Veijo Viinikka

Gibraltar - Sean Negrette & Justin Hewitt

Hong Kong - Kai Fan Leung & Man Lok Leung

Hungary - János Végső & Patrik Kovács

Italy - Danilo Vigato & Michele Turetta

Japan - Matsuda Jun & Yoshihisa Baba

Lithuania - Darius Labanauskas & Mindaugas Barauskas

Philippines - Lourence Ilagan & Christian Perez

Poland - Krzysztof Ratajski & Krzysztof Kciuk

Portugal - Jose de Sousa & Jose Marques

Republic of Ireland - William O’Connor & Steve Lennon

Russia - Boris Koltsov & Evgenii Izotov

Singapore - Paul Lim & Harith Lim

South Africa - Devon Petersen & Carl Gabriel

Spain - Jesus Noguera & Jose Justicia

Sweden - Daniel Larsson & Johan Engström

USA - Danny Lauby & Chuck Puleo

Read more

Alan Towe Salopian Super League - Week 4

Dawley Social Club had a bye in week four of the Salopian Super League, both Salopian Star (Market Drayton) and Charles Darwin ‘A‘ (Shrewsbury) capitalized on Dawley’s lack of action and moved two ...

Read more

Sensational Scotland Claim World Cup Glory

Scotland lifted the Cazoo World Cup of Darts trophy for the second time, after Peter Wright and John Henderson’s superb 3-1 final victory over Austria. The dynamic Scottish duo performed fantastica...

Read more