Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Championship League Darts Media Release

Championship League Darts Media Release

PHIL TAYLOR and James Wade will meet in the opening round of the 2009 Championship League Darts next Tuesday.

The fixtures for Group One of the tournament, to be screened solely on the internet via a series of ten bookmakers^ websites, have now been confirmed.

The opening day^s action, starting at 11am on Tuesday September 15, will see eight of the world^s top ten players compete in Group One at Crondon Park GC in Essex.

Taylor, who won the inaugural Championship League Darts in 2008, will face current world number two and Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts champion Wade in their opening fixture.

The eight players will compete in a round-robin format, with matches played over the best of 11 legs with prize money awarded at £50 per leg won.

With play on two boards simultaneously, Chelmsford^s Colin Lloyd will open up against Alan Tabern on board two, with the first round of games then being completed by the meetings of Ronnie Baxter against Adrian Lewis and John Part against Mervyn King.

Part^s clash with King will be his debut in Championship League Darts, and he will then take on Lewis in the second round of games, while Tabern meets Taylor.

King and Baxter, both semi-finalists in the summer^s World Matchplay, meet on board one as the second phase continues, with Lloyd facing Wade.

After each player has completed his seven league games, the top four players in the league table will progress to the play-offs.

Prize money in the semi-finals and final increases to £100 per leg won, with the day^s champion progressing to the Winners Group in October.

2009 Championship League Darts

Group One Fixtures


Board One

Board Two

Match One

Phil Taylor v James Wade

Colin Lloyd v Alan Tabern

Match Two

Ronnie Baxter v Adrian Lewis

John Part v Mervyn King

Match One

Alan Tabern v Phil Taylor

Adrian Lewis v John Part

Match Two

Mervyn King v Ronnie Baxter

James Wade v Colin Lloyd

Match One

Alan Tabern v John Part

Phil Taylor v Adrian Lewis

Match Two

Mervyn King v Colin Lloyd

James Wade v Ronnie Baxter

Match One

John Part v Phil Taylor

Alan Tabern v Adrian Lewis

Match Two

James Wade v Mervyn King

Colin Lloyd v Ronnie Baxter

Match One

Colin Lloyd v John Part

Ronnie Baxter v Phil Taylor

Match Two

Adrian Lewis v James Wade

Mervyn King v Alan Tabern

Match One

Ronnie Baxter v Alan Tabern

James Wade v John Part

Match Two

Adrian Lewis v Colin Lloyd

Phil Taylor v Mervyn King

Match One

Colin Lloyd v Phil Taylor

John Part v Ronnie Baxter

Match Two

Mervyn King v Adrian Lewis

Alan Tabern v James Wade


Semi-Final 1

Semi-Final 2



Championship League Darts will be screened solely on the internet through the following bookmakers^ websites:

Available Globally

Bet365 -

Available in UK/Ireland

Ladbrokes -

Paddy Power -

Skybet -

Betfair -

Available in Europe (excluding UK)

Unibet -

Sportingbet -

Expekt -

Betclick -

Bet-at-home -

To view the Championship League Darts, users must be registered with the specific website but there is no commitment to placing bets. The stream will be available internationally, except in the United States of America, where for legal reasons it cannot be shown.

Results and latest league tables will be available throughout each day at, along with latest news from Crondon Park.

Read more

Exclusive Winmau iDarts Scorer – developed by Crunchmedia

The Winmau iDarts Scorer designed and developed exclusively by Crunchmedia accompanies your game of darts wherever you are with no need for chalk and duster. With it^s authentic and attractive int...

Read more


Winmau sponsored darts legend Andy ^The Viking^ Fordham will be taking a break from the oche to play online poker at www.180bets.comon Monday 14th September. Andy - who returned to winning ways la...

Read more