Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: - Draw - Draw

WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS legend Steve Bull pitted World Champions John Part and Anastasia Dobromyslova together as he performed the draw for the 2008 Grand Slam of Darts.

PDC World Champion Part and Women’s World Champion Dobromyslova were drawn alongside Wayne Mardle and 2007 Grand Slam semi-finalist Kevin McDine in Group D for this year^s £356,000 tournament, which begins on Saturday November 15 at the Wolverhampton Civic.

BDO World Champion Mark Webster takes on former World Masters winners Mervyn King and Michael van Gerwen and ITV Wildcard Qualifier Colin McGarry in Group C.

Reigning champion Phil Taylor, who will again be chasing the £100,000 winner’s cheque, drew Holland^s Vincent van der Voort, Andy Jenkins and former Lakeside finalist Phill Nixon.

Three of the top young players to emerge in darts in recent years, James Wade, Adrian Lewis and Holland^s Niels de Ruiter, clash in Group G, while last year^s Grand Slam of Darts runner-up Andy Hamilton has drawn Australia^s Simon Whitlock, Alan Tabern and Brian Woods.

Kirk Shepherd, who came from nowhere to reach the PDC World Championship final in January, meets five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld, reigning World Masters champion Robert Thornton and UK Open runner-up Gary Mawson.

Wes Newton, who won the ITV Wildcard Qualifier last month, was drawn with number seven seed Terry Jenkins, Colin Lloyd and Darin Young.

* Tickets for the Pro-Celebrity Challenge on Friday November 14 and the Grand Slam of Darts from November 15-23 at the Wolverhampton Civic are still available on 0870 320 7000 or via

First Round – Group Stage Draw


Phil Taylor (1)

Vincent van der Voort

Andy Jenkins

Phill Nixon


Andy Hamilton (8)

Alan Tabern

Simon Whitlock

Brian Woods


Mark Webster (4)

Mervyn King

Michael van Gerwen

Colin McGarry


John Part (5)

Wayne Mardle

Kevin McDine

Anastasia Dobromyslova


Raymond van Barneveld (2)

Robert Thornton

Gary Mawson

Kirk Shepherd


Terry Jenkins (7)

Colin Lloyd

Wes Newton

Darin Young


James Wade (3)

Adrian Lewis

Denis Ovens

Niels de Ruiter


Gary Anderson (6)

Kevin Painter

Darryl Fitton

Paul Nicholson

Read more

Anderson is top seed for Lakeside

Scotland^s Gary Anderson has been named top seed for the 2009 British Darts Organisation World Championship. Defending champion Mark Webster is second seed for the event, which takes place at its...

Read more

Wham Bam slam the Mam

I’M on top of the world this week — or Europe at least — after winning the first European Championship. It was a really hard four days in Frankfurt and the tournament will go down ...

Read more