Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Gezzy and Peter Both Push MvG to Nail-biting Last Leg Deciders

Gezzy and Peter Both Push MvG to Nail-biting Last Leg Deciders

Peter Wright and Gerwyn Price both pushed World no.1 Michael van Gerwen to the peak of his powers, during a blockbuster tournament at the Champions League of Darts last night. Both men ran the Green Machine within a leg of victory, in arguably two of the best stage televised matches in 2019 so far. Peter narrowly missed three match darts to take the Paddy Power Champions League of Darts crown. The Scottish ace was leading MVG 10-7 in the Champions League final in Leicester on Sunday night. Snakebite created so many big chances to end Van Gerwen’ s hold, but the Dutchman roared back every time to snatch an unlikely win and the £100,000 cheque. Michael said: “With all respect I thought it was over, so when he gave me another chance I thought that was a moment for me to step in. It’s nice but these things happen in darts. I’m just glad I won this one. “I’ve never won this Champions League or a belt before so this was on my bucket list. “Peter is a phenomenal player and everyone knows that and I’m sure we are going to have a lot more finals together.” Wright admitted: “Michael won this one but I’ll get him back next time. Onto the next tournament for me. “ Price and MvG also went all the in their back and forth semi-final encounter, which saw the Welshman average 102.49 to Michael’s 105.54. Gezzy started the slower out the traps before levelling at 8-8 and then moving into 10-9 lead on D20. MvG then rattled in a 13 and 14 dart leg to snatch his place in the final. "I'm gutted that I lost but I pushed Michael all the way," said Price, the reigning Grand Slam of Darts champion. "I thought I played pretty well but he showed why he's World Champion because he never gave up. "I was confident coming into it and I just need the rub of the green now." 2019 Paddy Power Champions League of Darts Sunday October 20 Afternoon Session Peter Wright 10-8 Rob Cross (Group B) Gerwyn Price 10-6 Daryl Gurney (Group B) Michael van Gerwen 10-4 Gary Anderson (Group A) Michael Smith 10-8 James Wade (Group A) Evening Session Semi-Finals Peter Wright 11-5 Michael Smith Michael van Gerwen 11-10 Gerwyn Price Final Michael van Gerwen 11-10 Peter Wright

Read more

BDO Representatives confirmed for Grand Slam of Darts

Glen Durrant and Mikuru Suzuki will headline the eight BDO representatives at the 2019 Grand Slam of Darts next month, with five players set to make their Wolverhampton debuts. The BDO representat...

Read more

A West Midlands Round Up By Alan Towe

Congratulations go to Warwickshire County Darts players Marian Conway and Nina Bolt who this weekend playing away to Cornwall will respectively chalk up their 100th and 50th county appearances. Not...

Read more