Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Sky Poker World Grand Prix Schedule Of Play

Sky Poker World Grand Prix Schedule Of Play

Sky Poker World Grand Prix Schedule of Play
THE Sky Poker World Grand Prix will begin on Monday October 6, with defending champion James Wade and world number two Raymond van Barneveld in action on the opening night.

Wade will kick off the tournament when he faces Tony Eccles in the best of three set first round, 12 months after he claimed his second major title with a 6-3 win over Terry Jenkins in Dublin.

“It’s a tough draw but I’m looking forward to the tournament,” said Wade. “It will be exciting to open up the tournament and make a statement to everyone else, because I’d love to retain the title.”

Raymond van Barneveld, who has not played since the World Matchplay in July, faces in-form Alan Tabern, who has won two Players Championship events in the past month.

2004 champion Colin Lloyd takes on Vincent van der Voort, while the opening night also features Wayne Mardle against Northern Ireland^s newcomer Felix McBrearty, Mark Dudbridge against Kevin Painter and Adrian Lewis^ meeting with Roland Scholten.

Seven-time World Grand Prix champion Phil Taylor takes on Ronnie Baxter in the big clash of Tuesday^s action, as the remaining eight first round games take place.

World Champion John Part meets Chris Mason, Peter Manley takes on Robert Thornton and Jenkins - the runner-up for the past two years - faces Mick McGowan.

McGowan, who hails from nearby Balbriggan, will be making his debut in the double-start tournament, which is screened live on Sky Sports.

“Of all the major tournaments, this is the one I^ve failed to qualify for before and I can^t wait for it now,” said McGowan.

“I^ve been knocked out a couple of times in the finals of the qualifiers and it^s eluded me so far, but it will be special to be in there this time in front of my home crowd. I^ll have busloads of family and friends heading to the Citywest Hotel, they^ve been on the phone to me for weeks!”

Another Dubliner, Jacko Barry, takes on Northern Ireland^s Brendan Dolan on the second night, while 67-year-old Donaghadee veteran John MaGowan meets Colin Osborne.

Wade could meet Mervyn King or Wayne Jones in Wednesday^s second round, with the remaining second round games, possibly featuring Taylor against MaGowan or Osborne, taking place on Thursday.

Friday sees the four quarter-finals, with the semi-finals and finals taking place over the weekend of October 11 and 12.

Tickets for the Sky Poker World Grand Prix still remain on sale for Monday-Thursday, with prices starting from ten euro. Tickets can be purchased on 00353 (1) 401 0500 or via

2008 Sky Poker World Grand Prix
Monday October 6 2008 - Round One (Best of Three Sets) - 6pm-12am
6.00pm James Wade v Tony Eccles
6.40pm Dennis Priestley v Denis Ovens
7.20pm Mervyn King v Wayne Jones
8.00pm Colin Lloyd v Vincent van der Voort
8.40pm Raymond van Barneveld v Alan Tabern
9.20pm Wayne Mardle v Felix McBrearty
10.00pm Mark Dudbridge v Kevin Painter
10.40pm Adrian Lewis v Roland Scholten

Tuesday October 7 2008 - Round One (Best of Three Sets) - 6pm-12am
6.00pm Mark Walsh v Steve Beaton
6.40pm Andy Hamilton v Andy Smith
7.20pm John Part v Chris Mason
8.00pm Jacko Barry v Brendan Dolan
8.40pm Phil Taylor v Ronnie Baxter
9.20pm Robert Thornton v Peter Manley
10.00pm Terry Jenkins v Mick McGowan
10.40pm John MaGowan v Colin Osborne

Wednesday October 8 2008 - Round 2 (Best of Five Sets) - 7pm-11pm
7.00pm Lloyd / van der Voort v Dudbridge / Painter
8.00pm Wade / Eccles v King / Jones
9.00pm van Barneveld / Tabern v Lewis / Scholten
10.00pm Mardle / McBrearty v Priestley / Ovens

Thursday October 9 2008 - Second Round (Best of Five Sets) - 7pm-11pm
7.00pm - Jenkins / McGowan v Walsh / Beaton
8.00pm - Hamilton / Smith v Thornton / Manley
8.45pm - Taylor / Baxter v MaGowan / Osborne
10.00pm - Part / Mason v Barry / Dolan

Friday October 10 2008 Quarter-Finals (Best of Seven Sets) - 6pm-12am
6.00pm - Part / Mason / Barry / Dolan v Jenkins / McGowan / Walsh / Beaton
7.45pm - Lloyd / van der Voort / Dudbridge / Painter v van Barneveld / Tabern / Lewis / Scholten
9.15pm - Hamilton / Smith / Thornton / Manley v Taylor / Baxter / MaGowan / Osborne
10.45pm - Wade / Eccles / King / Jones v Mardle / McBrearty / Priestley / Ovens

Saturday October 11 2008 (Best of Nine Sets) - 7pm-11pm
7.00pm - Semi-Final 1
9.00pm - Semi-Final 2

Sunday October 12 2008 (Best of 11 sets) - 7pm-10pm
7.00pm - Final

Read more


AT THREE YEARS OLD, Nathan Bradley shouldbe doing what most other toddlers his age do:kicking footballs, playing Stickle Bricks andstaring zombie-like at the television for hourson end. Instead, d...

Read more

Championship League Darts Group Four

ANDY HAMILTON booked his place in the Championship League Darts Winners Group with victory in Group Four of the competition. Hamilton had twice lost in the semi-finals and was the tournament^s onl...

Read more