Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: PDC Media Release - Lewis On Top Form In Germany

PDC Media Release - Lewis On Top Form In Germany


ADRIAN LEWIS claimed his first PDC ProTour win of 2010 with a 6-4 win over Mark Walsh in the final of Sunday^s German Darts Classic Players Championship.

The 25-year-old from Stoke picked up the £6,000 title in Gladbeck with a fine performance, coming from 4-3 down to take three successive legs in winning the final.

Lewis produced legs of 11 and 15 darts to lead 2-0 in the final - hitting a showpiece 96 finish of single 20, double 18 and double top in the second.

Walsh hit back to win the next three, including a 126 finish, in taking the lead, and also punished missed doubles from Lewis in leg seven to edge 4-3 up.

But Lewis took out a 14-darter to level, double four to break throw and then sealed victory with an 80 finish of two double tops in ensuring the title.

Earlier in the day, he had avenged Saturday^s defeat to Mark Dudbridge with a 6-2 win, and also overcame Mick McGowan, Maik Langendorf, Steve Hine and Robert Thornton to reach the semis.

He also found himself 4-3 down in the last four against Dolan, but included a 121 bullseye finish in winning the next three without reply in taking victory.

Walsh battled past Gary Anderson with a 6-3 semi-final win, having been taken to a deciding leg in the quarter-finals by Steve Brown.

Anderson^s run to the last four included whitewashes of the top two ranked players in the event, James Wade and Mervyn King, while Dolan^s display was his best for five months.

The Northern Irishman knocked out former Lakeside Champion Mark Webster in the last eight, as well as Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts star Ronnie Baxter on the day.

Saturday^s champion Vincent van der Voort was a last 32 loser to fellow Dutchman Co Stompe, but Wayne Jones - the runner-up 24 hours earlier - was a first round casualty to German Bernd Roith.

German Darts Classic Players Championship - Sunday (PC6)

Preliminary Round

Chris Thompson 6-1 Carlos Rodriguez

Alex Roy 6-2 Jan Waldau

Didier de Vuyst 6-5 Francois Schweyen

Per Laursen 6-4 Jason Clark

Richie Burnett 6-3 Swen Seifert

John Part 6-0 Barry Zander

Markus Hoffmann 6-2 Melina Drago

Peter Hudson 6-3 Steve Maish

Christian Braugner 6-5 Tomas Seyler

Ruben Tinnefeld 6-2 Vito Quintieri

Colin Rice 6-1 Marko Kobas

Arjan Moen 6-1 Andy Relf

Mark Hylton 6-1 Thorsten Piel

Guiseppe Quintiero 6-4 Andy Krockel

Sergio Pettarini 6-4 Jurgen Lechtken

Lars Erkelenz 6-5 Peter Waldaw

Colin Monk 6-0 Peter Josefiok

Kevin Munch 6-2 Par Riihonen

Stefan Ripkens 6-1 Jon Archer

Nick Fullwell 6-1 Didier Stas

Marko Balzer 6-1 Helmut Bergold

Dennis Smith 6-1 Dave Ladley

Tony Randell 6-3 Stefanie Luck

Darren Johnson 6-2 Andre Bauland

Carsten Becker 6-3 Markus Vormann

First Round

Mark Walsh (1) 6-3 Andy Callaby

Johnny Okken 6-3 Mareno Michels

Matt Clark (32) 6-1 Willem Kralt

Alex Roy 6-4 Chris Thompson

Paul Nicholson (16) 6-3 Tony Martin

Justin Pipe 6-2 Pierre Finck

Andy Smith (17) 6-4 Jyhan Artut

Didier de Vuyst 6-3 Michel Helder

Barrie Bates 6-1 Jamie Caven (8)

Vladimir Andersen 6-5 Anastasia Dobromyslova

Steve Brown (25) 6-3 Benito van de Pas

Per Laursen 6-5 Richie Burnett

Steve Beaton (9) 6-0 Christian Hengl

Stuart Bousfield 6-2 Romano Ruggeri

Peter Wright (24) 6-1 Antonio Alcinas

John Part 6-0 Markus Hoffmann

James Wade (5) 6-4 Steve Evans

Michael Rosenauer 6-2 Olaf Tupuschis

Peter Manley (28) 6-0 Jann Hoffmann

Peter Hudson 6-0 Christian Braugner

Vincent van der Voort (12) 6-1 Toon Greebe

Darren Webster 6-0 Henry Zapata

Co Stompe (21) 6-5 Karsten Koch

Michael Kloenhammer 6-3 Ruben Tinnefeld

Gary Anderson (4) 6-3 Dylan Duo

Nigel Heydon 6-1 Irina Armstrong

Tony Eccles (29) 6-3 Bryan de Hoog

Colin Rice 6-3 Arjan Moen

Mervyn King (13) 6-0 Marko Kantele

Adrian Gray 6-1 Zeki Tatli

Kevin Painter (20) 6-0 Rudiger Lohse

Mark Hylton 6-3 Arron Monk

Colin Osborne (2) 6-3 Christian van Overdijk

Hannes Schnier 6-2 Sascha Jabs

Mark Webster (31) 6-1 Steve Grubb

Sergio Pettarini 6-1 Guiseppe Quintiero

Joe Cullen 6-1 Michael van Gerwen (15)

Dave Askew 6-2 Soren Hedergaard

Alan Tabern (18) 6-0 Frank Liebeton

Sebastian Pecjak 6-1 Lars Erkelenz

Bernd Roith 6-5 Wayne Jones (7)

Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Guido Kadow

Jelle Klaasen (26) 6-2 Mensur Suljovic

Kevin Munch 6-4 Colin Monk

Ronnie Baxter (10) 6-2 Marko Puls

John Quantock 6-1 Wayne Mardle

Brendan Dolan (23) 6-0 Jorn Lossau

Stefan Ripkens Bye (Peter Martin disqualified)

Wes Newton (6) 6-1 Hendrik Schug

Tobias Walprecht 6-2 Michael Peters

Steve Hine (27) 6-2 John Michael

Nick Fullwell 6-4 Marko Balzer

Adrian Lewis (11) 6-2 Mick McGowan

Maik Langendorf 6-2 Andries Sterk

Mark Dudbridge (22) 6-4 Tony Ayres

Dennis Smith 6-3 Ian McFarlane

Colin Lloyd (3) 6-2 Dave Honey

Wim Mink 6-4 Hermie van Orsouw

Andree Welge 6-3 Kevin McDine (30)

Tony Randell 6-3 Darren Johnson

Rocco Maes 6-2 Andy Hamilton (14)

Nils Heinsoe 6-0 Michael Schmidt

Robert Thornton (19) 6-1 Mario Masurka

Chris Loudon 6-3 Carsten Becker

Second Round

Mark Walsh 6-3 Johnny Okken

Matt Clark 6-2 Alex Roy

Paul Nicholson 6-3 Justin Pipe

Andy Smith 6-1 Didier de Vuyst

Barrie Bates 6-3 Vladimir Andersen

Steve Brown 6-2 Per Laursen

Steve Beaton 6-1 Stuart Bousfield

John Part 6-2 Peter Wright

James Wade 6-2 Michael Rosenauer

Peter Manley 6-5 Peter Hudson

Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Darren Webster

Co Stompe 6-5 Michael Kloenhammer

Gary Anderson 6-0 Nigel Heydon

Tony Eccles 6-0 Colin Rice

Mervyn King 6-2 Adrian Gray

Kevin Painter 6-4 Mark Hylton

Colin Osborne 6-1 Hannes Schnier

Mark Webster 6-2 Sergio Pettarini

Joe Cullen 6-1 Dave Askew

Alan Tabern 6-5 Sebastian Pecjak

Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Bernd Roith

Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Kevin Munch

Ronnie Baxter 6-2 John Quantock

Brendan Dolan 6-2 Stefan Ripkens

Wes Newton 6-0 Tobias Walprecht

Steve Hine 6-5 Nick Fullwell

Adrian Lewis 6-3 Maik Langendorf

Mark Dudbridge 6-2 Dennis Smith

Colin Lloyd 6-2 Wim Mink

Andree Welge 6-3 Tony Randell

Nils Heinsoe 6-3 Rocco Maes

Robert Thornton 6-2 Chris Loudon

Losers £200

Third Round

Mark Walsh 6-4 Matt Clark

Andy Smith 6-4 Paul Nicholson

Steve Brown 6-5 Barrie Bates

Steve Beaton 6-5 John Part

James Wade 6-3 Peter Manley

Co Stompe 6-2 Vincent van der Voort

Gary Anderson 6-3 Tony Eccles

Mervyn King 6-2 Kevin Painter

Mark Webster 6-5 Colin Osborne

Alan Tabern 6-4 Joe Cullen

Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Jelle Klaasen

Brendan Dolan 6-5 Ronnie Baxter

Steve Hine 6-3 Wes Newton

Adrian Lewis 6-2 Mark Dudbridge

Andree Welge 6-4 Colin Lloyd

Robert Thornton 6-4 Nils Heinsoe

Losers £300

Fourth Round

Mark Walsh 6-0 Andy Smith

Steve Brown 6-4 Steve Beaton

James Wade 6-4 Co Stompe

Gary Anderson 6-0 Mervyn King

Mark Webster 6-5 Alan Tabern

Brendan Dolan 6-1 Kirk Shepherd

Adrian Lewis 6-4 Steve Hine

Robert Thornton 6-1 Andree Welge

Losers £500


Mark Walsh 6-5 Steve Brown

Gary Anderson 6-0 James Wade

Brendan Dolan 6-3 Mark Webster

Adrian Lewis 6-5 Robert Thornton

Losers £1,000


Mark Walsh 6-3 Gary Anderson

Adrian Lewis 6-4 Brendan Dolan

Losers £1,500


Adrian Lewis 6-4 Mark Walsh

Winner £6,000

Runner-Up £3,000

Read more

Double 16 Event calendars Toolbar

Hello folks! Time for a little more Double16 innovation... We love our competitions and so I set up the event calendar to keep people informed of what is happening over the coming weeks and months....

Read more

Dave Ladley’s PDC Diary from the Tour

Saturday 6th March 2010, Players Championship - GermanyI met up with the "Ladders Overseas fan-club" who had matching shirts on with those words written across them! Great guys who are all in the ...

Read more