Skip to content


Your cart is empty



DENIS OVENS won his first PDC Pro tour event since 2007 with victory over Gary Anderson in the final of Sunday^s Gibraltar Players Championship.

Ovens claimed the £6,000 title with a fine day of darts in the Tercentenary Sports Hall, picking up his first win in two-and-a-half years and reaching a final for the first time in 16 months.

In a day of steadily improving form, he overcame Tony Blundell, Andy Relf and Par Riihonen in the early stages before blowing away Mark Dudbridge and Andy Hamilton 6-1 and dropping just two legs against Steve Evans.

He enjoyed a thrilling final against Hamilton, hitting two 180s in taking a 4-2 lead before Anderson took out 78 and 96 to level.

A 120 finish put Ovens 5-4 up, with Anderson taking the tenth leg but having no answer in the decider, as the Stevenage man hit another 180 and took out 96 for the title.

Anderson was in blistering form in the early rounds, dropping only two legs in victories against Bryan De Hoog, Tab Hunter, Wayne Atwood and Robert Thornton before sweeping past Terry Jenkins 6-3 and seeing off Nigel Heydon 6-2 in the semi-finals.

Heydon, an undertaker from Leamington Spa who competed as an amateur qualifier in the 2007 UK Open, celebrated his debut weekend on the PDC Pro Tour by reaching the semi-finals.

He overcame Darren Johnson, Andy Smith, Paul Nicholson, Kevin McDine and James Wade in an excellent run before losing to Anderson, but takes home the biggest paycheck of his darts career with £1,500.

Hamilton^s run to the last four saw him match Anderson in dropping only two legs in his first four games, including a whitewash of Colin Osborne - who he will now practice with on a regular basis after moving to Derby.

Welsh pair Steve Evans and Richie Burnett enjoyed fine runs, with Evans defeating John Part and Colin Lloyd - the winner of Saturday^s Eddie Cox Memorial Trophy - in reaching the quarter-finals.

Wade reached the last eight for a second successive day, while Jenkins battled past Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts rival Adrian Lewis in progressing to the quarters.

The day also featured the first nine-dart finish of 2010, as Matt Clark achieved the feat in his first round win over Dave Askew, earning him a £3,600 bonus.

Gibraltar Players Championship

Preliminary Round

John MaGowan 6-2 George Ramos

Mareno Michels 6-3 Dyson Parody

John Quantock 6-2 Jeremy Cruz

Chris Loudon 6-0 Jimmy King

Manolo Vilerio 6-3 Miguel Tejero

Christian Tosso 6-5 Geoff Whitworth

Marko Puls 6-0 Kevin Negron

Harry Parody 6-3 Steve Randall

Dennis Smith 6-3 Daz Mawer

Christian Robba 6-4 Alan Kimberley

Adrian Gray 6-1 David Bautista

Mark Stephenson 6-5 Nick Fullwell

Rocco Maes 6-2 Salvador Santiago

Sebastijan Pecjak 6-2 Francisco Arias

Maik Langendorf 6-4 David Rodriguez

Michael Barnard 6-0 Alvaro Gonzalez

Andy Relf 6-2 Francisco Lucena

John Part 6-0 Wayne Mardle

Steve Evans 6-5 Steve Grubb

Darren Webster 6-2 Michael Frydendahl

First Round

Mark Walsh (1) 6-3 Jason Clark

Joe Cullen 6-0 Andree Welge

Kevin McDine (32) 6-4 Tony Randell

John MaGowan 6-1 Mareno Michels

Andy Smith (16) 6-0 Lee White

Nigel Heydon 6-4 Darren Johnson

Paul Nicholson (17) 6-2 Carlos Rodriguez

John Quantock 6-0 Michael Schmidt

James Wade (8) 6-1 Ian Eames

Louis Blundell 6-0 Agustin Hernandez

Jelle Klaasen (25) 6-2 Rafael Carrero

Steve Maish 6-2 Chris Loudon

Ronnie Baxter (9) 6-1 Mick McGowan

Dave Honey 6-2 Matthew Wenham

Co Stompe (24) 6-0 Dave Ahmet

Colin Monk 6-3 Manolo Vilerio

Gary Anderson (5) 6-1 Bryan De Hoog

Tab Hunter 6-4 Stuart Bousfield

Wayne Atwood 6-3 Steve Hine (28)

Michael Kloenhammer 6-0 Christian Tosso

Robert Thornton (12) 6-1 Jon Archer

Barrie Bates 6-1 Raul Lazaro

Kevin Painter (21) 6-5 Darren Latham

Marko Puls 6-2 Sam Allen

Adrian Lewis (4) 6-1 Michel Helder

Tony Martin 6-3 George Federico

Peter Manley (29) 6-2 Ian MacFarlane

Dennis Smith 6-3 Harry Parody

Vincent van der Voort (13) 6-0 Carsten Christensen

Mark Jodrill 6-0 Jann Hoffmann

Terry Jenkins (20) 6-0 Stefan Federico

Christian Robba 6-3 Paul Wills

Colin Osborne (2) 6-0 Glenn Cameron

Keith Rooney 6-1 Kirk Shepherd

Matt Clark (31) 6-4 Dave Askew - Matt Clark hits nine-dart finish

Adrian Gray 6-1 Mark Stephenson

Alan Tabern (15) 6-2 Alex Roy

Mark Webster 6-0 Mark Robinson

Andy Hamilton (18) 6-0 Jim Leighton

Peter Hudson 6-1 Rocco Maes

Wes Newton (7) 6-2 James Barton

Tomas Seyler 6-1 Mike Roberts

Tony Eccles (26) 6-3 Michael Rosenauer

Sebastijan Pecjak 6-1 Gary Mawson

Wayne Jones (10) 6-2 Mark Lawrence

Justin Pipe 6-2 Justin Broton

Tony Ayres 6-2 Peter Wright (23)

Maik Langendorf 6-4 Simon Craven

Steve Beaton (6) 6-4 Dylan Duo

Antonio Estelerric 6-3 Didier De Vuyst

Mark Dudbridge (27) 6-1 Carlos Martinez

Michael Barnard 6-1 Mark Hylton

Jamie Caven (11) 6-1 Henry Zapata

Par Riihonen 6-1 Danny Peach

Denis Ovens (22) 6-4 Tony Blundell

Andy Relf 6-2 Mario Masurka

Colin Lloyd (3) 6-2 Dave Ladley

Jyhan Artut 6-1 Anastasia Dobromyslova

Steve Brown (30) 6-1 Martyn Turner

Steve Evans 6-5 John Part

Richie Burnett 6-1 Michael van Gerwen (14)

Lars Erkelenz 6-0 Alex Nunez

Chris Thompson 6-2 Mervyn King (19)

Roland Scholten 6-0 Darren Webster

Second Round

Mark Walsh 6-0 Joe Cullen

Kevin McDine 6-1 John MaGowan

Nigel Heydon 6-1 Andy Smith

Paul Nicholson 6-4 John Quantock

James Wade 6-0 Louis Blundell

Steve Maish 6-5 Jelle Klaasen

Ronnie Baxter 6-3 Dave Honey

Co Stompe 6-3 Colin Monk

Gary Anderson 6-1 Tab Hunter

Wayne Atwood 6-5 Michael Kloenhammer

Robert Thornton 6-3 Barrie Bates

Marko Puls 6-2 Kevin Painter

Adrian Lewis 6-2 Tony Martin

Dennis Smith 6-5 Peter Manley

Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Mark Jodrill

Terry Jenkins 6-0 Christian Robba

Colin Osborne 6-3 Keith Rooney

Adrian Gray 6-3 Matt Clark

Mark Webster 6-5 Alan Tabern

Andy Hamilton 6-1 Peter Hudson

Wes Newton 6-3 Tomas Seyler

Tony Eccles 6-2 Sebastijan Pecjak

Wayne Jones 6-2 Justin Pipe

Tony Ayres 6-1 Maik Langendorf

Antonio Estelerric 6-4 Steve Beaton

Mark Dudbridge 6-0 Michael Barnard

Par Riihonen 6-4 Jamie Caven

Denis Ovens 6-2 Andy Relf

Colin Lloyd 6-3 Jyhan Artut

Steve Evans 6-3 Steve Brown

Richie Burnett 6-2 Lars Erkelenz

Chris Thompson 6-0 Roland Scholten

Losers £200

Third Round

Kevin McDine 6-4 Mark Walsh

Nigel Heydon 6-3 Paul Nicholson

James Wade 6-3 Steve Maish

Co Stompe 6-1 Ronnie Baxter

Gary Anderson 6-0 Wayne Atwood

Robert Thornton 6-4 Marko Puls

Adrian Lewis 6-5 Dennis Smith

Terry Jenkins 6-2 Vincent van der Voort

Colin Osborne 6-4 Adrian Gray

Andy Hamilton 6-1 Mark Webster

Wes Newton 6-4 Tony Eccles

Wayne Jones 6-1 Tony Ayres

Mark Dudbridge 6-4 Antonio Estelerric

Denis Ovens 6-2 Par Riihonen

Steve Evans 6-5 Colin Lloyd

Richie Burnett 6-2 Chris Thompson

Losers £300

Fourth Round

Nigel Heydon 6-3 Kevin McDine

James Wade 6-3 Co Stompe

Gary Anderson 6-0 Robert Thornton

Terry Jenkins 6-5 Adrian Lewis

Andy Hamilton 6-0 Colin Osborne

Wes Newton 6-2 Wayne Jones

Denis Ovens 6-1 Mark Dudbridge

Steve Evans 6-5 Richie Burnett

Losers £500


Nigel Heydon 6-3 James Wade

Gary Anderson 6-3 Terry Jenkins

Andy Hamilton 6-5 Wes Newton

Denis Ovens 6-2 Steve Evans

Losers £1,000


Gary Anderson 6-2 Nigel Heydon

Denis Ovens 6-1 Andy Hamilton

Losers £1,500


Denis Ovens 6-5 Gary Anderson

Winner £6,000

Runner-Up £3,000

Read more


Today Whyte & Mackay announced an exciting new partnership that will aim to raise awareness and funds for the Everyman male cancer campaign throughout the upcoming 2010 Whyte & Mackay Prem...

Read more

Trina Gulliver New Website

Record breaking Trina Gulliver gets a new website to celebrate her 8th World Championship title. The Blond Bombshell has bounced right back to form and you can keep up with her on her new site at:...

Read more