Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: World Darts Championship Schedule Of Play World Darts Championship Schedule Of Play


THE schedule of play for the World Darts Championship has been confirmed.

The tournament will begin on Thursday December 16, with reigning champion Phil Taylor in action on the opening night alongside former Lakeside World Champions Steve Beaton and Mark Webster.

The event opens with the clash between Paul Nicholson - January^s Players Championship Finals winner and a quarter-finalist two years ago at Alexandra Palace - up against debutant Steve Farmer, who won a Players Championship in September to ensure his World Championship debut.

Friday^s second night of action includes number five seed Adrian Lewis up against Tony Eccles, former semi-finalist Colin LLoyd against Andree Welge, Co Stompe, Ronnie Baxter and Roland Scholten - who could compete twice should he win his preliminary round clash with Finland^s Veijo Viinikka.

2010 runner-up Simon Whitlock plays Steve Evans on the third night of the event on Saturday December 18, with Andy Hamilton and Gary Anderson also in action, while 2005 finalist Mark Dudbridge plays PDPA Qualifier Alex Roy.

Three-time World Champion John Part will enter the fray on Sunday December 19, while Wayne Jones, Robert Thornton and Wes Newton are the other seeded players in action on the fourth night of play.

Monday^s play will feature world number two James Wade up against Spanish debutant Antonio Alcinas, while Kevin Painter - the 2004 runner-up - takes on Brendan Dolan and Alan Tabern plays resurgent Richie Burnett.

Dutch trio Michael van Gerwen, Jelle Klaasen and Vincent van der Voort all play on Tuesday evening, alongside number seven seed Terry Jenkins, who plays newcomer Joe Cullen.

2007 World Darts Champion Raymond van Barneveld begins his challenge for a sixth World Championship on Wednesday against Steve Hine, with Barrie Bates playing Kevin McDine and Derby duo Jamie Caven and Colin Osborne also in action.

The final night of first round action on Thursday December 23 will include two-time World Champion Dennis Priestley up against Germany^s Bernd Roith, 2009 semi-finalist Mervyn King, Mark Walsh up against Justin Pipe and Andy Smith playing Australia^s Shane Tichowitsch.

The tournament will break for Christmas from December 24-26 before returning for the second round on Monday December 27.

The second round will be played on December 27, 28 and 29, with the third round beginning in the evening of December 29 and continuing with six games on December 30.

Following a break for New Year^s Eve, the tournament wll resume with the quarter-finals on New Year^s Day, with the semi-finals being played on January 2 and the final on Monday January 3.

Tickets for the World Darts Championship are still available from via 0871 220 0260. World Darts Championship
Schedule of Play

First Round
Thursday December 16
Paul Nicholson v Steve Farmer
Gary Mawson v Juanito Gionzon (P)
Steve Beaton v Mark Hylton
Mark Webster v Steve Maish
Phil Taylor v Mawson/Gionzon


Friday December 17
Co Stompe v Peter Wright
Roland Scholten v Veijo Viinikka (P)
Colin Lloyd v Andree Welge
Adrian Lewis v Tony Eccles
Ronnie Baxter v Scholten/Viinikka


Saturday December 18
Andy Hamilton v Dennis Smith
Matt Padgett v Morihiro Hashimoto (P)
Mark Dudbridge v Alex Roy
Simon Whitlock v Steve Evans
Gary Anderson v Padgett/Hashimoto


Sunday December 19
Wayne Jones v Rob Modra
Per Laursen v Boris Krcmar (P)
Robert Thornton v Nigel Heydon
Wes Newton v Darin Young
John Part v Laursen/Krcmar


Monday December 20
Alan Tabern v Richie Burnett
Jyhan Artut v Scott Mackenzie (P)
Kevin Painter v Brendan Dolan
James Wade v Antonio Alcinas
Denis Ovens v Artut/Mackenzie


Tuesday December 21
Mensur Suljovic v Michael van Gerwen
Michael Mansell v Preston Ridd (P)
Terry Jenkins v Joe Cullen
Jelle Klaasen v Steve Brown
Vincent van der Voort v Mansell/Ridd


Wednesday December 22
Colin Osborne v Chris Thompson
Devon Petersen v Norman Madhoo (P)
Barrie Bates v Kevin McDine
Raymond van Barneveld v Steve Hine
Jamie Caven v Petersen/Madhoo


Thursday December 23
Andy Smith v Shane Tichowitsch
Magnus Caris v Dietmar Burger (P)
Mark Walsh v Justin Pipe
Dennis Priestley v Bernd Roith
Mervyn King v Caris/Burger


Second Round
Monday December 27
1.10pm Baxter/Scholten/Viinikka v Webster/Maish
2.55pm Nicholson/Farmer v Stompe/Wright
3.45pm Hamilton/Smith v Thornton/Heydon

7.10pm Lloyd/Welge v Beaton/Hylton
8.25pm Lewis/Eccles v Dudbridge/Roy
9.45pm Taylor/Mawson/Gionzon v Part/Laursen/Krcmar


Tuesday December 28
1.10pm Walsh/Pipe v Tabern/Burnett
2.25pm Jones/Modra v van der Voort/Mansell/Ridd
3.45pm Jenkins/Cullen v Klaasen/Brown

7.10pm Newton/Young v Painter/Dolan
8.25pm Whitlock/Evans v Ovens/Artut/Mackenzie
9.45pm Wade/Alcinas v van Gerwen/Suljovic


Wednesday December 29
1.10pm Osborne/Thompson v Caven/Petersen/Madhoo
2.25pm Anderson/Padgett/Hashimoto v Priestley/Roith
3.45pm King/Caris/Burger v Smith/Tichowitsch

7.10pm van Barneveld/Hine v Bates/McDine
Third Round
8.25pm Baxter/Scholten/Viinikka/Webster/Maish v Lloyd/Welge/Beaton/Hylton
9.45pm Taylor/Mawson/Gionzon/Part/Laursen/Krcmar v Nicholson/Farmer/Stompe/Wright


Thursday December 30
1.10pm Lewis/Eccles/Dudbridge/Roy v Hamilton/Smith/Thornton/Heydon
2.25pm King/Caris/Burger/Smith/Tichowitsch v Anderson/Padgett/Hashimoto/Priestley/Roith
3.45pm Jenkins/Cullen/Klaasen/Brown v Walsh/Pipe/Tabern/Burnett

7.10pm Whitlock/Evans/Ovens/Artut/Mackenzie v Jones/Modra/van der Voort/Mansell/Ridd
8.25pm van Barneveld/Hine/Bates/McDine v Osborne/Thompson/Caven/Petersen/Madhoo
9.45pm Wade/Alcinas/van Gerwen/Suljovic v Newton/Young/Painter/Dolan


Saturday January 1 2011
Quarter-Finals - Order of Play TBC



Sunday January 2
Semi-Finals - Order of Play TBC


Monday January 3
PDC Unicorn Under-21 World Championship Final
7.10pm Michael van Gerwen v Arron Monk World Darts Championship Final

(P) - Denotes Preliminary Round games

Schedule of play subject to change at the discretion of the PDC and Sky Sports. Any changes would be notified as soon as possible at World Darts Championship Format
Preliminary Round - Best of seven legs (no tie-break)
First Round - Best of five sets
Second Round - Best of seven sets
Third Round - Best of seven sets
Quarter-Finals - Best of nine sets
Semi-Finals - Best of 11 sets
Final - Best of 13 sets

All sets are the best of five legs.

All matches using the sets format will have a tie-break situation in the deciding set only, where the final set must be won by two clear legs until the score in that final set reaches 5-5.
Should that situation occur, then a sudden-death leg will be played in which the players will throw for the bull to determine who throws first in the sudden-death leg.

Tickets for the World Darts Championship are available through via 0871 220 0260 (calls cost 10p per minute from a BT landline)


Read more

Stars Brave The Snow For Cash Converters World Cup Of Darts

STARS BRAVE THE SNOW FOR CASH CONVERTERS WORLD CUP OF DARTS THE inaugural Cash Converters World Cup of Darts begins on Friday, as 24 nations brave the heavy snow to compete in the £150,000 event at...

Read more

The Leeds Irish Centre Recognised As The Birth Place of Televised darts

Leeds Irish Centre has been officially recognised as ^the birthplace of televised darts^ thanks to its role in the first regular coverage of arrows during the 1970s. The club was the venue for the ...

Read more