Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: The UK Open Preview - Red Dragon Darts

The UK Open Preview - Red Dragon Darts

The Unique and blissful UK Open offers opportunities to 158 featuring players to take home a part of the £450,000 prize pool with the winner taking home a mouth-watering £100,000.

In a busy 8 stage board set-up, the tournament is set up with 4 rounds, round 1 comprises of tour card holders ranked 97-126 along with players from the development tour and Riley’s qualifiers.
Round 1 winners join Round 2 players ranked 65-96. 32 winners will progress from Round 2 into Round 3 along with tour card holders ranked 33-64. The world’s best come into the event in the Round 4 this evening along with the winners from the previous round.

Winmau Team 360 players, Keelan Kay qualified for the event through the 2021 UK development tour last year and will play Matt Good in Round 1, and will match up with the German Lukas Wenig in Round 2 if successful.

Richie Burnett comes into the event 106th seed. ‘The Prince of Wales’ recently signed a new contract with Red Dragon and will be looking to use his new model darts to defeat Martinez and progress into Round 2.

2020 Challenge tour order of merit topper David ’Stretch’ Evans comes into Round 2 with his first game against the Irish youngster, Keane Barry.

2021 World Cup winner John Henderson looking for another big title to add to his CV. The Highlander will play James Wilson in Round 2 of the UK Open.

2019 PDC World youth Championship Semi-finalist, Ryan Meikle jumps straight in to Round 3 qualifying for the event in the 57th seed. ‘The Barber’ will play either Brooks, Rowby-John Rodriguez or Mathers depending on their match results.

Other Round 3 contestants start with Jason Lowe who gained his tour card for the first time in 2020 after a victory over the legend, Steve Beaton. Lowe is going into the event looking of his first major title and will play Klaasen, Rice, or Menzies. Following Lowe comes ‘Yozza’, Jamie Hughes. Previous Zuiderduin Masters winning will be looking to climb the order of merit with a Round 3 victory over Madars Razma.

The top 32 includes World Number 1 and 2, Gerwyn Price and Peter Wright, and they will be joined by 2021 4 titles winner Jonny Clayton. 2021 UK Open runner up, Luke Humphries also qualified for the event as 18th seed. All player will find out Friday evening who they drawn against.

Full Draw below (Copied from the PDC )

2022 Cazoo UK Open
Schedule of Play
Friday March 4
Afternoon Session (1145-1700 GMT live on ITV4, 1100 GMT start on Stages 2-8)
First, Second & Third Rounds

Bradley Brooks v Rowby-John Rodriguez (R1)
Jelle Klaasen v Mark Rice (R1)
David Evans v Keane Barry (R2)
Lewy Williams v Martin Schindler (R2)
Connor Scutt v Vandenbogaerde/Van Dongen (R2)
Wilson/Wilkinson v John Henderson (R2)
Florian Hempel v Good/Kay/Warner/Wenig (R3)
Raymond van Barneveld v William Borland (R3)
Adrian Lewis v Andersen/Clayson/Leung/Schmutzler (R3)

Stage Two
Kai Fan Leung v Fabian Schmutzler (R1)
Matt Campbell v Sebastian Bialecki (R1)
Mario Vandenbogaerde v Jules van Dongen (R1)
Danny Lauby v Niko Springer (R1)
Jon Worsley v Niels Zonneveld (R2)
John Michael v Danny Baggish (R2)
Evetts/Fullwell v Jack Main (R2)
Brooks/Rowby-John Rodriguez v Gordon Mathers (R2)
Madars Razma v Jamie Hughes (R3)
Kciuk/Claydon v Ross Smith (R3)
L Williams/Schindler v Jeff Smith (R3)
Kim Huybrechts v Peters/Marsh/De Vos (R3)

Stage Three
Ted Evetts v Nick Fullwell (R1)
Ryan Harrington v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (R1)
Richie Burnett v Tony Martinez (R1)
Darren Webster v Jose Justicia (R1)
Martin Thomas v Kenny Neyens (R1)
Berry van Peer v Kevin Doets (R2)
Burness/Hall v Andrew Gilding (R2)
Peter Hudson v O'Shea/Rafferty (R2)
J Williams/Murray v Van der Velde/Mansell (R2)
Max Hopp v Ritchie Edhouse (R3)
McDonald/Clark/Lukeman v Adam Hunt (R3)
Jason Lowe v Klaasen/Rice/Menzies (R3)
Andy Boulton v Hogan/Taylor/Lauby/Springer (R3)

Stage Four
George Killington v Reece Robinson (R1)
Dan Read v Diogo Portela (R1)
Josh Rock v Damian Mol (R1)
James Wilson v Shaun Wilkinson (R1)
Good/Kay v Warner/Wenig (R2)
Klaasen/Rice v Cameron Menzies (R2)
Burnett/Martinez v Harrington/Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (R2)
Jeffrey de Zwaan v Evans/Barry (R3)
Steve Beaton v Burness/Hall/Gilding (R3)
Hudson/O'Shea/Rafferty v Maik Kuivenhoven (R3)
Webster/Justicia/Lovely v Gawlas/Killington/Robinson (R3)
Jermaine Wattimena v Montgomery/Colley/Read/Portela (R3)

Stage Five
Matt Good v Keelan Kay (R1)
Jim Williams v Ryan Murray (R1)
John O'Shea v Nathan Rafferty (R1)
Jurjen van der Velde v Mickey Mansell (R1)
Geert Nentjes v Jake Jones (R2)
Plaisier/Szaganski v Scott Waites (R2)
Webster/Justicia v Eddie Lovely (R2)
Hogan/Taylor v Lauby/Springer (R2)
Keegan Brown v Campbell/Bialecki/Murnan (R3)
Steve West v Brown/Rock/Mol (R3)
Steve Lennon v Burnett/Martinez/Harrington/Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (R3)
Van Peer/Doets v Worsley/Zonneveld (R3)

Stage Six
Ricardo Pietreczko v Scott Taylor (R1)
Vladimir Andersen v Steve Clayson (R1)
Paul Hogan v Dom Taylor (R1)
Prakash Jiwa v Toni Alcinas (R1)
Krzysztof Kciuk v Brett Claydon (R2)
McDonald/Clark v Martin Lukeman (R2)
Scott Mitchell v Jansen/Meek (R2)
Peters/Marsh v Geert De Vos (R2)
Ron Meulenkamp v Michael/Baggish (R3)
Mitchell/Jansen/Meek v Ricky Evans (R3)
Darius Labanauskas v Wilson/Wilkinson/Henderson (R3)
J Williams/Murray/Van der Velde/Mansell v Alan Soutar (R3)

Stage Seven
Darren Beveridge v Jimmy Hendriks (R1)
Wesley Plaisier v Radek Szaganski (R1)
Ross Montgomery v Reece Colley (R1)
Danny Jansen v Liam Meek (R1)
Pietreczko/Taylor v Zoran Lerchbacher (R2)
Campbell/Bialecki v Joe Murnan (R2)
John Brown v Rock/Mol (R2)
Andersen/Clayson v Leung/Schmutzler (R2)
Ryan Joyce v Mike De Decker (R3)
Luke Woodhouse v Evetts/Fullwell/Main (R3)
Martijn Kleermaker v Jiwa/Alcinas/Heaver (R3)
Nentjes/Jones v Thomas/Neyens/Beveridge/Hendriks (R3)

Stage Eight
Adam Warner v Lukas Wenig (R1)
Shaun McDonald v Jamie Clark (R1)

Read more

International Darts Open Champion - Gerwyn Price

The Iceman Gerwyn Price defeated World Number 2 Peter ‘Snakebite’ Wright in the final of the International Open to remain as the World Number 1. The blockbuster final saw the top 2 in the World tak...

Read more

Birmingham Mail 09/03/2022 Presented by Alan Towe

Warwickshire’s seventh game in the UKDA National League’s Elite Premier Division saw them play away to divisional leaders Lancashire and lose by a very close 19-17 scoreline. The defeat sees Warwic...

Read more