Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Osborne gets his third PDC Pro Tour victory

Osborne gets his third PDC Pro Tour victory

COLIN OSBORNE picked up his first Players Championship win of 2009 with a 6-2 defeat of Gary Anderson at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Osborne followed up his run to the final of last week^s Blue Square UK Open and a semi-final appearance in Saturday^s Players Championship by going all the way to the £6,000 title.

Early victories over Brendan Dolan, Kirk Shepherd, Andy Smith and Martyn Turner were followed by a 6-3 quarter-final defeat of Robert Thornton to put him into a second successive semi.

He then saw off Paul Nicholson 6-2 to reach the final, twice setting up potential nine-darters with back-to-back 180s in storming through.

The final saw him similarly dominant, with a break of throw in leg four putting him 3-1 up before he landed a second maximum of the final to lead 4-1.

A two-dart 64 finish kept Anderson in the contest, but successive 65 checkouts from Osborne ensured his third PDC Pro Tour victory.

Anderson^s progression to the final included wins over Anastasia Dobromyslova, Jan van der Rassel, Andy Jenkins, Alan Tabern and Steve Beaton before he defeated Wayne Mardle 6-4 in the semis.

The run was also his fourth to a Players Championship final since joining the PDC earlier this year.

Mardle^s display was his best of 2009, and featured narrow 6-5 wins in his first three games and victories over Vincent van der Voort and Mervyn King.

Nicholson^s semi-final run was his best performance since reaching the quarter-finals at the World Darts Championship.

However, he would still need to reach at least one more semi-final in the remaining three Players Championships before the 16 qualifiers for the World Matchplay are decided at the end of the month.

Two further Players Championships will be held in Dinslaken next weekend, before the PDC Pro Tour heads to America for the Las Vegas Players Championship ahead of the Las Vegas Desert Classic.

Players Championship (Barnsley)

First Round

Board One

Mark Walsh (1) Bye

Geoff Whitworth 6-1 Mark Stephenson

Wayne Mardle (32) 6-5 Kevin Dowling

Mark Lawrence 6-4 Steve Cupitt

Board Two

Adrian Lewis (16) 6-3 Steve Brown

Dylan Duo 6-5 Dyson Parody

Vincent van der Voort (17) 6-5 Nick Fullwell

Chris Thompson 6-2 Steve Perkins

Board Three

Colin Lloyd (8) 6-1 Jim Leighton

Stuart Bousfield 6-2 Roland Scholten

Jelle Klaasen (25) 6-4 Joe Cullen

Mark Frost 6-3 Lee Holden

Board Four

Mervyn King (9) 6-2 Chris Loudon

Darren Latham 6-3 John Part

Steve Maish (24) 6-4 Geoff Wylie

Lionel Sams 6-0 Dave Smith

Board Five

Alan Tabern (5) 6-4 Richard Foster

Mark Webster 6-1 Paul Gudgeon

Wes Newton (28) 6-0 Norman Fletcher

Kevin McDine 6-0 Andy Fulton

Board Six

Gary Anderson (12) 6-1 Anastasia Dobromyslova

Jan van der Rassel 6-5 Stuart Dutton

Andy Jenkins (21) 6-5 Chris Cooper

Dave Honey 6-3 Russell Mason

Board Seven

Ronnie Baxter (4) 6-0 John Quantock

Colin Monk 6-1 Ray Farrell - Nine-dart finish from Colin Monk

Toon Greebe 6-5 Co Stompe (29)

Richie Burnett 6-0 Paul Hodkin

Board Eight

Michael van Gerwen (13) 6-0 Steve Watts

Peter Wright 6-3 Alex Tinsley

Steve Beaton (20) 6-1 Rick Lowther

Arron Monk 6-5 Gary Welding

Board Nine

Dennis Priestley (2) Bye

Justin Pipe 6-3 Adrian Gray

Barrie Bates (31) 6-3 Mark Jodrill

Par Riihonen 6-4 Gary Blades

Board Ten

Mark Dudbridge (15) 6-2 Ian Jopling

Paul Nicholson 6-2 Gary Mawson

Nigel Birch 6-5 Jamie Caven (18)

John MaGowan 6-1 Stephen Hardy

Board 11

Terry Jenkins (7) 6-3 Jonathan Overton

Lee Williams 6-3 Stuart Holden

Mark Cox 6-5 Peter Manley (26)

Michael Barnard 6-4 Tony Ayres

Board 12

Denis Ovens (10) 6-0 Andy Pearson

Jon Archer 6-0 Mike Roberts

Tony Eccles (23) 6-1 Mick McGowan

Michael Smith 6-2 Robbie Parker

Board 13

Colin Osborne (6) 6-3 Brendan Dolan

Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Steve Hine

Andy Smith (27) 6-1 Matt Gallett

James Barton 6-3 Jason Clark

Board 14

Martyn Turner 6-4 Andy Hamilton (11)

Kevin Harris 6-4 Pete Allen

Alex Roy (22) 6-1 Ian Lever

Sean White 6-3 Chris Mason

Board 15

Robert Thornton (3) 6-0 Simon Craven

Louis Blundell 6-1 Dennis Smith

Darren Johnson 6-1 Matt Clark (30)

Dave Ladley 6-1 Kevin Hill

Board 16

Kevin Painter (14) 6-4 Steve Evans

Steve Grubb 6-4 Andy Relf

Wayne Jones (19) 6-2 Ken Dobson

Les Fitton 6-1 Ian McFarlane

Second Round

Mark Walsh 6-2 Geoff Whitworth

Wayne Mardle 6-5 Mark Lawrence

Adrian Lewis 6-1 Dylan Duo

Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Chris Thompson

Colin Lloyd 6-2 Stuart Bousfield

Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Mark Frost

Mervyn King 6-2 Darren Latham

Lionel Sams 6-5 Steve Maish

Alan Tabern 6-3 Mark Webster

Kevin McDine 6-5 Wes Newton

Gary Anderson 6-3 Jan van der Rassel

Andy Jenkins 6-3 Dave Honey

Ronnie Baxter 6-4 Colin Monk

Toon Greebe 6-2 Richie Burnett

Peter Wright 6-4 Michael van Gerwen

Steve Beaton 6-1 Arron Monk

Justin Pipe 6-1 Dennis Priestley

Par Riihonen 6-3 Barrie Bates

Paul Nicholson 6-4 Mark Dudbridge

John MaGowan 6-1 Nigel Birch

Terry Jenkins 6-0 Lee Williams

Michael Barnard 6-2 Mark Cox

Denis Ovens 6-2 Jon Archer

Michael Smith 6-5 Tony Eccles

Colin Osborne 6-4 Kirk Shepherd

Andy Smith 6-2 James Barton

Martyn Turner 6-3 Kevin Harris

Alex Roy 6-1 Sean White

Robert Thornton 6-2 Louis Blundell

Dave Ladley 6-4 Darren Johnson

Steve Grubb 6-4 Kevin Painter

Wayne Jones 6-2 Les Fitton

Losers £200

Third Round

Wayne Mardle 6-5 Mark Walsh

Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Adrian Lewis

Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Colin Lloyd

Mervyn King 6-0 Lionel Sams

Alan Tabern 6-2 Kevin McDine

Gary Anderson 6-2 Andy Jenkins

Toon Greebe 6-5 Ronnie Baxter

Steve Beaton 6-1 Peter Wright

Justin Pipe 6-2 Par Riihonen

Paul Nicholson 6-2 John MaGowan

Michael Barnard 6-5 Terry Jenkins

Denis Ovens 6-3 Michael Smith

Colin Osborne 6-4 Andy Smith

Martyn Turner 6-5 Alex Roy

Robert Thornton 6-2 Dave Ladley

Wayne Jones 6-2 Steve Grubb

Losers £300

Fourth Round

Wayne Mardle 6-4 Vincent van der Voort

Mervyn King 6-3 Jelle Klaasen

Gary Anderson 6-2 Alan Tabern

Steve Beaton 6-2 Toon Greebe

Paul Nicholson 6-3 Justin Pipe

Denis Ovens 6-5 Michael Barnard

Colin Osborne 6-3 Martyn Turner

Robert Thornton 6-4 Wayne Jones

Losers £400


Wayne Mardle 6-2 Mervyn King

Gary Anderson 6-2 Steve Beaton

Paul Nicholson 6-4 Denis Ovens

Colin Osborne 6-3 Robert Thornton

Losers £800


Gary Anderson 6-4 Wayne Mardle

Colin Osborne 6-2 Paul Nicholson

Losers £1,500


Colin Osborne 6-2 Gary Anderson

Winner £6,000

Runner-Up £3,000

Read more

Dartsdatabase results

Darts ResultsPDPA Players Championship Barnsley 1 results. Played 13/06/2009.Mark Walsh beat Jamie Caven in the final.Supplied by Darts Database

Read more

Walsh Completes 2009 Trebel

MARK WALSH won his third PDC Pro Tour event of 2009 with victory over Jamie Caven in the final of Saturday^s Players Championship. Walsh followed up his victories in Coventry and Derby earlier thi...

Read more