Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: The Iceman Returns for Gibraltar Darts Trophy

The Iceman Returns for Gibraltar Darts Trophy

World No.1 Gerwyn Price returns to the European Tour at the Gibraltar Darts Trophy, after recovering from an elbow injury that forced the Iceman to withdraw during the Hungarian Darts Trophy last weekend.

Since then, Price has had treatment on the injury and will be looking to secure back-to-back European Tour titles, after winning the inaugural Hungarian Darts Trophy earlier this month.

The Gibraltar Darts trophy is the final European Tour event, before their back-to-back TV major events at the start of October - the World Grand Prix and the European Championships.

Gezzy enters the event as no.5 seed and will face the winner of Stephen Bunting and Florian Hempel in the second round on Saturday.

Peter Wright enters the tournament as number 3 seed, facing the either Callan Rydz or Justin Hewitt, whilst Jonny Clayton also enters as a seed and will play the winner of Justin Broton and Adam Smith-Neale.

In Friday's opening fixtures, Luke Humphries takes on Gabriel Clemens in arguably the tie of round 1. “Cool Hand“ Luke’s position on the Pro Tour order of merit will see him qualify for the World Grand Prix, with a good run this weekend being perfect prep for the former UK Open finalist.

The tournament will be streamed through PDCTV and bookmakers' websites worldwide. PDCTV subscription options will include Event Pass and Day Pass packages, as well as Annual and Monthly Subscriptions.

2021 Gibraltar Darts Trophy

Tournament Draw Bracket - Second Round Onwards

(6) Michael Smith v Wayne Jones/Simon Whitlock

(11) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Ryan Murray/Ted Evetts

(3) Peter Wright v Callan Rydz/Justin Hewitt

(14) Brendan Dolan v Mervyn King/Craig Galliano

(7) Jonny Clayton v Justin Broton/Adam Smith-Neale

(10) Krzysztof Ratajski v Ryan Searle/Martin Schindler

(2) Jose de Sousa v Dyson Parody/Kenny Neyens

(15) Mensur Suljovic v Boris Koltsov/Kim Huybrechts

(5) Gerwyn Price v Stephen Bunting/Florian Hempel

(12) Damon Heta v Adam Hunt/Geert Nentjes

(4) Michael van Gerwen v Patrik Kovacs/Rob Cross

(13) Danny Noppert v Andreas Harrysson/Keane Barry

(8) James Wade v John Henderson/Boris Krcmar

(9) Devon Petersen v Luke Humphries/Gabriel Clemens

(1) Joe Cullen v Martijn Kleermaker/Joe Murnan

(16) Nathan Aspinall v Ritchie Edhouse/Steve Beaton

Schedule of Play

Friday September 24

First Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Andreas Harrysson v Keane Barry

Martijn Kleermaker v Joe Murnan

Adam Hunt v Geert Nentjes

Host Nation Qualifier 1 v Adam Smith-Neale

Ryan Murray v Ted Evetts

Patrik Kovacs v Rob Cross

John Henderson v Boris Krcmar

Mervyn King v Host Nation Qualifier 3

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Stephen Bunting v Florian Hempel

Host Nation Qualifier 2 v Kenny Neyens

Ryan Searle v Martin Schindler

Wayne Jones v Simon Whitlock

Boris Koltsov v Kim Huybrechts

Callan Rydz v Host Nation Qualifier 4

Ritchie Edhouse v Steve Beaton

Luke Humphries v Gabriel Clemens

Saturday September 25

Second Round

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Dirk van Duijvenbode v Murray/Evetts

Brendan Dolan v King/Galliano

Danny Noppert v Harrysson/Barry

Damon Heta v Hunt/Nentjes

Mensur Suljovic v Koltsov/Huybrechts

Michael Smith v Jones/Whitlock

James Wade v Henderson/Krcmar

Krzysztof Ratajski v Searle/Schindler

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Jonny Clayton v Broton/Smith-Neale

Jose de Sousa v Parody/Neyens

Devon Petersen v Humphries/Clemens

Peter Wright v Rydz/Hewitt

Gerwyn Price v Bunting/Hempel

Michael van Gerwen v Kovacs/Cross

Joe Cullen v Kleermaker/Murnan

Nathan Aspinall v Edhouse/Beaton

Sunday September 26

Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)

Third Round

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)





All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.

Sunday's games played in Draw Bracket order

Prize Fund

Winner - £25,000

Runner-up - £10,000

Semi-Finalists - £6,500

Quarter-Finalists - £5,000

Last 16 - £3,000

Last 32 - £2,000

Last 48 - £1,000

Total - £140,000

Read more

A Look Back In Time - 1st August 2012

In this day and age when most darts leagues are struggling for survival the Ripley Elite Darts Singles League is doing very nicely thank you with in excess of fifty members in its two divisions. Th...

Read more

Alan Towe - Black Country v Gloucestershire & Gwent v West Midlands

Black Country v Gloucestershire Newcomers to the county scene Black Country began life in Division Three of the United Kingdom Darts Association’s League Three with a table topping 22-14 victory ov...

Read more