Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts: PDC Media Release - 2009 Blue Square UK Open

Darts: PDC Media Release - 2009 Blue Square UK Open

The draw for the first and second rounds of the Blue Square UK Open on Thursday June 4 has been made.

The £200,000 tournament will kick off at Bolton^s Reebok Stadium with 97 players in action, as the professional players are joined by 31 Holsten Qualifiers for the opening night of action across eight stages.

The one preliminary round game will feature Holsten Qualifiers Gary Stephens against Ken Mather, while the first round sees the remaining amateurs drawn alongside the players ranked from 65-97 in the Blue Square UK Open Order of Merit.

Plum ties in the first round of ‘The FA Cup of Darts’ include 2004 champion Roland Scholten against Derek Williams, Anastasia Dobromyslova against Stoke^s Andy Roberts and Alex Roy against ex-World Champion Richie Burnett.

Gary Mawson, last year^s UK Open runner-up to James Wade, drew Holsten Qualifier Darren Weaver, from Doncaster, for his opener, which will be featured on the main stage alongside games involving St Helens’ Gary Welding against American John Kuczynski and Bradford’s James Barton versus Holland’s Toon Greebe.

The second round saw PDC newcomer Gary Anderson draw Paul Nicholson, another Bolton debutant and a quarter-finalist in the World Darts Championship at Christmas.

World number four John Part, the 2004 UK Open runner-up, meets Irishman Mick McGowan, while Wayne Mardle will take on Les Fitton or Mark Cox, and joining them on the main stage will be former World Champion Steve Beaton, who takes on Dobromyslova or Roberts.

The field of Holsten Qualifiers will total 31 following the withdrawal of Peter Green, while the draw was made by 1983 World Champion Keith Deller and Sky Sports^ Sid Waddell ahead of the Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts Play-Offs.

The third round draw - featuring the top 32 players from the UK Open Order of Merit, including defending champion and new Whyte & Mackay Premier League Darts champion James Wade and world number one Phil "The Power" Taylor - will be made at the close of play in the second round.

Play will then continue throughout the weekend ahead of the final, which will be held on Sunday June 7.

Tickets are still available for the Blue Square UK Open, with prices starting at £10 via 0844 871 2932 or in person at the Reebok Stadium Box Office.

Blue Square UK Open

First Round - Best of 11 legs

Board One

Alex Roy v Richie Burnett

James Barton v Toon Greebe

Gary Welding v John Kuczynski

Gary Mawson v Darren Weaver

Board Two

Michael Smith v Dave Ladley

Darren Latham v Andy Boulton

Anastasia Dobromyslova v Andy Roberts

Louis Blundell v Ian Jopling

Board Three

Gary Stephens v Ken Mather (Preliminary Round)

Harry Robinson v Chris Cooper

Roland Scholten v Derek Williams

Dyson Parody v John MaGowan

Phil Currie v Steve Dolan

Board Four

Matthew Campbell v Stuart Bousfield

Peter Wright v Chris Hornby

Les Fitton v Mark Cox

Andy Pearce v Johnny Haines

Board Five

Adrian Genery v Chris Loudon

Ian Critchett v Kevin Beare

Graham Usher v Glen Durrant

Mather/Stephens v Robbie Parker

Board Six

Duane Garfield v Dave Smith

Paul Cook v Mike Langley

Steve Evans v Mark Layton

Par Riihonen v Steve Grubb

Board Seven

Chris Mason v Steve Penney

John McGuirk v Stuart Pickles

Stephen Hardy v Coen Wiekamp

David Fatum v Paul Rowley

Board Eight

Stuart Monaghan v Alan Davie

Lee Williams v Alan Caves

David Smurthwaite v Mark Jodrill

Joe Cullen v Justin Pipe

Second Round - Best of 11 legs

Board One

Mick McGowan v John Part

Wayne Mardle v Fitton/Cox

Paul Nicholson v Gary Anderson

Dobromyslova/Roberts v Steve Beaton

Board Two

Kirk Shepherd v Steve Brown

Nick Fullwell v Andy Smith

Monaghan/Davie v Wright/Hornby

Tony Ayres v Cullen/Pipe

Board Three

Martyn Turner v Dave Honey

Jason Clark v Campbell/Bousfield

Hardy/Wiekamp v Jan van der Rassel

Michael Barnard v Steve Maish

Board Four

Matt Clark v Roy/Burnett

Tony Eccles v Barton/Greebe

Fatum/Rowley v M Smith/Ladley

Usher/Durrant v McGuirk/Pickles

Board Five

Ken Dobson v Paul Knighton

Welding/Kuczynski v Parody/MaGowan

Mason/Penney v Riihonen/Grubb

Colin Monk v Larry Butler

Board Six

Adrian Gray v Dave Askew

Scholten/D Williams v Critchett/Beare

Smurthwaite/Jodrill v Chris Thompson

Blundell/Jopling v Kevin Dowling

Board Seven

Genery/Loudon v Robinson/Cooper

Wes Newton v Latham/Boulton

Garfield/Dave Smith v Denis Ovens

Evans/Layton v Currie/Dolan

Board Eight

Cook/Langley v Mark Lawrence

L Williams/Caves v Wayne Atwood

Mawson/Weaver v Pearce/Haines

Dennis Smith v Mather/Stephens/Parker

Read more

Darts: Shaun Griffiths Wins Welsh Youth Open 2009

Red Dragon Darts Shaun Griffiths won his first ever Welsh Youth Open, where he beat Nick Kenny (Wales) 2-1, Josh Rose (England) 2-1, and Leon Fletcher (England) 2-0 Matthew Dicken (England) 2-0, P...

Read more

Darts: Shaun Griffiths Wins Welsh Youth Open 2009

Red Dragon Darts Shaun Griffiths won his first ever Welsh Youth Open, where he beat Nick Kenny (Wales) 2-1, Josh Rose (England) 2-1, and Leon Fletcher (England) 2-0 Matthew Dicken (England) 2-0, P...

Read more