Skip to content


Your cart is empty




RAYMOND VAN BARNEVELD made a fine start to the German Darts Championship with a 6-1 win over Ron Meulenkamp on Friday, as Ronnie Baxter, Jelle Klaasen, Michael Smith and Lee Palfreyman all impressed in Hildesheim.

Van Barneveld had won through Thursday^s European Qualifier at Halle 39, and cruised through his all-Dutch first round clash with left-hander Meulenkamp, averaging 97 and dropping just one leg.

The five-time World Champion now plays Dave Chisnall, the number two seed, in Saturday^s second round, and said: "Ron let me in and I took my chances, and I^m pleased with that. I^ve been practising hard recently and my darts dart going in well."

Ronnie Baxter, meanwhile, took out finishes of 121, 124 and 140 as he averaged 105 in a brilliant display against Belgian teenager Dimitri van den Bergh, setting up a second round game with Jamie Caven.

Four players enjoyed first rounnd whitewashes in Hildesheim on Friday, including World Youth Champion Michael Smith, against Aberdeen newcomer Jamie Bain, and world number 11 Andy Hamilton, who saw off Essex-based debutant Barry Lynn.

Hamilton now plays world number nine Robert Thornton in a tasty second round clash, while Smith takes on Belgian ace Kim Huybrechts.

Dutch qualifier Jelle Klaasen also impressed as he took out finishes of 116 and 108 in his whitewash of European Tour debutant Marc Dewsbury, as he set up a clash with Steve Beaton on Saturday.

Liverpool^s Lee Palfreyman was another 6-0 winner as he defeated Mark Walsh without reply to set up a clash with Mervyn King, while his older brother Joey edged out German newcomer Rene Eidams as he moves through to take on Adrian Lewis.

Dean Winstanley, who celebrated his marriage to partner Lorraine last Saturday, dropped just one leg as he defeated left-hander Matt Padgett to set up a second round game with Ian White.

Holland^s Leon De Geus came from 5-3 down to seal a 6-5 win over Steve Maish with a 101 finish as he moved through to meet World Champion Michael van Gerwen, while Dick van Dijk^s reward for a narrow win against Mark Dudbridge - who missed match darts at double top and ten to claim victory in the deciding leg - is a clash with three-time World Champion John Part.

Irish newcomer Glenn Spearing showed no nerves on his European Tour debut as he came from 2-1 down to win 6-2 against experienced Swede Magnus Caris and progress to a second round date with Gary Anderson, while Dutch youngster Dirk van Duijvenbode was a 6-3 winner against Brian Woods and now plays Wes Newton.

Wayne Jones^ 6-3 win over Germany^s Tomas Seyler means that he now meets World Championship finalist Peter Wright, while Justin Pipe defeated Richie Burnett by the same scoreline, despite leading 4-0 early on, as he moves through to play Brendan Dolan.

Stuart Kellett was made to sweat against novice Fabian Herz before he claimed a 6-3 victory, with the German newcomer - competing in his first ever professional tournament - coming from 2-0 down to lead 3-2 before last year^s UK Masters finalist pulled through to set up a clash with Paul Nicholson on Saturday.

The tournament concludes on Saturday and Sunday at Halle 39 in Hildesheim, and is being streamed exclusively free and live on the OfficialPDC YouTube Channel,

German Darts Championship - European Tour Event One
Schedule of Play
Friday January 31
First Round
Magnus Caris 2-6 Glenn Spearing
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 Ron Meulenkamp
Jelle Klaasen 6-0 Marc Dewsbury
Brian Woods 3-6 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Dimitri van den Bergh 2-6 Ronnie Baxter
Steve Maish 5-6 Leon De Geus
Dick van Dijk 6-5 Mark Dudbridge
Dean Winstanley 6-1 Matt Padgett
Mark Walsh 0-6 Lee Palfreyman
Jamie Bain 0-6 Michael Smith
Max Hopp 1-6 Terry Jenkins
Barry Lynn 0-6 Andy Hamilton
Wayne Jones 6-3 Tomas Seyler
Rene Eidams 5-6 Joey Palfreyman
Stuart Kellett 6-3 Fabian Herz
Richie Burnett 3-6 Justin Pipe

Saturday February 1
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm)
Ian White v Dean Winstanley
Gary Anderson v Glenn Spearing
Robert Thornton v Andy Hamilton
Mervyn King v Lee Palfreyman
Jamie Caven v Ronnie Baxter
Dave Chisnall v Raymond van Barneveld
Steve Beaton v Jelle Klaasen
John Part v Dick van Dijk

Evening Session (7pm-11pm)
Brendan Dolan v Justin Pipe
Wes Newton v Dirk van Duijvenbode
Kim Huybrechts v Michael Smith
Adrian Lewis v Joey Palfreyman
Peter Wright v Wayne Jones
Michael van Gerwen v Leon De Geus
Kevin Painter v Terry Jenkins
Paul Nicholson v Stuart Kellett

All games the best of 11 legs.

Read more


THE PDC are delighted to announce that Betway has signed an agreement to sponsor the 2014 Betway Premier League Darts tournament, the UK & Ireland^s biggest indoor sporting event. The tourname...

Read more

Ross Montgomery and Aileen de Graaf win the Winmau Sponsored Dutch Open

Ross Montgomery and Aileen de Graaf won the 36th edition of the Dutch Open Darts. For Ross the Boss it is his second major win on Dutch soil after winning the Zuiderduin Masters some years ago. Ail...

Read more