Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: BICC Preview - 12th/13th October

BICC Preview - 12th/13th October

Premier Division: Cornwall v Warwickshire

This coming weekend Warwickshire County Darts Organisation will be making the long trek to the south-west where at the Mount Charles Social Club, Clifden Road, St Austell, PL25 4NX they will be taking on Cornwall in what will be the second of their nine fixtures in the Premier Division of the BDO Inter County Championships.

Just one point separates the two teams after Warwickshire lost their opener to reigning champions Yorkshire and newly promoted Cornwall went down 22-14 playing away against Northamptonshire.

The last time Cornwall were in the Premier Division was back in the 2015-2016 campaign when in that season they also played hosts to Warwickshire and won 20-16. The forthcoming fixture should be quite an encounter with both teams eager to get off the mark and register their first win.

Lining up for Warwickshire will be Men’s ‘A’:- Steve Giddings, Jamie Atkins, Kevin Dowling, Charlie Symons, Tom Aldridge, Steve Hine, Antony Allen, Rob Comben, Noel Grant, Dean Stewart, Jamie Hughes, Prakash Jiwa, Men’s ‘B’:- Karl Reynolds, Jack Wareing, Adam Paxton, Carl Green, Gareth Braham, Dave Hill, Tom Ryan, Mark Strong, Mark Carter, James Hykin, Wayne Mynard, Tom Martin, Reserves:- Nigel Heydon, Ian McFarlane, Ian Shaw, Tom McGlone, Simon Fairbrother, Ashley Hykin, Dave Atkins, Women’s ‘A’:- Natalie Gilbert, Sue Gulliver, Wendy Adams, Donna Pinch, Caroline Pike, Angela Jones, Women’s ‘B’:- Nina Bolt, Helen Rigg, Kat Spanswick, Melanie Jones, Chloe McKivett, Marian Conway, Reserves:- Courtney Hine, Denise Keyte, Lucy Keyte.

Division One: Staffordshire v West Midlands

West Midlands began life in division one of the BDO Inter County Championships with a fine 22-14 home win over Cambridgeshire to see them sitting at the top of the promotional table with a three points lead over second placed Oxfordshire. They will be hoping to extend that lead with a further win this coming weekend when they travel the short journey to take on neighbouring local rivals Staffordshire.

The last time the two teams met was in the 2015-2016 season when both teams were in division two, again playing on Staffordshire’s board where West Midlands won 20-16.

Selected to play for the West Midlands are Men’s ‘A’:- Michael Baker, Gavin Baker, Scott Baker, Shaun Carroll, Mark Craddock, Alfie Jacques, Ian Jones, Owen Maiden, Glen McGrandle, John Morris, Dan Nicholls, Paul Wells, Men’s ‘B’:- Trevor Brennan, Matthew Coleman, Adam Edgar, Matthew Dicken, Liam Kelly, Gaz Johnson, Stephen Jones, Matthew Moore, Justin Evans, Shane Price, Dave Redding, Jamie Rollinson, Reserves:- Phil O’Brien, Tom Bissell, Mark Rollinson, Scott Hall, Martin Greenwood, Women’s ‘A’:- Cheryl Alcock, Gemma Barrett, Kath Jenkins, Jacqueline Maiden, Kat McLean, Sarah Roberts, Women’s ‘B’:- Julia Aston, Claire Hobbs, Shellbie Simmons, Stella Simms, Sophie Singh, Heather Wright, Reserves:- Deborah Davies, Kelly Doleman, Sophie Pinches.

Division Four: West of England v Shropshire

I have been writing about Shropshire County Darts Organisation for the past five years and their opening 20-16 home win against Tyne and Wear in division four of the BDO Inter County Championships was the best start to a season they have had in those five years. They will be hoping to add to that win this coming weekend when they travel to take on West of England at the Patchway Sports and Social Club, Coniston Road, Patchway, Bristol, BS34 5JR, a team they beat 19-17 last season and one that lost 19-17 at Bedfordshire in this season’s curtain raiser.

Team selection for Shropshire is Men’s ‘A’:- Dan Astbury, Eddie Austin, Jamie Barrowman, Nik Bloor, Paul Bromley, Reece Colley, Chris Fox, Mike Hampson, Andy Jervis, Richard Parker, Martin Price, John Speed, Men’s ‘B’:- Sam Aitkens, Mark Bayliss, Richard Bowen, Dave Green, Connor Jeffs, Phil Mayo, Connor Pickett, Robert Pierce, Martin Riggs, Will Roberts, John Simms, Andy Vellender, Reserves:- Jon Blakemore, Clark Cook, Jamie Daly, Dan Evans, Paul Harrison, Brian Hickman, Jamie Lewis, Mark Lloyd, Andy Mullinder, Nigel Neale, Neville Quinton, Women’s ‘A’:- Jenna Ball, Stephanie Clarke, Sophie Fawcett, Allison Gallagher, Michele Pritchard, Marie Riggs, Women’s ‘B’:- Suzie Barnham, Julie Griffiths, Sue Lane, Rachael Mooney, Julie Pugh, Tammy Walmsley, Reserves:- Stacey Dower, Kim Hewitt, Cheryl Owen, Caroline Powell, Deana Sheldon, Helen Walmsley, Lisa Wills.

By Alan Towe

Read more

Winmau Backs Gurney Charity Shave with Huge 180 Pledge

After losing his close friend, Aaron Mcmenamin, to Cystic Fibrosis, Daryl Gurney recently announced he was attempting to raise over £10,000 to help sufferers of this debilitating genetic disease. ...

Read more

Van Gerwen & Chisnall Reach BoyleSports World Grand Prix Final

Michael van Gerwen and Dave Chisnall will clash in the 2019 BoyleSports World Grand Prix final on Saturday following their big semi-final victories over Chris Dobey and Glen Durrant. Reigning cham...

Read more