Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: 2009 World Darts Championship Schedule of Play

2009 World Darts Championship Schedule of Play

THE opening night of the 2009 World Darts Championship will feature defending champion John Part next Friday.

Part will meet American Bill Davis on Friday December 19 as the £740,000 tournament gets underway at Alexandra Palace in London.

Former semi-finalists Wayne Jones and Andy Jenkins will also be in action, with the latter facing Dutch debutant Co Stompe, the recent German Darts Championship winner.

Holland^s Roland Scholten will open the tournament against Spanish newcomer Carlos Rodriguez, who has enjoyed a successful first year on the professional circuit.

Two-time World Champion Dennis Priestley begins his challenge against either Warren French or Akihiro Nagakawa in the afternoon of Saturday December 20, with world number five Terry Jenkins and 2004 World Championship runner-up Kevin Painter also in action.

Saturday^s evening session will feature world number one Phil Taylor, who opens his bid for a 14th World Championship against qualifier Steve Grubb.

Exciting young stars Michael van Gerwen and Kevin McDine also play on Saturday evening, while in-form Alan Tabern meets former World Champion Steve Beaton.

Sunday^s afternoon session includes 2005 finalist Mark Dudbridge against qualifier Nick Fullwell ahead of an eagerly-awaited evening session.

Russian Anastasia Dobromyslova, the current Women^s World Champion, meets Remco van Eijden in their preliminary round clash, while five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld, three-time runner-up Peter Manley, Wayne Mardle and Andy Hamilton all step up to the oche.

Monday^s evening session includes Colin Lloyd^s meeting with Jelle Klaasen and Adrian Lewis^ clash with Oceanic Masters winner Russell Stewart.

Kirk Shepherd, last year^s runner-up, is in action during Tuesday^s afternoon session, while the first round concludes on Tuesday evening and includes number three seed James Wade against Brendan Dolan.

The second round begins on Saturday December 27 following the Christmas break, including a potential contest between Taylor and van Gerwen - who met in a tight first round game last year.

Tickets for the World Darts Championship are still available - visit or call 0871 231 0831 for more information.

2009 World Darts Championship
Schedule of Play
First Round (Preliminary Round games denoted by (P))
Friday December 19
7.10pm Roland Scholten v Carlos Rodriguez
8.15pm Warren French v Akihiro Nagakawa (P)
9.00pm Wayne Jones v Robert Thornton
10.00pm John Part v Bill Davis
11.00pm Andy Jenkins v Co Stompe

Saturday December 20
12.40pm Terry Jenkins v Dennis Smith
1.45pm Hannes Schnier v Shi Yongsheng (P)
2.30pm Kevin Painter v Matt Clark
3.30pm Dennis Priestley v French/Nagakawa
4.30pm Barrie Bates v Felix McBrearty

7.10pm Alan Tabern v Steve Beaton
8.15pm David Fatum v Shane O^Connor (P)
9.00pm Michael van Gerwen v Darin Young
10.00pm Phil Taylor v Steve Grubb
11.00pm Alex Roy v Kevin McDine

Sunday December 21
1.10pm Mark Walsh v Jamie Caven
2.15pm Charles Losper v Sudesh Fitzgerald (P)
3.00pm Mark Dudbridge v Nick Fullwell
4.00pm Wes Newton v Per Laursen
5.00pm Denis Ovens v Steve Maish

7.10pm Andy Hamilton v Michael Barnard
8.15pm Remco van Eijden v Anastasia Dobromyslova (P)
9.00pm Wayne Mardle v Fatum/O^Connor
10.00pm Raymond van Barneveld v Mark Stephenson
11.00pm Peter Manley v Mensur Suljovic

Monday December 22
7.10pm Chris Mason v John MaGowan
8.15pm Marko Kantele v Lourence Ilagan (P)
9.00pm Adrian Lewis v Russell Stewart
10.00pm Colin Lloyd v Jelle Klaasen
11.00pm Mervyn King v Schnier/Yongsheng

Tuesday December 23
12.40pm Andy Smith v Tony Ayres
1.45pm Adrian Gray v Paul Nicholson
2.45pm Kirk Shepherd v Jan van der Rassel
3.45pm Tony Eccles v van Eijden/Dobromyslova

7.10pm Ronnie Baxter v Kantele/Ilagan
8.15pm Colin Osborne v Losper/Fitzgerald
9.15pm James Wade v Brendan Dolan
10.15pm Vincent van der Voort v Nandor Bezzeg

Second Round
Saturday December 27
1.40pm T Jenkins/D Smith v Roy/McDine
3.00pm Tabern/Beaton v A Jenkins/Stompe
4.20pm Scholten/Rodriguez v Painter/Clark

7.10pm Manley/Suljovic v Dudbridge/Fullwell
8.30pm Taylor/Grubb v van Gerwen/Young
9.50pm Mardle/Fatum/O^Connor v Jones/Thornton

Sunday December 28
1.10pm King/Schnier/Yongsheng v Walsh/Caven
2.30pm Baxter/Kantele/Ilagan v Ovens/Maish
3.50pm Hamilton/Barnard v A Smith/Ayres

7.10pm Lloyd/Klaasen v Shepherd/van der Rassel
8.30pm van Barneveld/Stephenson v Newton/Laursen
9.50pm Part/Davis v Bates/McBrearty

Monday December 29
1.10pm Lewis/Stewart v Gray/Nicholson
2.30pm Priestley/French/Nagakawa v Mason/MaGowan
3.50pm Osborne/Losper/Fitzgerald v van der Voort/Bezzeg

7.10pm Wade/Dolan v Eccles/van Eijden/Dobromyslova
Third Round
8.30pm Taylor/Grubb/van Gerwen/Young v Scholten/Rodriguez/Painter/Clark
9.50pm Part/Davis/Bates/McBrearty v Manley/Suljovic/Dudbridge/Fullwell

Tuesday December 30
1.10pm Lewis/Stewart/Gray/Nicholson v Priestley/French/Nagakawa/Mason/MaGowan
2.40pm T Jenkins/D Smith/Roy/McDine v King/Schnier/Yongsheng/Walsh/Caven
4.10pm Mardle/Fatum/O^Connor/Jones/Thornton v Tabern/Beaton/A Jenkins/Stompe

7.10pm Hamilton/Barnard/A Smith/Ayres v Lloyd/Klaasen/Shepherd/van der Rassel
8.40pm van Barneveld/Stephenson/Newton/Laursen v Baxter/Kantele/Ilagan/Ovens/Maish
10.10pm Wade/Dolan/Eccles/van Eijden/Dobromyslova v Osborne/Losper/Fitzgerald/van der Voort/Bezzeg

Thursday January 1 2009
7.15pm T Jenkins/D Smith/Roy/McDine/King/Schnier/Yongsheng/Walsh/Caven v Part/Davis/Bates/McBrearty/Manley/Suljovic/Dudbridge/Fullwell
9.15pm Taylor/Grubb/van Gerwen/Young/Scholten/Rodriguez/Painter/Clark v Mardle/Fatum/O^Connor/Jones/Thornton/Tabern/Beaton/A Jenkins/Stompe

Friday January 2
7.15pm Lewis/Stewart/Gray/Nicholson/Priestley/French/Nagakawa/Mason/MaGowan v Wade/Dolan/Eccles/van Eijden/Dobromyslova/Osborne/Losper/Fitzgerald/van der Voort/Bezzeg
9.15pm van Barneveld/Stephenson/Newton/Laursen/Baxter/Kantele/Ilagan/Ovens/Maish v Hamilton/Barnard/A Smith/Ayres/Lloyd/Klaasen/Shepherd/van der Rassel

Saturday January 3

Sunday January 4

Read more

Jamie in world final

By John Adey Teenage darts star Jamie Lewis did Cardigan and Wales proud at the weekend when reaching the final of the Winmau Youth World Masters at The Spa, Bridlington. The 17-year-old Cardigan ...

Read more

Russian is Ana way to glory

  PHIL TAYLOR reckons Ana Dobromyslova should be called ‘Tough Love’ and not ‘From Russia with Love’ at this month’s PDC World Darts Championships. World No1 Taylor has been practising with Dobrom...

Read more