Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Newton Claims Third Title

Newton Claims Third Title

WES NEWTON won his third Players Championship title with a 6-3 win over Colin Lloyd at Barnsley on Saturday.

The Fleetwood ace^s dream weekend continued at the Barnsley Metrodome, as he followed up qualifying for the Daily Mirror Grand Slam of Darts by taking the £6,000 PDC ProTour title.

Newton began the day in ominous form with a whitewash win over Andy Hutchings, and also defeated Matt Padgett and Arron Monk before edging out Robert Thornton 6-5.

He then overcame Kevin Painter and Steve Beaton to book his place in the final, where he came from 2-1 down to lead 5-2 against Lloyd.

Although the Essex man won the eighth leg to threaten a comeback, Newton pulled clear in the ninth before securing victory with double 16.

The win follows Newton^s Players Championship win in April in Wigan, as he prepares to challenge in the Grand Slam of Darts, which begins next Saturday in Wolverhampton.

Newton^s win denied Lloyd a fifth PDC ProTour win of the year, as the Essex man claimed £3,000 prize money for his day^s work.

Lloyd was made to work hard to reach the final, defeating world number two James Wade as well as Michael van Gerwen, Mervyn King and Mark Webster in the latter stages.

Webster followed up his recent victory in a Players Championship in Germany by reaching the semi-finals, alongside Steve Beaton.

Terry Jenkins, Kevin Painter, Wade and Martyn Turner won through to the quarter-finals to take home £1,000 prize money.

York left-hander Turner began the day with a 6-4 win over world number five Adrian Lewis before edging out both Jelle Klaasen and Dennis Priestley in a deciding leg to progress to the last eight.


Players Championship 34
Preliminary Round
Mark Jones 6-4 Steven Pearson
Wayne Atwood 6-4 Gary Blades
Robert Thornton 6-2 Andy Pearce
Gary Eastwood 6-4 Andy Pearson
Mark Tiller 6-1 Jimi Parr
Steve Musson 6-1 Ken Dobson
Nigel Heydon 6-3 Ken MacNeil


First Round
Gary Anderson (1) 6-1 Tony Blundell
Anastasia Dobromyslova 6-5 Michael Smith
Justin Pipe (32) 6-1 Colin Monk
Andy Relf 6-1 Dylan Duo
Andy Smith (16) 6-3 Mark Cox
Terry Temple 6-2 Steve Hine
Steve Beaton (17) 6-3 Kevin Dowling
Scott Rand 6-1 Mark Jones
Ronnie Baxter (8) 6-1 Ian Lever
Mark Jodrill 6-1 Andy Callaby
Steve Brown (25) 6-1 Dave Ahmet
Louis Blundell 6-2 Chris Daglish
Peter Hudson 6-4 Denis Ovens (9)
Michael Rosenauer 6-3 Darren Latham
Terry Jenkins (24) Bye (Matt Clark timed out)
Lionel Sams 6-5 Martyn Bevan
Vincent van der Voort (5) 6-3 Nick Fullwell
Aodhagan O^Neill 6-4 Mark Lawrence
Darren Johnson 6-3 Steve Farmer (28)
Andy Jenkins 6-5 Andy Fordham
Colin Osborne (12) 6-4 Adrian Gray
Dennis Smith 6-4 Sam Allen
Kevin Painter (21) 6-1 Peter Wright
Wayne Atwood 6-1 Ron Atwill
Wes Newton (4) 6-0 Andy Hutchings
Matt Padgett 6-1 Jon Archer
Kirk Shepherd 6-3 Tony Eccles (29)
Arron Monk 6-4 Steve Grubb
Wayne Jones (13) 6-1 Mick McGowan
Joe Cullen 6-1 Anton Liscsey
Mark Dudbridge (20) 6-1 Steve Cupitt
Robert Thornton 6-5 Jamie Atkins
Colin Lloyd (2) 6-2 Dave Ladley
Mareno Michels 6-4 Ian McFarlane
Michael van Gerwen (31) 6-2 Simon Burt
John MaGowan 6-2 Mark Stephenson
Mervyn King (15) 6-1 Gary Welding
William O^Connor 6-2 Geoff Whitworth
Co Stompe (18) 6-3 Mark Frost
Gary Eastwood 6-1 Sean White
Mark Walsh (7) 6-2 Paul Williams
Chris Iedema 6-0 Norman Fletcher
Roland Scholten 6-5 Richie Burnett (26)
Dave Honey 6-2 Steve Perkins
James Wade (10) 6-1 Danny Pinhorne
Ian White 6-1 Denis McCarthy
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Barrie Bates (23)
Tony Ayres 6-5 Mark Tiller
Martyn Turner 6-4 Adrian Lewis (6)
Ian Jopling 6-5 Chris Thompson
Jelle Klaasen (27) 6-2 Jimmy Mann
Steve Maish 6-2 Robbie Newland
Andy Hamilton (11) 6-1 Darren Weaver
Dave Smith 6-1 Dean Allsopp
Dennis Priestley (22) 6-0 Robert Alford
Steve Musson 6-5 Nigel Birch
Jamie Caven (3) 6-4 Alex Roy
Stephen Hardy 6-5 Stuart Dutton
Paul Nicholson (30) 6-4 Steve Evans
Paul Rowley 6-0 Steve Randall
Mark Webster (14) 6-5 Michael Barnard
Kevin McDine 6-1 Peter Manley
Alan Tabern (19) 6-4 John Part
Nigel Heydon 6-1 Mark Hylton


Second Round
Gary Anderson 6-0 Anastasia Dobromyslova
Justin Pipe 6-2 Andy Relf
Terry Temple 6-2 Andy Smith
Steve Beaton 6-5 Scott Rand
Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Mark Jodrill
Steve Brown 6-2 Louis Blundell
Michael Rosenauer 6-5 Peter Hudson
Terry Jenkins 6-5 Lionel Sams
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Aodhagan O^Neill
Darren Johnson 6-5 Andy Jenkins
Colin Osborne 6-2 Dennis Smith
Kevin Painter 6-4 Wayne Atwood
Wes Newton 6-3 Matt Padgett
Arron Monk 6-4 Kirk Shepherd
Joe Cullen 6-5 Wayne Jones
Robert Thornton 6-3 Mark Dudbridge
Colin Lloyd 6-0 Mareno Michels
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 John MaGowan
Mervyn King 6-5 William O^Connor
Gary Eastwood 6-5 Co Stompe
Mark Walsh 6-0 Chris Iedema
Roland Scholten 6-3 Dave Honey
James Wade 6-4 Ian White
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Tony Ayres
Martyn Turner 6-4 Ian Jopling
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Steve Maish
Dave Smith 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Dennis Priestley 6-2 Steve Musson
Jamie Caven 6-0 Stephen Hardy
Paul Nicholson 6-4 Paul Rowley
Mark Webster 6-2 Kevin McDine
Nigel Heydon 6-0 Alan Tabern
Losers £200


Third Round
Justin Pipe 6-5 Gary Anderson
Steve Beaton 6-0 Terry Temple
Ronnie Baxter 6-5 Steve Brown
Terry Jenkins 6-4 Michael Rosenauer
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Darren Johnson
Kevin Painter 6-1 Colin Osborne
Wes Newton 6-1 Arron Monk
Robert Thornton 6-1 Joe Cullen
Colin Lloyd 6-2 Michael van Gerwen
Mervyn King 6-2 Gary Eastwood
Mark Walsh 6-5 Roland Scholten
James Wade 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Martyn Turner 6-5 Jelle Klaasen
Dennis Priestley 6-1 Dave Smith
Jamie Caven 6-2 Paul Nicholson
Mark Webster 6-5 Nigel Heydon
Losers £300


Fourth Round
Steve Beaton 6-3 Justin Pipe
Terry Jenkins 6-1 Ronnie Baxter
Kevin Painter 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
Wes Newton 6-5 Robert Thornton
Colin Lloyd 6-4 Mervyn King
James Wade 6-4 Mark Walsh
Martyn Turner 6-5 Dennis Priestley
Mark Webster 6-5 Jamie Caven
Losers £500


Steve Beaton 6-1 Terry Jenkins
Wes Newton 6-3 Kevin Painter
Colin Lloyd 6-3 James Wade
Mark Webster 6-3 Martyn Turner
Losers £1,000


Wes Newton 6-1 Steve Beaton
Colin Lloyd 6-3 Mark Webster
Losers £1,500


Wes Newton 6-3 Colin Lloyd
Winner £6,000
Runner-Up £3,000

Read more

The Wrong Bed - The Young Ones

The latest episode of The Wrong Bed is now on iTunes and at Joining us this time are Stuart Kellett, following his fine run to the final of the Winmau World Masters, PDC ...

Read more

PDC Under-21 World Championship - Monk & Van Gerwen Win Through To Final

VAN GERWEN & MONK TO CONTEST UNDER-21 DECIDER MICHAEL VAN GERWEN and Arron Monk will contest the final of the PDC Unicorn Under-21 World Championship after winning through Saturday^s qualifyin...

Read more