Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: 2009 Whyte & Mackay Premier League

2009 Whyte & Mackay Premier League

THE 2009 Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts will begin in Liverpool next February and also visit new arenas in Edinburgh and Exeter before culminating in the play-offs at the Wembley Arena.

The £400,000 tournament will return in February 2009, kicking off at the Liverpool Echo Arena - which hosted the biggest ever crowd for a PDC event of almost 8,000 this year.


’s Royal Highland Centre and the Westpoint Arena in Exeter will join some of the UK^s biggest indoor venues, including Belfast^s Odyssey Arena, the M.E.N. Arena in Manchester, Birmingham^s NIA, the Sheffield Arena and Newcastle^s Metro Radio Arena, in hosting Premier League Darts next year.

The tournament, screened live on Sky Sports, will come to a conclusion with the play-offs on Monday May 25 at the Wembley Arena - coinciding with the Football League play-offs at the neighbouring Wembley Stadium over the same weekend.

The visit to Edinburgh means that three venues will stage the event in Scotland next year, alongside the SECC in Glasgow and the AECC in Aberdeen, with Cardiff’s CIA hosting the Welsh leg of the tournament on the final league night.

"The Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts has grown to become the biggest indoor sporting event in the UK over the past four years," said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

"Its development into a major arena spectacle has been nothing short of sensational - it^s the ticket every sports fan in the UK wants!"

Phil Taylor claimed a fourth successive title in Cardiff in May 2008, and will be one of the eight competitors battling for the £125,000 first prize next year.

"The Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts is a massive tournament now and I love competing in it," said Taylor.

"It was amazing this year to play in front of such massive crowds every week - it was like a Cup Final wherever we went and I^m sure it will be brilliant again next year."

The eight competitors for the 2009 Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts will be confirmed in January, with the top six players from the PDC Order of Merit, following the World Darts Championship joined by two Wildcard selections.

Tickets will go on sale exclusively to Annual Subscribers to the DartsTV service at the PDC’s official website, www,, for a week from Monday September 1.

Subscribers must be registered with DartsTV by midnight on Wednesday August 27 to be eligible to purchase tickets during this priority period and subscribers can register at Tickets will be limited to six per subscriber per event.

Tickets will then go on general sale from Monday September 8.

Tickets will be priced at £30 on the floor and £20 in the tiered seating at all venues.

The 2009 Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts will also see the introduction of a Family Enclosure at each venue. Fans wishing to purchase tickets in this area should specify this when booking tickets.

2009 Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts

February 5


Echo Arena

February 12

Royal Highland Centre, Edinburgh

February 19

Ricoh Arena, Coventry

February 26

Odyssey Arena, Belfast

March 5

Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle

March 12

M.E.N. Arena, Manchester

March 19



March 26

N.I.A. Birmingham

April 2

S.E.C.C. Glasgow

April 9

Westpoint Arena, Exeter

April 16

Trent FM Arena, Nottingham

April 23

A.E.C.C. Aberdeen

April 30



May 7

C.I.A. Cardiff



May 25

Wembley Arena

* Tickets will also be available via the PDC Ticket Line. Full details of Box Office numbers will be available in due course.

* Please note that all tickets may be subject to a booking fee and/or service charge.

Full Terms & Conditions of ticket sales are available at

Read more

Darts comedy on the oche

ITV4 is set to order its first original comedy programme – a one-off mockumentary from Trainspotting writer Irvine Welsh. Good Arrows is about a darts player who loses his nerve after suffering a ...

Read more


THE groups for the inaugural Championship League Darts have been confirmed - with Phil Taylor and James Wade among the players to compete on the opening day of the new event. The new tournament, s...

Read more