Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Ranking Stage 7 of the Streamline Taxis York Open Darts Championship

Ranking Stage 7 of the Streamline Taxis York Open Darts Championship

"Lawrence Cops out in last leg shootout"

David Copley took the deciding leg in 15 darts to win his first Ranking Stage of the Streamline Taxis York Open Darts Championship organised in Association with Red Dragon Darts.

Copley also added 14 and 16 darts in his 5-4 victory over Mark Lawrence who included 15-17 and 18.

Earlier Copley (14) beat Humberside pair Tommy Lishman (112 finish for 15-17-19) 4-3 in the semi-finals and Jake Patchett 3-1 in the 1/4 Finals.

Lawrence (147 checkout for 15, 2 x 17 and 13) stopped the ever consistant Brian Dawson (15-18-14) 4-3 in the second semi-final and legs of 19-17-17 halted Harrogates Alex Pride advance in the quarter finals 3-1.

Danny Lidgett lost out to Lishman 3-2 whilst Dawson (15) beat Steve Vine (18) by the same margin to complete the quartet of results.

The last 16 results were as follows:

Richard Heathcote 0 Daniel Lidgett 3
Scott Bennett 1 Tommy Lishman (2 x 15) 3
Steve Kemp (Snr) 0 David Copley 3
John Holden (17) 1 Jake Patchett (20-21-17) 3
Mark Hartley (14) 2 Alex Pride (17-20) 3
Curtis Turner 2 Mark Lawrence 3
Peter Rushby 0 Brian Dawson (17-15-17) 3
Andy Walshaw (21) 2 Steve Vine (16-18) 3

The highlights in Group One came from Richard Heathcote 118 finish for 18 and 17 darts, Daniel Llidgett (17-21), Scott Bennett 18-106 finish for 21-19-20 and 14 and Tommy Lishman 21-20-20-16-21.

Group Two saw Rich Lee (19) losing out 3-1 to Steve Kemp (Snr) (2x20), Bill Hague (15), John Holden (130 bull finish for 18-21 and 21) and Jake Patchett 100 finish for 18, 116 finish for 15 and 15 were the best of the rest.

Mark Hartley hit a 126 checkout added to legs of 21-17 and 12 darts in Group Three with Rich Corner (15, 2 x 18) defeating Neil Hart (18) 3-1. Alex Pride (2 x 19), Curtis Turner (20 and 13), Aaron Holdstock (20) and Steve Mann (19).

Eighteen darters came from James Weldon, Peter Rushby, Steve Vine and Andy Walshaw in Group Four. Keith Craggs and Jamie Planton included 21 dart legs whilst Brian Dawson added a 13.

There was a total of 19 x 180^s recorded on the day with Mark Hartley hitting three. Richard Heathcote, Steve Mann and Rich Corner had two each with Daniel Lidgett, John Holden, Steve Kemp (Snr), Alex Pride, Brian Dawson, Curtis Turner, Mark Lawrence, Lee Budgeon, Dave Kerr and Gordon Leeming hit one each.

Neil Hart and Martin Wilson won the Blind Pairs event with Hart taking out a 146 finish to win 2-1 over Chris Mathews and Mark Hartley. Beaten Semi-finalists were Trevor Day/Alex Pride and Jonny Scott/Ian Atkin.

Stage 8 takes place this Saturday (17th May) at Huntington WMC in York with the registration closing at 12.30pm for a 1pm start. Prize money is down to the 1/4 Finals with Cosmo Darts, who are new sponsors to YDP adding Fit Flight products, as supplied by Red Dragon Darts to the prizes. The Stage Winner, Runner-up and beaten Semi-finalists all receive various products from Cosmo Darts as does the highest checkout and fastest leg.

Read more

Marine Bouthouse Darts – Knockout and Red Dragon Champion of Champions Qualifier

The Marine Boathouse May k/o took place on the 11th May, and a fair turnout of 29 players paid their £10 entry giving the winner £140, and £70 to the runner up, paying down to quarter finalists. ...

Read more

Scotty Mitchell Wins Munsterland Open/Classic – The Dog’s Diary

On the Saturday was Munsterland Open where I lost out in a tight 4-3 in last 16 against who new name to me Daniel Zygla. He went on to make the semi finals. The eventual winner was Rick Hofstra b...

Read more