Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts News – Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – Kent v Warwickshire

Darts News – Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts – Kent v Warwickshire

What a pity Warwickshire could not finish their season in the premier division of the BDO Inter County Championships with a victory, especially as they were in such fine form going into the fixture with five consecutive wins. The result of their away game against Kent was a 23-13 defeat.

For the ladies it was most certainly a weekend of mixed fortunes as on Saturday after trailing 1-0 to an opening 3-2 win by Kent’s Suzanne Campfield they went on to win 4-2. Lisa Whitmore’s 3-1 win over Melissa Stacey cancelled out the hosts early lead and a lady of the match win from Natalie Gilbert (19.68), 3-1 against Dany Ambrose put Warwickshire 2-1.

Susan Bird levelled the game for Kent before Marian Conway and Edwina Holdsworth wrapped up the result with respective wins over Steff Duchesne and Lauren Stacey.

The ladies ‘A’ suffered their heaviest defeat of the season, a 6-0 whitewash, which included a very unfamiliar 3-0 defeat for Trina Gulliver at the hands of Stacey Dawkins.

The men’s ‘B’ came back to 3-3 after losing the first three games to Steve Sidders, Carl Wilson and Paul Wratten. Cancelling out the hosts lead were Dave Atkins, Tom McGlone and William Naylor.

Of the remaining six games Kent won five, the only reply from Warwickshire was Carl Green’s man of the match display in the ninth encounter when he won 4-2 against Kevin Smith and averaged 26.66. The final score 8-4 to Kent.

The men’s ‘A’ side didn’t have much more luck in their game as they fell to a 7-5 defeat. Like the ‘B’ side they pulled the game back to 3-3 after going behind 2-0 and 3-1, Mark Westgarth, Mark Strong and Dave Harris were the players to restore parity. Steve Collins and Pip Blackwell restored Kent’s lead taking the running tally to 5-3 in their favour. Similar to the ‘B’ game the ‘A’ recorded their man of the match in the ninth game and supplying the win was Steve Hine. Steve, playing against Nark Pattison won 4-2 and registered a fantastic 31.05 average.

Jordan Dodd’s 4-2 win over Dean Stewart took the home team’s lead to 6-4 and although Noel Grant’s 4-1 win against Steven Stacey raised hopes of a possible draw, those hopes were dashed as Peter Allen beat Mark Carter 4-1 in the final game to give Kent’s men a 7- 5 win.

Despite the overall 23-13 defeat Warwickshire were still able to hold on to a third place finish in the table, a superb effort wining six of their nine fixtures to give them a total of 183 points, 18 short of second placed Lancashire. Yorkshire finished as champions with 240 points.

Kent v Warwickshire (23-13):(Kent names first):Men’s ‘A’:- Barrie Knight 4 Jamie Atkins 0, Clive Barden 4 Richard Foster 2, Sam Fuller 1 Mark Westgarth 4, Paul Dawkins 4 Nigel Heydon 3, Peter Mitchell 3 Mark Strong 4, Mick Norris 3 Dave Harris 4, Steve Collins 4 Robert Hawker 3, Pip Blackwell 4 Jamie Hughes 1, Mark Pattison 2 Steve Hine 4, Jordan Dadd 4 Dean Stewart 2, Steven Stacey 1 Noel Grant 4, Peter Allen 4 Mark Carter 1, Men’s ‘B’:- Steve Sidders 4 Mark Archer 3, Carl Wilson 4 Luke Kennedy 2, Paul Wratten 4 Ashley Hykin 3, Lee Mant 3 Dave Atkins 4, Vincent Walsh 3 Tom McGlone 4, Phil Evans 0 William Naylor 4, David Salter 4 David Sanders 2, Nigel Fisher 4 Paul Deslandes 1, Kevin Smith 2 Carl Green 4, Matt Golding 4 Antony Allen 3, Mark Boness 4 Simon Power 3, Marc Lee 4 Dane Vickers 3, Women’s ‘A’:- Emma Little 3 Angela Jones 1, Sally Rose 3 Donna Pinch 0, Julie Edwards 3 Denise Keyte 0, Lauren Bloomfield 3 Wendy Adams 1, Jackie Holman 3 Kat Spanswick 1, Stacey Dawkins 3 Trina Gulliver 0, Women’s ‘B’:- Suzanne Campfield 3 Melanie Hill 2, Melissa Stacey 1 Lisa Whitmore 3, Dany Ambrose 1 Natalie Gilbert 3, Susan Bird 3 Nina Bolt 1, Steff Duchesne 2 Narian Conway 3, Lauren Stacey 0 Edwina Holdsworth 3.

Read more

PDC Media Release - Record £1.25M Prize Fund For William Hill World Championship Please find below, and attached as a Word Document, a media release confirming the increase of prize money in the William Hill World Darts Championship to a new record £1

THE 2015 William Hill World Darts Championship will feature a record £1,250,000 prize fund and be played from December 18-January 4 at Alexandra Palace in London. The sport^s biggest tournament ha...

Read more

Darts News – Alan Towe^s The Line On Darts - Midlands Round up

Despite winning two thirds of their fixtures in division two of the BDL Inter County Championships, West Midlands could only finish fourth in the table with a total of 188 points. Although fourth t...

Read more