Skip to content


Your cart is empty



Phil Taylor claimed the Irish Players Championship with a 6-1 victory over Wes Newton at the Citywest Hotel.

The world number one picked up his 11th PDC Pro Tour win of the year with a top-class display in Sunday^s event, bouncing back from a semi-final loss 24 hours earlier to take the £6,000 cheque.

Taylor took 6-4 wins against Dennis Smith and Raymond van Barneveld in his first two matches, before whitewashing Andy Hamilton in the last 16 - exacting ruthless revenge for his defeat in Saturday^s Players Championship.

He then overcame Ronnie Baxter 6-2 and Alan Tabern 6-1 to book his spot in the final, where he powered past in-form Newton.

Taylor took the opening leg and then broke with a 12-darter to lead 2-0, only for Newton to his back in 12 darts to get off the mark.

Taylor landed two 180s in a leg for the second time in the match as an 11-darter put hi 3-1 up, before he took out double 16 and then double nine to move to the brink of victory.

Newton had his chance in the next, but a miss at double 16 allowed Taylor back in to take out 110 for the match.

Newton reached his second Players Championship final in two months with his run, which included narrow 6-5 wins against Dennis Priestley and Jamie Caven in the quarter-finals and semi-finals.

He also defeated both Terry Jenkins and Andy Jenkins on the day to claim the £3,000 runner-up prize.

Newton will meet Caven once again on Tuesday night in the opening round of the Skybet World Grand Prix at the Citywest Hotel IECC.

Caven^s run to the semis included a 6-5 win over Vincent van der Voort in the last eight, with the Dutchman allowing him to come from 5-1 down to claim victory.

Caven also whitewashed Steve Hine but fell short of a third PDC Pro Tour victory this year.

Alan Tabern battled through to the other semi-final, missing double 12 for a nine-darter during a 6-5 win over world number two James Wade at the last eight stage.

He also overcame fellow World Grand Prix qualifiers Mark Walsh and Denis Ovens in a high-quality day of darts.

Paul Nicholson came from 5-2 down to defeat Colin Lloyd in winning through to the last 16, but Saturday^s Players Championship winner Adrian Lewis was a second round victim to Yorkshireman Darren Johnson.

Irish Players Championship (Sunday)

First Round

Board One

Dennis Priestley (1) Bye

John MaGowan 6-0 Matt Jackson

Steve Maish (32) 6-5 Mark Stephenson

Kirk Shepherd 6-3 Tony Ayres

Board Two

Wayne Jones (16) Bye

Mark Webster 6-0 Nigel Birch

Steve Beaton (17) Bye

Chris Thompson 6-5 Toon Greebe

Board Three

Robert Thornton (8) Bye

James Barton 6-0 Dyson Parody

Andy Jenkins (25) Bye

John Part 6-4 Michael Barnard

Board Four

Terry Jenkins (9) Bye

Jonathan Overton 6-5 Davey Mansell

Wes Newton (24) Bye

Ian Eames 6-0 Jon Archer

Board Five

Adrian Lewis (5) Bye

Darren Johnson 6-5 Shane O^Connor

Alex Roy (28) 6-1 Gary Welding

Mark Lawrence 6-5 Dave Ladley

Board Six

Mervyn King (12) Bye

Steve Brown 6-3 Adrian Gray

Vincent van der Voort (21) Bye

Dave Honey 6-1 Tony Blundell

Board Seven

Colin Osborne (4) Bye

Steve Hine 6-3 Peter Wright

Peter Manley (29) 6-1 Mark Frost

Colin McGarry 6-0 Dave Ahmet

Board Eight

Jamie Caven (13) Bye

Wayne Atwood 6-4 Andy Relf

Andy Smith (20 ) Bye

Barrie Bates 6-3 Geoff Whitworth

Board Nine

Phil Taylor (2) Bye

Dennis Smith 6-4 Chris Loudon

Raymond van Barneveld (31) 6-2 John Quantock

Justin Pipe 6-3 Felix McBrearty

Board Ten

Andy Hamilton (15) Bye

Didier de Vuyst 6-3 Par Riihonen

Mark Dudbridge (18) Bye

Wayne Mardle 6-2 Ian McFarlane

Board 11

Colin Lloyd (7) Bye

Kevin McDine 6-1 Dylan Duo

Paul Nicholson (26) Bye

Colin Monk 6-5 Joe Cullen

Board 12

Ronnie Baxter (10) Bye

Brendan Dolan 6-2 Richie Burnett

Kevin Painter (23) Bye

Stephen Hardy 6-2 Gary Barnett

Board 13

James Wade (6) Bye

Jacko Barry 6-4 Chris Jackson

Jelle Klaasen (27) Bye

Louis Blundell 6-0 Kevin Hill

Board 14

Gary Anderson (11) Bye

Roland Scholten 6-0 Dave Ansell

Michael van Gerwen (22) Bye

Stuart Bousfield 6-5 Owen Caffrey

Board 15

Mark Walsh (3) Bye

Steve Grubb 6-3 Ray Farrell

Tony Eccles (30) 6-3 Mick McGowan

Nick Fullwell 6-2 Martyn Turner

Board 16

Alan Tabern (14) Bye

Ken Dobson 6-5 Andy Fordham

Denis Ovens (19) Bye

Matt Clark 6-0 Matt Gallett

Second Round

Dennis Priestley 6-3 John MaGowan

Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Steve Maish

Wayne Jones 6-3 Mark Webster

Steve Beaton 6-4 Chris Thompson

James Barton 6-5 Robert Thornton

Andy Jenkins 6-5 John Part

Terry Jenkins 6-1 Jonathan Overton

Wes Newton 6-2 Ian Eames

Darren Johnson 6-1 Adrian Lewis

Alex Roy 6-2 Mark Lawrence

Mervyn King 6-5 Steve Brown

Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Dave Honey

Steve Hine 6-5 Colin Osborne

Peter Manley 6-4 Colin McGarry

Jamie Caven 6-2 Wayne Atwood

Andy Smith 6-1 Barrie Bates

Phil Taylor 6-4 Dennis Smith

Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 Justin Pipe

Andy Hamilton 6-4 Didier de Vuyst

Wayne Mardle 6-4 Mark Dudbridge

Colin Lloyd 6-3 Kevin McDine

Paul Nicholson 6-1 Colin Monk

Ronnie Baxter 6-2 Brendan Dolan

Kevin Painter 6-5 Stephen Hardy

James Wade 6-4 Jacko Barry

Louis Blundell 6-5 Jelle Klaasen

Gary Anderson 6-3 Roland Scholten

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Stuart Bousfield

Mark Walsh 6-4 Steve Grubb

Tony Eccles 6-4 Nick Fullwell

Alan Tabern 6-1 Ken Dobson

Denis Ovens 6-3 Matt Clark

Losers £200

Third Round

Dennis Priestley 6-4 Kirk Shepherd

Steve Beaton 6-5 Wayne Jones

Andy Jenkins 6-2 James Barton

Wes Newton 6-5 Terry Jenkins

Alex Roy 6-5 Darren Johnson

Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Mervyn King

Steve Hine 6-4 Peter Manley

Jamie Caven 6-3 Andy Smith

Phil Taylor 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld

Andy Hamilton 6-4 Wayne Mardle

Paul Nicholson 6-5 Colin Lloyd

Ronnie Baxter 6-1 Kevin Painter

James Wade 6-3 Louis Blundell

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Gary Anderson

Mark Walsh 6-5 Tony Eccles

Alan Tabern 6-5 Denis Ovens

Losers £300

Fourth Round

Dennis Priestley 6-2 Steve Beaton

Wes Newton 6-3 Andy Jenkins

Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Alex Roy

Jamie Caven 6-0 Steve Hine

Phil Taylor 6-0 Andy Hamilton

Ronnie Baxter 6-2 Paul Nicholson

James Wade 6-5 Michael van Gerwen

Alan Tabern 6-2 Mark Walsh

Losers £400


Wes Newton 6-5 Dennis Priestley

Jamie Caven 6-5 Vincent van der Voort

Phil Taylor 6-2 Ronnie Baxter

Alan Tabern 6-5 James Wade

Losers £800


Wes Newton 6-5 Jamie Caven

Phil Taylor 6-1 Alan Tabern

Losers £1,500


Phil Taylor 6-1 Wes Newton

Winner £6,000

Runner-Up £3,000

Read more

Darts Results

  PDPA Players Championship Ireland 1 results. Played 03/10/2009.Adrian Lewis defeated Andy Hamilton to win the final.Supplied by Darts Database

Read more


Adrian Lewis came from 4-1 down to defeat Andy Hamilton in the final of Saturday^s Irish Players Championship at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin. Lewis followed up last month^s Austrian Open victory ...

Read more