Skip to content


Your cart is empty

Article: Darts News - Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts

Darts News - Alan Towe’s The Line On Darts

Following their relegation from division one of the Riley’s BDO Inter County Championships, West Midlands will begin life in division two with an away fixture against Leicestershire. The hosts finished last season’s campaign with promotion from division three as runner up to champions Cleveland and West Midlands should be well in with a real chance of a win in this their opening game.

A win would be a great start to get confidence high for a successful and hopefully promotional season back to division one.

At the time of going to print West Midlands were unable to supply a listing of signed members for the men’s squad however, the signed players for the ladies teams so far are, Kim Fellows (Captain), Sarah Roberts, Jackie Crew, Lisa Astbury, Diane Tolley, Katherine Jenkins, Gemma Barrett, Heather Wright, Shellbie Simmons, Claire Hobbs, Samantha Maiden, Doreen Kaye, Jaqueline Maiden, Lisa Maiden, Kirsty Haw and Jacqueline Simmons.


The first ever Saturday darts competition staged by the Ripley Elite Darts Singles League at the Somercotes Snooker Club, 69 Leabrooks Road, Somercote, Derbyshire, DE55 4HB proved to be a huge success as far as dart skills were concerned despite for various reason the number of entries being lower than anticipated.

With numerous county and PDC players present the event was always going to produce some class darts and it did not disappoint. Some of the early casualties were, Matt Padgett, Ash Spencer and Dave Allcock, highlighting the very high standard of play.

The first of the quarter final games was an all REDSL affair with young PDC player Aden Kirk getting the better of an impressive Daz SInfield with a 4-1 scoreline. Also winning by the same 4-1 margin were Ricky Sudale and Daz Brown, who had respective wins over Tony Jacklin and Paul Baker. Making up the last four was Wayne Pepper with a 4-2 success against Pete Slater.

Nottinghamshire county player Pepper then went on to beat Aden Kirk 5-1 in the first semi, while the second encounter was a much closer affair. Daz Brown opened up what appeared to be a commanding 3-0 lead against fellow PDC player Ricky Sudale only to see Sudale claw his way back into the game and nick a last leg nail biter for a 5-4 win.

In the best of eleven legs final Pepper was first out of the traps, his finishing power proving the key factor in a high scoring match, which included three maximums for each player. At 5-1 up Pepper required 80 to clinch the title, confidence riding high he calmly stepped up to the oche and checked out with two double twenties.

Pepper received £250 as winner, Kirk £125, losing semi finalists £70 each and £20 for the losing quarter finalists.

The free to enter first round loser’s competition was won by Matt Padgett, with Dave Allcock runner up, in turn they received £40 and £20.

Full Results:Preliminary Round:- P.Wood 4 R.Smeathers 0, M.Hopkins 4 A.Spencer 0,D.Sinfield 4 T.Palfreyman 0, J.Thompson 4 D.Allcock 3, A.Kirk 4 D.Allsopp 0, B.Kirk 4 M.Richards 0, M.Chapman 4 J.Beresford 0, C.Freeman 4 W.Smith 3, W.Howe 4 A.Pearce 2, Round One:- M.Hopkins 4 P.Wood 2, D.Sinfield 4 J.Thompson 3, A.Kirk 4 B.Kirk 2, C.Freeman 4 M.Chapman 3, W.Howe 4 C.Hatton 1, P.Slater 4 R.Hassall 1, R.Gray 4 C.Brookes 0, W.Pepper 4 M.Padgett 1, P.Hodges 4 S.Darcy 1, R.Sudale 4 A.Bennett 0, T.Jacklin 4 B.Connell 0, D.Bennett 4 A.Moody 2, I.Richardson 4 J.Rice 0, P.Baker 4 G.Knight 0, D.Brown 4 D.Hickman 0, A.Parry 4 I.Allcock 1, Last Sixteen:- D.Sinfield 4 M.Hopkins 2, A.Kirk 4 C.Freeman 1, P.Slater 4 W.Howe 1, W.Pepper 4 R.Gray 2, R.Sudale 4 P.Hodges 0, T.Jacklin 4 S.Bennett 3, P.Baker 4 I.Richardson 0, D.Brown 4 A.Parry 1, Quarter Finals:- A.Kirk 4 D.Sinfield 1, W.Pepper 4 P.Slater 2, R.Sudale 4 T.Jacklin 1, D.Brown 4 P.Baker 1, Semi Finals:- W.Pepper 5 A.Kirk 1, R.Sudale 5 D.Brown 4, Final:- W.Pepper 6 R.Sudale 1.

Thanks go out to all who helped make the competition possible especially to club owner and main sponser Steve Heenan. Another event is planned for November with a guaranteed £500. More details when they become available.

Read more

Winmau BDO British Classic on Winmau TV this Weekend!

The quarter finals of the Winmau BDO British Classic will be streamed live via Winmau TV this Saturday from 3pm: Lakeside World Champions Trina Gulliver, Ma...

Read more

Darts News – Alan Towe’s The Line on Darts

The Sheldon and District Winter League recently had their presentation night and Tony Randell, for the fifth time in twelve seasons won the singles title. Tony is seen receiving the trophy from Ke...

Read more