Skip to content


Your cart is empty




CASH CONVERTERS has been confirmed as title sponsors of the 2012 World Cup of Darts, which could feature a quarter-final between hosts Germany and top seeds England in Hamburg.

Following last year^s inaugural event, the second Cash Converters World Cup of Darts will be staged at Hamburg^s Alsterdorfer Stadthalle from February 3-5, featuring 24 two-man teams representing countries from around the world.

Televised live on Sky Sports HD, the event will feature a combination of both Doubles and Singles games throughout three days of play.

The PDC is delighted to confirm that Cash Converters has retained their title sponsorship of the £150,000 tournament, which will also be shown live in Holland, Germany, Australia and the Middle East, as well as syndicated worldwide in highlights packages.

"We thank Cash Converters for their continued support of the Professional Darts Corporation and our major events," said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.


"Both the 2010 World Cup of Darts and last December^s Cash Converters Players Championship provided great drama and excitement and we^re thrilled that Cash Converters has continued to back this emerging event."

David Patrick, chief executive of Cash Converters UK, added: "We are delighted to be title sponsors of the PDC World Cup of Darts again this year.

"We recognise that the grassroots popularity of darts is a perfect for our brand and we are pleased to invest in this prestigious event as the sport continues to grow, welcoming new fans year on year."

The First Round of the Cash Converters World Cup of Darts sees the teams ranked 9-24 play off in knockout Doubles matches, before the Second Round sees the top eight seeds - including reigning champions the Netherlands, and the English pair of Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis - enter the fray.

The Second Round will be split across two sessions, with Singles matches being played on Friday night and Doubles games being held on Saturday afternoon, as team^s battle for places in Saturday night^s Quarter-Finals.

The Netherlands - represented by Raymond van Barneveld and Vincent van der Voort - were drawn against Austria or New Zealand as they bid to retain the title they won in December 2010.

England^s Taylor and Lewis have been drawn against Canada or Hungary, with Scotland - featuring Gary Anderson and Peter Wright - playing either Spain, who were semi-finalists in the last World Cup as Antonio Alcinas and Carlos Rodriguez lit up the tournament, or South Africa.

Wales, the runner-up to the Netherlands in 2010, will play either Finland or Croatia, Australia will meet either the Republic of Ireland or Malaysia as they bid to better their previous semi-final finish and Germany meet the USA or Philippines.

Northern Ireland take on Gibraltar or Denmark, and Belgium play Sweden or Japan in the other contest, with the draw having been made by PDC Director Rod Harrington and PDPA Chief Executive Alan Warriner-Little during Qualifying School last weekend.

Tickets for the tournament are already proving highly popular and can be purchased through Tickets range from €8.90-€24.90 per session, with combination tickets available for both daily sessions and/or all sessions throughout the event.

Cash Converters World Cup of Darts

Schedule of Play

All times local (GMT+1)

Friday February 3

Afternoon Session (2pm-6pm)

First Round x8 Games

Best of nine legs, 501 Doubles, loser throws first.

Knockout between teams 9-24 


Order of Play

Canada (John Part & Ken MacNeil) v Hungary (Nandor Bezzeg & Kristian Kaufmann)

Republic of Ireland (William O^Connor/Mick McGowan v Malaysia (Lee Choon Peng/Amin Bin Abdul Ghani)

USA (Darin Young & Gary Mawson) v Philippines (Christian Perez & Lourence Ilagan)

Austria (Mensur Suljovic & Dietmar Burger) v New Zealand (Warren French & Preston Ridd)

Sweden (Magnus Caris & Dennis Nilsson) v Japan (Haruki Muramatsu & Morihiro Hashimoto)

Spain (Antonio Alcinas & Carlos Rodriguez) v South Africa (Devon Petersen & Shawn Hogan)

Finland (Petri Korte & Marko Kantele) v Croatia (Boris Krcmar & Tonci Restovic)

Gibraltar (Dylan Duo & Dyson Parody) v Denmark (Per Laursen & Jann Hoffmann) 


Second Round

Play split across Friday night & Saturday afternoon sessions

Draw Bracket - to be used from Second Round onwards

England (1) v Canada/Hungary

Germany (8) v USA/Philippines

Wales (5) v Finland/Croatia

Scotland (4) v Spain/South Africa

Australia (2) v Republic of Ireland/Malaysia

Belgium (7) v Sweden/Japan

Northern Ireland (6) v Gibraltar/Denmark

Netherlands (3) v Austria/New Zealand


Evening Session (8pm-12am)

16 x Singles matches. Top ranked player from each team plays second ranked player from opposing team.

Best of seven legs, 501 Singles, loser throws first.

One point awarded for each match winner.

Northern Ireland v Gibraltar/Denmark

Brendan Dolan v Dyson Parody/Jann Hoffman

Michael Mansell v Dylan Duo/Per Laursen

Belgium v Sweden/Japan

Kim Huybrechts v Dennis Nilsson/Morihiro Hashimoto

Kurt Van De Rijck v Magnus Caris/Haruki Muramatsu

Australia v Republic of Ireland/Malaysia

Simon Whitlock v Mick McGowan/Amin Bin Abdul Ghani

Paul Nicholson v William O^Connor/Lee Choon Peng

Wales v Finland/Croatia

Mark Webster v Marko Kantele/Tonci Restovic

Richie Burnett v Petri Korte/Boris Krcmar

Germany v USA/Philippines

Jyhan Artut v Gary Mawson/Lourence Ilagan

Bernd Roith v Darin Young/Christian Perez

Scotland v Spain/South Africa

Gary Andersno v Carlos Rodriguez/Shawn Hogan

Peter Wright v Antonio Alcinas/Devon Petersen

England v Canada/Hungary

Phil Taylor v Ken MacNeil/Kristian Kaufmann

Adrian Lewis v John Part/Nandor Bezzeg

Netherlands v Austria/New Zealand

Raymond van Barneveld v Dietmar Burger/Preston Ridd

Vincent van der Voort v Mensur Suljovic/Warren French


Saturday February 4

Afternoon Session (2.30pm-6.30pm)

Second Round

8x Doubles matches. Best of nine legs, 501 Doubles, loser throws first. 

Two points awarded for each match winner. In the event of this resulting in a 2-2 tie between countries, a sudden death doubles leg will take place with the team who threw first in the doubles match throwing first for the bull in the sudden death leg.

Order of Play

Northern Ireland v Gibraltar/Denmark

Belgium v Sweden/Japan

Australia v Republic of Ireland/Malaysia

Wales v Finland/Croatia

Germany v USA/Philippines

Scotland v Spain/South Africa

England v Canada/Hungary

Netherlands v Austria/New Zealand


Evening Session (8pm-12am)


4x Quarter-Final ties. Play proceeds in bracket order from the Second Round onwards.

Same format as Second Round, with Doubles match immediately following second Singles match in each tie.

Order of Play TBC


Sunday February 5

Afternoon Session (3pm-6.30pm)


2x Semi-Final ties.

Semi-finals consist of four best of nine leg Singles games followed by a best of nine leg Doubles match (if required). 

One point is awarded per singles match won, two per doubles. Loser throws first. 

If the match finishes all square (3-3), a sudden-death Doubles leg will be played with a bull-up on stage to determine who throws first. Once a team has an unassailable lead, the tie is over and no further matches shall be played.

Order of Play TBC


Evening Session (8pm-11.30pm)


Same format as semi-finals but matches played over the best of 15 legs.


Read more

Darts Results

PDC Tour Card Qualifying School results. Played 22/01/2012. Qualifiers were... Johnny Haines Jamie Lewis Bernd Roith Dave Smith

Read more

Darts Results

DPA Australian Matchplay results. Played 22/01/2012. Sean Reed beat Rob Modra in the final.

Read more