Skip to content


Your cart is empty



Reigning UK Open Champion Danny Noppert started his 2023 PDC Players Championship campaign in emphatic style, beating fellow Winmau player Simon Whitlock 8-3 in the Final of Event 2 at the Barnsley Metrodome.

The Freeze averaged 100.70 in the Final to round off a brilliant day for the Joure thrower, after claiming victories over the likes of Brendan Dolan and Callan Rydz on Sunday.

The Dutchman claims his third Pro Tour victory in his PDC darting career, having won the one event last year, beating Andrew Gilding 8-6 in the Final of Players Championship 19, coming back from 6-3 down to beat Goldfinger.

Noppert included two ton plus averages in Yorkshire, averaging 100.70 again in edging out Jamie Hughes 6-3 in the Last 16.

The Freeze started the day with a 6-3 victory over Irish international Dylan Slevin, with the 20-year-old reaching the Semi Finals of Players Championship 1 in what was his debut tournament.

The Winmau player whitewashed Connor Scutt 6-0 in the Second Round before beating Denmark International Vladimir Andersen 6-4, in a close tungsten tussle in the Last 32.

Simon Whitlock impressed in Barnsley as he reached the Final of Event 2, opening the day with a 6-3 win over Belgian Darts Open champion Dave Chisnall. The Wizard’s best arrows came against World Number 5 Luke Humphries, averaging 100.30 in a 7-4 win over Cool Hand Luke in the Semi Finals.

The Australian World Cup of Darts winner missed out narrowly on the World Matchplay last year, after falling just short on the Pro Tour Order of Merit.

Reaching the Final on the opening weekend this year could play a huge part if the former World Championship finalist is to return to the Winter Gardens, with Whitlock making it to the Semi Finals on two occasions in the World Matchplay back in 2010 and 2014.

Players Championship’s 3 and 4 take place next week again at the Barnsley Metrodome, as the 2023 PDC Pro Tour continues, with Danny Noppert and Ryan Searle the first two winners of the year.

By Harry Masterson

Players Championship 2 Results:

Last 16:

Luke Humphries 6-5 Dimitri van den Bergh

James Wade 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Richard Veenstra 6-4 Stephen Bunting

Simon Whitlock 6-2 Raymond van Barneveld

Brendan Dolan 6-2 Nathan Rafferty

Michael Smith 6-3 Gabriel Clemens

Callan Rydz 6-5 Steve Lennon

Danny Noppert 6-2 Jamie Hughes

Quarter Finals:

Luke Humphries 6-5 James Wade

Simon Whitlock 6-5 Richard Veenstra

Brendan Dolan 6-3 Michael Smith

Danny Noppert 6-4 Callan Rydz

Semi Finals:

Simon Whitlock 7-4 Luke Humphries

Danny Noppert 7-3 Brendan Dolan


Danny Noppert 8-3 Simon Whitlock

Read more


Robert Thornton successfully defended his Jenningsbet World Senior Darts Championship trophy at the iconic Circus Tavern, after beating hometown favourite Richie Howson 5-2 in the Final. The 55 yea...

Read more

The Ferret Clashes with the League Leader

World Number 7 and former Premier League champion Jonny Clayton will face a hugely anticipated match with current leader Chris Dobey, as Night 3 of the 2023 Premier League Darts makes its return to...

Read more