Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Australian Open Players Championship Draw

Australian Open Players Championship Draw

WORLD number three James Wade will head the field of 108 players in the inaugural Australian Open Players Championship next Sunday.

The first PDC Pro Tour event to be staged in Australia will form the culmination of a week of events at the Shoalhaven Heads Bowling & Recreation Club for the William Cross Pro-Am series.

Wade, the Stan James World Matchplay runner-up recently, is joined by Ronnie Baxter, Denis Ovens, Dave Honey and Robert Thornton in travelling to Australia for the events.

Blue Square UK Open runner-up Gary Mawson is one of three Americans heading to Australia, joined by John Kuczynski and Scott Kirchner, while Pat Orreal, the Queenslander who starred in last year^s Grand Slam of Darts and moved to the UK to compete on the PDC circuit, returns to his homeland.

South African duo Charles Losper and Wynand Havenga, who have represented their country at the World Darts Championship in the last two years, are among the players who have travelled across the Indian Ocean to take part in the William Cross Pro-Am.

They will join stars from Australia and New Zealand in action over the next week, with Kiwi champion Warren French following up his qualification for December^s World Championship by taking part in New South Wales.

Warren Parry has also travelled from New Zealand, while Russell Stewart, Paul Nicholson and Orreal are also seeded for the Australian Open Players Championship, alongside teenager Mitchell Clegg.

Clegg won the Oceanic Masters as a 15-year-old in 2006 and competed in the World Championship later that year - and is joined in competing next week by brother David and father Greg.

The 16 seedings came from the PDC Order of Merit, with the DPA Order of Merit used in case of ties, and 16 final players will come from a qualifier to be held in Shoalhaven. The tournament will be the best of five sets, best of three legs per set throughout.

Australian Open Players Championship

Preliminary Round

First Round

Board One

James Wade (1)

Qualifier Five

Tony Crampton

Wayne Brown

David Clegg

Mike Merz

Board Two

Russell Stewart (16)

Andrew Griffin

Qualifier 14

John Bunyard

Lauren Peters

Brad Johnson

Qualifier 13

Board Three

Robert Thornton (8)

Sean Gibbs

Rob Modra

Amanda Fish

Scott Johnson

Shane Tichowitsch

John Gault

Board Four

Warren Parry (9)

Scott Krause

Kevin Luland

Waleed Clayton

Daniel Brown

Col Sharpe

Qualifier 15

Board Five

John Kuczynski (5)

Brian Roach

John Hector

Daniel Sim

Dale Frampton

Gordon Smith

Dave Muller

Board Six

Mitchell Clegg (12)

Reg Tapper

Peffy Waikira

Dallas Brettie

Sandi Ridd

Craig Prizeman

Qualifier 11

Board Seven

Gary Mawson (4)

Qualifier Seven

Rachael Padget

Chippy Miller

Bill Keogh

Qualifier Four

Board Eight

Scott Kirchner (13)

Qualifier Three

Dave Fitzpatrick

Greg Clegg

David Breasley

Qualifier Nine

Ian Brown

Board Nine

Ronnie Baxter

Qualifier One

Phil Bottrell

Qualifier Eight

Ruan Hanekom

Preston Ridd

Board Ten

Paul Nicholson (15)

Chris Hay

Qualifier Two

Maree Hendry

Qualifier Six

Peter Page

Kylie Townes

Board 11

Dave Honey (7)

Jason Stokes

Ivan Townes

Barry Whittaker

Kathleen Hazell

Brian Rowe

Rod Crawford

Board 12

Charles Losper (10)

Gary Sinnott

Philip Hazell

Qualifier 16

Don Whittington

Pete Corcoran

Craig Strooisma

Board 13

Wynand Havenga (6)

Wayne Oldfield

Paul Neighbour

Ray O^Donnell

Kate Gifford

Richie Charteris

Kim Anderson

Board 14

Warren French (11)

Qualifier 12

Qualifier 10

Craig Frith

William Aitken

Rod Neeson

Piki Morrison

Board 15

Denis Ovens (3)

Corrinne Hammond

Tommy Hyland

Darryl Kenny

Stuart Coburn

Jerry Weyman

Board 16

Pat Orreal (14)

Melissa Sinnott

Steve Stuart

Simone Keogh

Dean McGladdery

Graham Thompson

Barry Jouannet

Story by: PDC



Read more

Wade Praises ^Worthy^ Taylor

JAMES WADE praised Phil Taylor as a ^worthy winner^ of the Stan James World Matchplay following his 18-9 defeat in Blackpool on Saturday.Wade saw Taylor relcaim the World Matchplay trophy with a sc...

Read more

Taylor Bullseye Hailed

PHIL TAYLOR^S winning bullseye at the Stan James World Matchplay has been hailed as ^the greatest dart ever thrown^.Taylor produced a remarkable 132 finish to seal victory in Blackpool last Saturda...

Read more