Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: A Look Back In Time - 1st September 2008

A Look Back In Time - 1st September 2008

West Midlands will kick off their division one campaign with a tough away game against County Durham. Newly promoted West Midlands travel north and play against a team that narrowly missed out on promotion to the premier division last season. Surrey finished as champions of division one with a total of 206 points, Oxfordshire were promoted as runners up with 195 points and then came County Durham on 191 points, just four short of Oxfordshire’s promotional tally.

The mood in the West Midlands camp is one of expectation with the players eager to take on the new challenge and once again strive for promotion to what is the greatest darts division in the world the Premier Division.

Former West Midlands man Tom Aldridge has returned to the fold after spending a few successful seasons with Warwickshire. Tom will be a great acquisition to the squad. The full list of players are, Men:- Tom Aldridge, Martin Angell, David Arnold, Nick Bache, Robert Carr, Mathew Dicken, Peter Edmunds, Steve Farmer, Mervin Field, Andy Forrester, Richard Foster, Lol Frazer, Viv Gould, Ian Hartland, Chris Hickman, Jamie Hughes, Chris Jones, Ian Jones, Mark Jones, Vic Lloyd, Greg Parkes, Richie Platt, Chris Plumpton, Eddie Price, Paul Price, Shane Price, David Robbins, Mark Rollinson, Jack Routledge, Paul Simmons, Avtar Singh, Ian Stanton, Mat Tedstone, Mark Watkiss, Darren Williams, Peter Wyse, Ladies:- Ann Alsopp, Lisa Astbury, Julie Aston, Chris Banks, June Davis, Claire Ford, Kim Fellows, Natalie Harris, Claire Hobbs, Kath Jenkins, Leanne Jennings, Sara Jukes, Gemma Pool, Samantha Pugh, Sarah Robbins, Jackie Simmons, Jayne Stubbs, Diane Tolley.

The team manager is Vic Lloyd and the men’s captains, ‘A’ Ian Jones and ‘B’ Eddie Price. For the ladies Sara Jukes will captain the ‘A’ and Claire Ford the ‘B’.

Gilberts Bar, Willenhall was the setting for the West Midlands Super League’s play off of their Averages Knockout, the event, which is open to any member of the league who has recorded an average during the season, anyone even if they have only played one game.

Winner of the men’s competition was Tipton player Ian Jones with Smethwick representative Frank Johnston runner up. The ladies final was an all Smethwick affair, Teresa Woakes claiming the crown, team mate and namesake Teresa Johnstone the losing finalist.

The Sheldon and District Summer League have played the first two rounds of their Mrs F. Richman Trophy. In round one no fewer than five teams recorded straight 7-0 wins, Brook Meadow, Shirley RBL, Sheldon Dukes, Mackadown Social and Small Heath Gardeners Flights in turn handing out whitewashes to Old Bill and Bull, Bordesley Labour Club, Ivy Leaf, Saxon and Small Heath Gardeners.

Other teams that progresses to round two are Saltley Amateur Gardeners, Iron Horse, Bromford Bridge Members Club, Kingshurst Labour Club, Stechford Social, RAFA, Golden Acres, Shard End Social, Pavilions, Banbury Club and Custard House.

Biggest winners in round two were Bromford Bridge Members Club and Brook Meadow who both won 6-1 in turn defeating Pavilions and Iron Horse. Other teams progressing to the last eight were, Shirley RBL, Mackadown Social, RAFA, Saltley Amateur Gardeners, Sheldon Dukes and Small Heath Gardeners Flights.

The Pip Club League have been engaged with their Challenge Cup. Round one saw Three Horse, Two Gates Club and Winning Post take out their respective opponents Red Lion, North Warwick Cricket Club and Wigginton, Kettlebrook Club had a bye.

Round two and Three Horse Shoes beat Kettlebrook Club and Winning Post lost out to Two Gates Club. Three Horse Shoes and Two Gates Club will now meet each other in the final on the 2nd October at the league headquarters Pip Club.

On the fixture card for the Small Heath League has been their Mixed Doubles Knockout, which was staged at the Victoria Club. The eventual winning duo were John McCaffrey and Gloria Lightwood with Eamon O’Sullivan and Dee O’Sullivan the runners up.

Losing semi finalists were Andy Cooper and partner Helen Davies plus John Quigley and Katie O’Sullivan

Victoria 301 Club’s representative Chris Stokes was the leagues winner of the “End of Season 501 Knockout”. Chris had a final victory over Potcheen Still representative John McCaffrey. Losing semi finalists were Matthew Cooper (Potcheen Still) and Peter Yardley (Emerald Club).

Staying with the Small Heath League I have to report the sad news that on the 12th August Mick Hartland passed away. Mick was a keen darts player and over the last few years has represented the Potcheen Still in the Small Heath League.

Sympathy and condolences go to Mick’s family from all of his friends and darts colleagues at this sad time. He will be sorely missed by all who knew him.

Read more

A Look Back In Time - 1st August 2008

I wrote last month regarding a new knockout that was being introduced into the darts calendar, the double16 member’s knockout. The event as previously stated is for members only of the new and fast...

Read more

A Look Back In Time - 1st October 2008

Stirchley United Working Men’s Club was the setting for the South Birmingham Ladies Open and although the number of entries were a little disappointing, with only 32 entering the competition, nothi...

Read more