Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Alan Towe’s The Line – Warwickshire Go Down and Move Up!!

Alan Towe’s The Line – Warwickshire Go Down and Move Up!!

Playing at home at the Bishopsgate Club, Foleshill Road, Coventry, proved to be no advantage whatsoever for Warwickshire in their second, of a scheduled fixtures, in the premier division of the Riley’s BDO Inter County Championship.

Opposition came in the form of Oxfordshire, who last season finished one place below Warwickshire in seventh place and five points behind them. So expectations were high for a good result for the hosts, who need the points to lift them off the foot of the table.

Saturday’s games went quite well as the ladies ‘B’ finished all square at 3-3 with Louise Graham, with a 19.78 average taking the match award for the second consecutive game. The men’s ‘B’ side bounced back from their massive 11-1 defeat against Yorkshire to record a fine 8-4 win with Mark Archer and Steve Giddings sharing the match award, both of them having a 27.70 average.

Sunday’s results were not so good. The ladies, for the second time lost 4-2, Trina Gulliver returning to winning ways to atle the lady of the match award with a 21.57 average. The men however, went down 8-4, with Tom Aldridge their top player with a 26.03 average.

Despite the overall 19-17 defeat it was not all bad news as with other teams around Warwickshire losing they actually got off the bottom of the table and moved up two places.

Full results:

Warwickshire v Oxfordshire (17-19):(Warwickshire names first):

Men’s ‘A’:-

Mark Carter 1 Michael Burgoine 4

Richard Foster 4 John Russell 1

Noel Grant 3 Peter Hall 4

Jamie Atkins 3 Preben Krabben 4

David Harris 4 Terry Davis 0

Mark Strong 0 Jon Jukes 4

Colin Laffar 2 Nick Cobb 4

Tom McGlone 1 Lee Russell 4

Ian McFarlane 0 Stuart Dutton 4

Tom Aldridge 4 Ade Larner 0

Peter Hughes 4 Kevin Lowe 3

Tom Ryan 2 Stuart White 4

Men’s ‘B’:-

Jim Hill 1 Dion Newman 4

Mark Archer 4 John Newland 3

Steve Giddings 4 Andy Thomas 1

Mark Birch 4 Aaron Stevens 1

Mark Westgarth 4 Damien Kidd 2

Carl Green 4 Joe Palmer 3

Mark Sidgwick 2 Dean Lockyer 4

David Atkins 4 Stuart Robinson 1

David Sanders 2 Keith Bedding 4

Martin Bowley 4 Graham Manning 0

Antony Allen 4 Phil Addison 0

Paul Deslandes 0 Michael Kearns 4

Ladies ‘A’:-

Caroline Pike 3 Fiona Carmichael 1

Trina Gulliver 3 Kim Ledbury 1

Donna Pinch 0 Belinda Grant 3

Angela Jones 0 Clare Bywaters 3

Denise Burke 0 Deta Hedman 3

Terri Bellamy 2 Sandra Cox 3

Ladies ‘B’:-

Tracey Edgecombe 1 Cath Birch 3

Kat Spanwick 3 Tina Hamilton 2

Kim Morris 2 Nicola Curzon 3

Wendy Adams 3 Shirley Castle 1

Marian Conway 1 Julie Newman 3

Louise Graham 3 Cali Birch 0.

Read more

Darts Results

French Open results. Played 07/10/2012. Wesley Harms defeated Max Hopp to win the final. Supplied by Darts Database

Read more


MICHAEL VAN GERWEN and Mervyn King will contest the final of the World Grand Prix on Sunday night following superb semi-final performances to defeat Wes Newton and Brendan Dolan at t...

Read more