Skip to content


Your cart is empty



SIMON WHITLOCK won through to the Championship League Darts Winners Group at the sixth time of asking when he defeated Vincent van der Voort in a deciding leg in the Group Six final on Thursday.

Whitlock, who had hit a nine-darter in Wednesday^s Group Five, extended his ever-present record in the play-offs by winning six of his seven league games in Group Six of the internet-streamed event.

He then defeated Andy Smith 6-4 in the semi-finals to reach a fourth final of the tournament, and finally took victory against van der Voort.

The Dutchman gave as good as he goes during a tense final, coming from 2-1 down to lead 4-3 with a 100 finish and a brace of double eight checkouts.

Whitlock took the next two to edge ahead before van der Voort won leg ten on double 12 to force a tense decider.

The Australian opened with a 177 and added two 140s to take the initiative, before finishing double 16 for a 12-darter to secure his place in next Thursday^s big-money Winners Group alongside Phil Taylor, Gary Anderson, Paul Nicholson, Mervyn King & Mark Walsh.

"It^s brilliant to finally qualify!" said Whitlock. "It^s been a good journey in these six groups and very hard at times but it shows that my persistence paid off.

"I^ve been consistent enough in the league games but not had the success in the play-offs, but I was desperate to win and pulled out a great final leg against Vincent.

"I can relax on Tuesday and Wednesday now knowing I don^t have to play and can prepare for the Winners Group, and hopefully I^ll be successful there."

Van der Voort had finished sixth twice so far this week, but edged into the play-offs before defeating league leader Steve Beaton 6-5 in their semi-final by taking out 118 in the deciding leg.

Alan Tabern and Kevin Painter missed out on a semi-final place on leg difference to van der Voort, while Denis Ovens and Colin Osborne were eliminated.

2009 champion Osborne lost all seven league games, although he could feel somewhat unfortunate after suffering 6-5 defeats in his opening three games.

Van der Voort, Beaton, Smith, Tabern and Painter will now return to Crondon Park GC in Essex next Tuesday to compete in Group Seven of Championship League Darts, alongside Co Stompe, Robert Thornton & Mark Dudbridge.

Championship League Darts is screened solely on the internet through LIVEPDC.TV and a series of 30 bookmakers^ websites worldwide, and offers a potential total prize fund of over £200,000, plus places in the Grand Slam of Darts for the eventual finalists.


Played over nine days from September 27-29, October 11-13 and October 18-20, the event offers £50 per leg won prize money in the league phase and £100 per leg won in each group^s Play-Offs, with prize money doubled in the Winners Group.




Board One                                                       Board Two

Simon Whitlock 6-5 Vincent van der Voort      Alan Tabern 2-6 Steve Beaton

Kevin Painter 0-6 Denis Ovens                       Andy Smith 6-5 Colin Osborne

Steve Beaton 3-6 Simon Whitlock                   Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Alan Tabern

Colin Osborne 5-6 Kevin Painter                     Denis Ovens 1-6 Andy Smith

Steve Beaton 6-5 Andy Smith                        Simon Whitlock 6-2 Denis Ovens

Colin Osborne 5-6 Alan Tabern                      Vincent van der Voort 3-6 Kevin Painter
Andy Smith 6-3 Simon Whitlock                      Steve Beaton 6-1 Denis Ovens

Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Colin Osborne      Alan Tabern 6-2 Kevin Painter

Alan Tabern 3-6 Andy Smith                          Kevin Painter 3-6 Simon Whitlock

Denis Ovens 2-6 Vincent van der Voort        Colin Osborne 1-6! Steve Beaton

Kevin Painter 4-6 Steve Beaton                    Vincent van der Voort 5-6 Andy Smith

Denis Ovens 4-6 Alan Tabern                       Simon Whitlock 6-4 Colin Osborne

Alan Tabern 5-6 Simon Whitlock                   Steve Beaton 6-4 Vincent van der Voort

Colin Osborne 4-6 Denis Ovens                    Andy Smith 4-6 Kevin Painter


Steve Beaton 5-6 Vincent van der Voort      Simon Whitlock 6-4 Andy Smith


Vincent van der Voort 5-6 Simon Whitlock



                                  Pl W  L  Won  Lost  Leg +/-  £Won   Pts  £Total

Steve Beaton            7  6  1   39     23    +16        £1950  12   £2450

Simon Whitlock          7  6  1  39      28    +11        £1950  12   £3150

Andy Smith               7  5  2  39      29    +10         £1950  10    £2350

Vincent v d Voort     7  3  4  35      34     +1          £1750   6      £2850

Alan Tabern             7  3  4  33      35     -2           £1650   6             

Kevin Painter           7  3  4  27      36     -9           £1350   6                            

Denis Ovens           7  2  5  22      34     -12         £1100   4             

Colin Osborne        7  0  7  27      42     -15         £1350    0  

Read more

Joe Murnan and Lorraine Farlam win Nodor Romanian Open Titles 2011

Joe Murnan and Lorraine Farlam won the 2nd Nodor Romanian Open from a field of 200 participants from 14 countries, fighting for a prize fund of 7500 Euros which was hosted by The Rin Grand Hotel B...

Read more


I had a brilliant run and really enjoyed the whole day. I made it to the semi’s in Crondon Park today and would like to congratulate Simon Whitlock for winning through to the Championship League D...

Read more