Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: PDC Media Release - Canadian Double For Priestley

PDC Media Release - Canadian Double For Priestley

Winmau’s Dennis Priestley has retained the Canadian Players Championship title with a 6-4 defeat of Wes Newton.

Priestley claimed the £5,000 title in Canada for a second successive year with an impressive return to action.

The veteran has not competed since the World Matchplay, when he lost in round one to Denis Ovens, but swept aside the field at the Hilton London Ontario.

He whitewashed Shaun Warwick and Ernie Cavanagh in his opening two games before picking up a narrow 6-4 win over Matt Clark.

Priestley then restricted Andy Jenkins and Roland Scholten to a total of three legs in the quarter-finals and semi-finals before denying Newton a first PDC Pro Tour win.

Newton took the opening leg of the final against the throw, before Priestley won three of the next four to lead 3-2, including a 14-darter.

Newton landed two 140s in levelling in the sixth and also hit a maximum and an 81 finish to break throw again and lead 4-3.

Priestley hit two 140s and a 121 checkout in hitting back to level and then held his throw to lead 5-4 - before hitting his first 180 of the game and then a 154 checkout to wrap up victory.

Newton^s display was his best on the circuit this year and also saw him reach his first Players Championship final since June 2007, and also increases his hopes of qualifying for October^s Skybet World Grand Prix.

Scholten - whose last year has been dogged by a shoulder injury - included Canada^s three-time World Champion John Part, Peter Manley and Alan Tabern amongst his victims in his best display since reaching the semis at the 2008 Las Vegas Desert Classic.

Last week^s Australian Open Players Championship winner Paul Nicholson enjoyed a strong challenge for back-to-back wins, but was defeated 6-4 in the semis by Newton.

Kevin Painter was a first round victim to experienced Canadian Bob Sinnaeve, who competed in ten World Championships until 1992.

Darin Young was the leading north American on the day, reaching the quarter-finals, while Jim Long and Bernie Miller reached the last 16.

Canadian Players Championship

Preliminary Round

Board One

Dennis Priestley (1) Bye

Shaun Warwick 6-1 Peter Hewetson

James Hine 6-4 Mark Nielsen (32)

Ernie Cavanagh 6-2 Dave Fralic

Board Two

Matt Clark (16) Bye

Glen Fraser 6-1 Jason Roker

Barrie Bates (17) Bye

Norm Wylie 6-0 Jared Gurman

Board Three

Kevin Painter (8) Bye

Bob Sinnaeve 6-0 Ron Schmidt

Larry Butler (25) 6-0 Mark Pritchick

Jim Long 6-1 Charlie Vandenakker

Board Four

Andy Jenkins (9) Bye

Terry Hayhurst 6-3 Gary Glidden

Andy Rust 6-4 Par Riihonen (24)

Ryan Killian 6-5 Chuck Pankow

Board Five

Alan Tabern (5) Bye

Doug Boehm 6-0 Goby Logan

Ray Carver (28) 6-4 Wayne Budgen

Ben Norrad 6-2 Ron Wilcox

Board Six

Peter Manley (12) Bye

Jeff Noble 6-5 Jim Newman 5-6 Jeff Noble

Roland Scholten (21) 6-2 Paul Cockings

Andrew Wilson 6-5 Stuart Brown

Board Seven

Robert Thornton (4) Bye

Brian Ross 6-3 Don Cowan

Bernie Miller 6-2 Dan Olsen (29)

Nicholas Holmes 6-4 Mike Mills

Board Eight

Steve Maish (13) Bye

Mark Green 6-0 Todd Thomas

John Part (20) Bye

Al Moskwyn 6-1 Edwin Martin

Board Nine

Mark Walsh (2) Bye

Dave Richardson 6-1 Kelly Doyle

Shawn Brenneman (31) 6-0 Chris Arsenault

Roger Furoy 6-3 Fabian White

Board Ten

Paul Nicholson (15) Bye

Billy McLeod 6-0 Richard Harris

Kevin McDine (18) Bye

David Green 6-5 Chris Simmons

Board 11

Denis Ovens (7) Bye

Gary Robinson 6-0 Brent Closs

Darin Young (26) 6-1 Chris Greenwood

Dave Switzer 6-0 Steven Wilcox

Board 12

Tony Eccles (10) Bye

Kevin Killian 6-5 Lee McGuire

Mark Webster (23) 6-0 Kory Nichols

Sean Boussen 6-1 Bill Penn

Board 13

Terry Jenkins (6) Bye

Jayson Barlow 6-0 Benjamin Thagichu

Bill Davis (27) 6-1 Karen Coddington

Steve Hill 6-3 Daniel Thibaudeau

Board 14

Co Stompe (11) Bye

Mike Mainville 6-3 William Gibson

Gary Mawson (22) 6-3 Mike Aubrey

Ross Snook 6-1 Daniel Mailloux

Board 15

Ronnie Baxter (3) Bye

Sean Smyth 6-1 Preston Noonan

Gerry Convery (30) 6-0 Paul DiCecca

Andre Carman 6-0 Cathie Beaudry

Board 16

Wes Newton (14) Bye

Sean Lodge 6-0 Derrick Thomas

Steve Hine (19) Bye

Ken MacNeil 6-1 Pete Riehl

First Round

Dennis Priestley 6-0 Shaun Warwick

Ernie Cavanagh 6-0 James Hind

Matt Clark 6-0 Glenn Fraser

Barrie Bates 6-1 Norm Wylie

Bob Sinnaeve 6-4 Kevin Painter

Jim Long 6-3 Larry Butler

Andy Jenkins 6-2 Terry Hayhurst

Ryan Killian 6-4 Andy Rust

Alan Tabern 6-2 Doug Boehm

Ray Carver 6-1 Ben Norrad

Peter Manley 6-4 Jeff Noble

Roland Scholten 6-2 Andrew Wilson

Robert Thornton 6-1 Brian Ross

Bernie Miller 6-0 Nicholas Holmes

Steve Maish 6-0 Mark Green

John Part 6-1 Al Moskwyn

Mark Walsh 6-4 Dave Richardson

Shawn Brenneman 6-2 Roger Furoy

Paul Nicholson 6-3 Billy McLeod

Kevin McDine 6-2 David Green

Denis Ovens 6-1 Gary Robinson

Darun Young 6-2 Dave Switzer

Tony Eccles 6-0 Kevin Killian

Mark Webster 6-0 Sean Boussen

Terry Jenkins 6-1 Jayson Barlow

Bill Davis 6-4 Steve Hill

Co Stompe 6-0 Mike Mainville

Gary Mawson 6-2 Ross Snook

Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Sean Smyth

Andre Carman 6-5 Gerry Convery

Wes Newton 6-0 Sean Lodge

Steve Hine 6-4 Ken MacNeil

Losers £100

Second Round

Dennis Priestley 6-0 Ernie Cavanagh

Matt Clark 6-5 Barrie Bates

Jim Long 6-3 Bob Sinnaeve

Andy Jenkins 6-1 Ryan Killian

Alan Tabern 6-0 Ray Carver

Roland Scholten 6-2 Peter Manley

Bernie Miller 6-3 Robert Thornton

John Part 6-3 Steve Maish

Mark Walsh 6-1 Shawn Brenneman

Paul Nicholson 6-1 Kevin McDine

Darin Young 6-5 Denis Ovens

Tony Eccles 6-4 Mark Webster

Terry Jenkins 6-1 Bill Davis

Co Stompe 6-2 Gary Mawson

Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Andrew Carman

Wes Newton 6-4 Steve Hine

Losers £200

Third Round

Dennis Priestley 6-4 Matt Clark

Andy Jenkins 6-4 Jim Long

Roland Scholten 6-1 Alan Tabern

John Part 6-3 Bernie Miller

Paul Nicholson 6-5 Mark Walsh

Darin Young 6-4 Tony Eccles

Terry Jenkins 6-2 Co Stompe

Wes Newton 6-5 Ronnie Baxter

Losers £300


Dennis Priestley 6-1 Andy Jenkins

Roland Scholten 6-3 John Part

Paul Nicholson 6-1 Darin Young

Wes Newton 6-3 Terry Jenkins

Losers £700


Dennis Priestley 6-2 Roland Scholten

Wes Newton 6-4 Paul Nicholson

Losers £1,250


Dennis Priestley 6-4 Wes Newton

Winner £5,000

Runner-Up £2,500

Read more

Darts Results

Swedish Open results. Played 16/08/2009.Willy van de Wiel defeated Anders Astrom to win the final.Supplied by Darts Database

Read more

Darts Results

Staithes Open results. Played 15/08/2009.Glen Durrant defeated Peter Searle to win the final.Supplied by Darts Database

Read more